Customer Reviews for

Talking Dirty With the Player (Entangled Indulgence)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Talking Dirty With The Player is a sassy second chance love stor

    Talking Dirty With The Player is a sassy second chance love story set in Auckland, New Zealand, that follows the journey of Judith Dalton and Caleb Steele as they come to terms with their long-denied feelings for each other. Eight years ago Judith and Caleb spent the night together, she gave him her heart only to have him break it by telling her that he doesn't do relationships, and that his rugby career was more important. Fast forward eight years to Judith's brother Joe's wedding ... Caleb is back in town after spending time in the UK playing rugby, he is Joseph's best friend and best man ... Judith is determined not to let her long-held attraction for Caleb show, even if he is still tempting as ever. Their relationship is mixed with attraction, hurt, pain and insecurity, it is an emotional story story about a couple who are afraid to take a risk on love.




    This was such a fun story to read, it had a great mixture of humor, drama, tension, chemistry and romance. I loved Judith and Caleb's witty banter and sexual chemistry, you can't help but smile at the way they try to deny their attraction and true feelings for each other. They are both feisty and hardheaded, their sizzling chemistry and flirting were entertaining, and their romance was emotional as their inner-struggle to define their relationship finally leads them to acknowledge and share their feelings for each other, it simply melts the heart!




    Talking Dirty With The Player is a sexy and entertaining read that will leave a smile of satisfaction on your face. This is the second book in the Talking Dirty series and can be a stand alone read, but I would recommend that you read the books in sequential order as one story flows into the next, and you don't want to miss out on all the sizzling romance that is featured in each book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chuckling uncontrollably, I confess to barely restraining myself

    Chuckling uncontrollably, I confess to barely restraining myself from zipping through this novel like a demented speed reader after glancing at that first paragraph with Jude and Caleb. Imagine my surprise visualizing our two protagonists dressed in their wedding finery, bumbling around in the dark playing laser-tag at a wedding reception, was this going to be a fun book to read or what - that one scene set the tone for the entire book, which went from one laugh to another. Judith and Caleb have a history to overcome, but fate has placed them in the same place at the same time and it is time to right old wrongs. Fortunately for those of us craving romance with our humor Ms. Ashenden decided to combine both with this little gem. Never doubt that Caleb wined, dined and romanced Judith a time or two, or twelve because Ms. Ashenden certainly did keep the fires smoldering between these two until they manage to finally get together. This novel attempts to be both funny and charming, and is successful at both, making it an ideal summertime read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Rating: 4.5 Judith and Caleb had a past that both of them don't

    Rating: 4.5

    Judith and Caleb had a past that both of them don't try to acknowledge. To them, past should remain where it should be - right behind them. It would save them from hurt, expectations and heartbreaks. But one look, one touch and the sparks that they try to bury goes like wild fire and burns them. Not even self-preservation can stop it.

    Caleb broke her heart when Jude was 18 years old. Eight years later and now a professional photographer, she vows to be more careful and never to fall for his charms again. Losing him did not only break his heart, but she lost a friend as well. Someone who was always there for her when her brother and father are to busy with their lives.

    Caleb is a professional Rugby Player, the "Abs of Steel". He's tough from the outside - but inside him is still the little boy who's begging attention and affection from his father and grieving the loss of his mother. He knew he's never going to be enough for anyone. He can't give the time and commitment needed in a relationship. So no matter how much he wanted to kiss his best friend's little sister, he needed to stay away from her. 

    Chemistry. Attraction. Emotion. Sneaking Around are potent combinations. So whatever they have is just impossible to ignore. Jude once again took a risk and try not to put her heart in jeopardy. The friendship was once again building, the sex was awesome and the conversations was great - everything was perfect. Until the insecurities sets in, not to mention some threats from the big brother (again) - and he goes breaking her heart once again. Would she ever survive a second heartache? Would he finally stop selling himself short and realize that he's perfect for her before its too late? Would she give him another chance after the pain that he caused her over and over again?! (OMG! He ought to crawl and grovel hard after what he did!)

    I can't believe it was short! It didn't felt rush though. The twist and turns can be baffling sometimes - but hey! Everything else was just great. I didn't expect to cry though. Some scenes can be pretty intense and I'd love to throw his pair of shoes on his head to knock some senses into him. I love their exchange of text, the innuendoe, the sexual tension brewing, and most especially the HEA. The grand gesture and the epilogue - it was sweet. Nothing overly dramatic, just enough to make readers swoon, fall in love and forget that he's an a** on the previous pages. 

