Customer Reviews for

Talk Before Sleep

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Perfect if you've ever had a best friend

    I've just moved away from my best friend, and we both decided to read this at the same time. I was devasteted simply leaving the state. As I was reading this book, I found myself relating to every conversation and every emotion that Berg describes. We cried for days in the month before I moved, so I can't even imagine what it must be like to know that permanent separation is imminent, yet at the same time, I know it would feel exactly as Berg describes. The entire tone of the book is very intimate; you feel as if you are right there experiencing everything right alongside the characters. It describes a woman's relationship with perfect accuracy; love, jealousy, admiration, intimacy, humor-it's all there. The good part about this book is that although it's sad, if you read it and recognize the relationship as one that you do possess, then you'll treasure the connection that much more. If you had it once in your lifetime, you'll be grateful you had it at all. I'd recommend it to anyone who's ever loved a woman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Years later, a still 'must read'

    Is there anything that Berg writes that isn't wonderful? I don't think so. She is unique in her ability to include everyone in the room in her prose. Her stories are a good glass of wine, a box of tissues, and three of your best friends. All can relate. All can cry, all can say, 'I get it.' Her simplicity is her jewel. Talk Before Sleep is a story of a woman who loses her friend for good. Each page brings me closer to my own heart. There are few writers who can keep simplistic continuity close to the bone. Berg demonstrates that this is second nature to her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Made me really appreciate my girlfriends

    <p>This is the first Elizabeth Berg novel that I've read...and I was not disappointed! I anticipated a real tear-jerker, but was surprised when I found myself actually laughing out loud at some points. I felt like some of the conversations were ones that I've had with my own girlfriends or things I've wanted to say but never have. The book gives you a different perspective on what is important in life -- like lobster and french fry dinners and lots of hot fudge (with friends, of course). <p>This is a very fast read (I read it in about 4 hours), but it will stay with you for much longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    A Must Read for Anyone With a Heart

    There is no stopping the page turning here. Berg writes with an eloquence that simplifies the reality of friendship and dying. The wholeness of her imagery is attainable by all. She is a womans writer, she is both a friend and 'seer'. I would love to meet her, hear her speak, shake her hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Yes

    Great book but I thought Ruth was a bit selfish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Fantastic journey on a road less traveled.

    Written in easy to follow dialog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Sad but very moving! In this novel, Elizabeth Berg does an amaz

    Sad but very moving! In this novel, Elizabeth Berg does an amazing job giving us a view into a friendship of two best friends. Ruth is dying from breast cancer and Ann is constantly by her side. You get a true sense of what it is like traveling this road from both women's perspective; the person dying and the one left behind, it is so difficult for both to face life and death without the other. This novel is wrought with emotion; deep despair, fear, hope, laughter, and above all love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Really Great Read!

    I am an avid Elizabeth Berg fan. Her books somehow reach onto my heart, and touch my soul. She comes up with terrific ways to express in writing the way that I feel, and I love when that happens!

    The best part of this audio book is that Blythe Danner reads it, and adds even more "meat" to the journey through the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too many tissues

    I took my first Elizabeth Berg book with me on a cruise 2 weeks ago, titled Open House. Finished it on the first day. (Could not put it down). When we arrived home, immediately went on the computer and ordered 6 more books. Loved everyone of them. I saved "Talk Before Sleep" for my last one to read, as it sounded as if it would be a little depressing. Well, I just threw away all of the tissues that I used up on the last chapter of this book. Yes, the ending is very sad, but the friendship of Ann and Ruth will remain in my heart forever. I have never read anything before written by Elizabeth Berg, but I am now her biggest fan. I will be ordering the next 6 books shortly. She is an amazing story teller and I only hope she can write as fast as I can read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Excellent writing---very depressing

    This book is well written and contains every emotion any human could ever feel. Although it is depressing, it is a very well-written book.

    The only thing about this book that I could not find entirely believable was the depth of friendship formed by the woman telling the story and the dying woman. A friendship of this depth would have had to be a lifetime friendship. I honestly don't think several years would do it. It is not that easy to become so emotionally "in tune" with someone in such a short period of time.

    Other than the things I have stated above, I found the book quite good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A heartfelt depiction of the unyielding bond that women can share.

    Through the terrible diagnosis of breast cancer, one woman has been sentenced to death. She shares her darkest moments with her closest friends, as well as her small triumphs. This is a story that offers a birdseye view into the depth of womens' friendships, as well as the emotional rollercoaster that ensues when death is imminent. Ruth goes through a plethora of emotions and changes when she learns that there is no hope for her. In the end, she faces the hand that she is dealt with grace and dignity. She learns to embrace the fact that time is limited for her, and she lives like she is dying. This is a book that will put you right there with the characters. You will feel what they feel, see what they see, and shed the tears that they have shed for the impending loss of their closest friend. It will take you on a journey to a place that breeds sentiment. You will weep for these characters and for the sheer depiction of the process of death. This is a story that we can all relate to as we have all lost someone that we were close to. I can't imagine this story having been told better. So grab your box of Kleenex (you will need it) and prepare to laugh, to cry, and to rejoice in the pure and selfless love that women are capable of giving and receiving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Breast cancer survivor

    as a cancer survivor having gone through treatment this book touched my soul. there is nothing more that a woman needs than her friends during that time. i also was glad to see a husband who was not jealous of his wife offering unending time and love to a woman she loved and adored and was inspired by. great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    A very moving tale

    I was moved by this book and felt it was an honest and open dipiction of women's deep friendship with other women. It hit a nerve as I was reminded of those very special friendship where be bare our souls and support each other selflessly. I enjoy Elizabeth Berg and believe this is one of her best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    For anyone who's ever been a friend

    Grab a box of tissue and read this book over and over again. This book moves you to the core.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    not so good

    this book was definately not as good as i thought it would be. i was very disappointed. the amount of vulgar language, especially the F word, really turned me off. the plot was good, but i wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Friends are blessings

    Its one of the most brilliant books I ever read. Hoping to read more of Elzabeth Berg's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    I will be the breeze that brushes against your face

    This is my first Elizabeth Berg book I've read so far. It was a good emotional experience. I laughed and cried. I think most women can relate to each character in the story. It shows you what a bond that women have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    STOCK UP ON KLEENEX

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. There is so much description and detail on every page, you cannot help but transport your mind to be with them and care about what is actually happening to Ruth. If this doens't make you appreciate the friends that you do have, nothing will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    Truth Behind It

    I read this book and felt myself understanding even more what my mom went through. Her best friend passed away in May from cancer and this book was given to her. I picked it up and could not put it down. So true!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    What do you say when you find out your best friend is dying?

    As shown in this book, as time goes by, you say EVERYTHING and ANYTHING. An unlikely set of characters come together to support Ruth as she is dying of cancer. Ann, the narrator, speaks of how Ruth has different friends for different activities. And these people gather around in Ruth's time of need, each giving to her she needs. Ruth knows which friend she can rely on for each area of support she needs. For Ann, who only has one friend, Ruth, this is sometimes hard to understand. But it is clear that the relationship between Ann and Ruth is a special bond. It is a wonderful novel that brought a subject to the forefront of my mind in a way I had never experienced. This is my second novel by Berg, and I already have several others waiting to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2