    I have to warn you though: he may be a selfish prick but at the end of the story, you'll fall in love with a player!!!!

    *ARC Copy was given in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    From the first page, this book is fun.  The witty dialogue made

    From the first page, this book is fun.  The witty dialogue made me chuckle more than once.  There are other "fun" elements, but I don't want to give anything away.




    While this book is fun, the humor is mixed with drama, tension, and chemistry.  There are moments of true heart ache.  But they are dealt with wonderfully.




    They are believeable characters dealing with real struggles within themselves and their relationship.  They are characters you can relate to.




    I was hooked on these two and had to see how they would work it out.  Well worth the read!  Loved the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    Okay so I completely and utterly loved this book!!!! If I could

    Okay so I completely and utterly loved this book!!!! If I could I would list out the entire book. Again I think I marked every page in this book to come back too because I loved EVERY second of it. This book had everything in it for me and had so much realism in it that it could pretty much happen to anyone. It made me laugh, and cry and feel happy and sad and loved and I loved the steamy hawt scenes between Caleb and Judith. Ohhh and I have to say this because I feel like I've been cheated in life. I love and hate all these books that I'm reading where the younger sister falls in love with the older brother's best friend. Since I didn't have an older brother growing up....I feel cheated. I can only imagine how my life would be different and changed if I had an older brother to look up to and to know would protect me and of course having guy friends around that I could stare at and "creepily stalk" and secretly love. *sigh* alas that wasn't in the cards for me.

    This book starts out with Judith (or Jude) attending her brother's wedding. And of all things to do at a wedding she is playing laser tag, because the bride loves it so much. Not only is this the first time that we meet Jude and get to know her amazing personality, but this is the first time that we meet Caleb. Caleb and Jude have an interesting history. Caleb is one of her older brother (Joe's) best friends and eight years ago, Caleb and Jude had one night of hawt passion and of course her only being 18 she was utterly and competently in love with him. After is amazing and magical night for Jude, Caleb woke up the next morning and pretty much told her he didn't do relationships and he didn't really want her because his career was taking off. And a week later, some other bimbo is in his arms. So Jude's a little bitter at him and obviously with good reason.

    Caleb has an idea for a fund raiser that is close to his heart and he needs a photographer to help pull it together. He wants to make a calendar (a sexy one) and auction off different talents from the people within the calendar to help with the funds. And as he brings the idea up to Jude, the scene is amazing because she flat out turns him down. She wants nothing to do with Caleb and she's still bitter what happened eight years ago, even thought she's "forgiven" him. And I love how Jude describes him, "Caleb was hot. If you liked tall, muscle-bound beefcakes with eyes you could lose yourself in. The kind of smile that made you lose your mind as well as your panties. The magnetic, sexy bad-boy charm that promised all sorts of naughtiness."

    And I love some of the phrases in this book such as, "Steady on, mate." Or my personal favorite, "You look like a grumpy fairy." Or even, "Because deer sweet baby Jesus, that surely couldn't have been her." And then I love that one girl says this to another girl, "For God's sake, dude. Take the man. Before some other cow gets in first." Really? Calling another woman (in general) a cow? I find this really funny, that I so want to start going around saying it to people.

    So after the wedding Jude agrees to do the calendar and things get interesting from here. Jude and Caleb start to get closer again. They seem to have this chemistry that they keep trying to fight and the more time they spend together the harder it becomes. And for me they this relationship they try to have is a really nice blend of sugar and spice. I think it's why I love this book so much, because it's such a real experience that could happen to anyone. Jude goes out one night for a girls night has a little too much to drink. And then she has a hangover the next day and when Caleb comes by he takes care of her and its super sweet. Then he tells her, "Don't you know you should always have a special hangover friend to help your recover after the night before?" So apparently I need to have one of these because I don't and I'd definitely take a tall sexy man to want to be my special hangover friend to help take care of me.

    The biggest issue conflict that of course comes up is that Jude doesn't want a fling or a half in half out thing with a guy. And Caleb, well he's a star and still going places and doesn't do the relationship thing. And even though Caleb says he would be there any time for her, she knows the reality isn't that simple. She wants someone who is always going to be there for and someone she can count on no matter what. And of course Caleb pulls out the dumb Y chromosome and goes all anti-feelings.

    And the question becomes what will happen between Caleb and Jude? Well go get your copy to find out....it's so worth it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pro rugby player Caleb Steele is attending the wedding of his fr

    Pro rugby player Caleb Steele is attending the wedding of his friend Joseph Ashton and Christie St. John who we met in Talking Dirty with the CEO (Talking Dirty #1) and he has a favor to ask of Joseph’s sister photographer Judith Ashton. Caleb and Judith have a past. She has known him all her life it seems. He was her first love, lover and heartbreak. Eight years have passed and she should be over it right? So should he but there is still that spark. Can they explore it without getting burned?
    I love second chance love stories. It proves that people can change and grow and start anew. Caleb and Judith have so much history and so much pain between them you start to think they can never get past it. But I am thrilled they did. Judith is a strong woman who doesn't whine about the crap life has handed her and Caleb has used it to push himself to be a better man. These are people you want to see succeed.
    I’d like to thank Indulgence for giving me a copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good book.  I like how both Caleb and Judith had issues f

    Pretty good book.  I like how both Caleb and Judith had issues from their pasts, but they overcame them.  The main thing I did not like was the ending.  It was just too over the top for me.  I just could not picture it with who the characters were.  But, I must say, it was a good way to show Caleb coming around.  Overall, I liked it and would recommend it.  It is cute, funny, romantic, and shows that people can overcome their pasts with enough motivation and drive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed my ass off at Talking Dirty With The CEO so I was ex

    I laughed my ass off at Talking Dirty With The CEO so I was excited to receive an ARC of this. If you haven't read that book check out the first chapter and I guarantee you'll want to finish it.

    This book was a little different. This book was more angst ridden. You've got 2 different angles in this one. You've got the big brothers best friend, as well as second chance lovers.

    Jude aka Judith is Joseph's (the CEO in Talking Dirty With The CEO). She had one night with Joseph's best friend Caleb when she was 18. She thought it was leading somewhere. Then he dumped her.

    8 years later they see each other again at Joseph's wedding. Caleb tries to tease and joke with her as they had before their night together but she has her armor up and isn't having it.

    They try to work together on a project for charity and you follow along with them on their journey to see what they can be for one another.

    One this I have to say, I love Marisa! She was funny and snarky in Talking Dirty 1, and she continued it in #2. I got the feeling her and Luke are going to be the focus of #3 and I hope I'm not wrong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    I read this book without seeing the cover. Which is probably jus

    I read this book without seeing the cover. Which is probably just as well as most electronic equipment does not deal well with drool. The hero is Caleb "Abs of" Steele, a rugby player nearing retirement and starting to think, reluctantly, about life after football. 
    Judith, Jude, is a photographer and has been the responsible one for most of her life since her mother abandoned the family leaving her as the homemaker and primary caregiver to her brother Joseph who has ADHD as her father was distant. We get to meet her in the first book in this series "Talking Dirty with the CEO" which is Joseph's story.
    The one time Jude wasn't responsible left her with a nasty taste in her mouth when Caleb, who she'd adored from the time she was eight years old, took her virginity and with a nasty parting shot, left her heartbroken.
    Now we are eight years later and Caleb is back in town for the wedding and he and Jude are firing more than laser's at each other. The dialogue zings along and is very funny at times.
    Now they have to work together on a charity calender project and the close proximity is bringing things to the boil.
    Caleb struck me as a jerk from the first, arrogant and cocky and of course there is that history. In the past eight years he's been in bimbo heaven, pursued by rugby groupies and standing still to let them catch him. A player in more than just name. It's going to take a lot to get Jude to trust him even if she managed to forgive him for the way he left her the first time around.
    The relationship zigged and zagged quite a bit and both hero and heroine had TSTL moments. I didn't engage quite as much with them as I have with other characters written by this author.
    All the same it was an enjoyable read and the characters came across as flawed but mostly likeable human beings. The ending was nicely done with much needed grovel attached.
    Received this as an ARC without the cover picture so I was totally uninfluenced by the whole 'abs of steele' thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Talking Dirty with the Player is seduction at its finest. First

    Talking Dirty with the Player is seduction at its finest. First off, I don’t know about you, but this cover actually made me drool. I mean…WOW! Good job on the cover design. It is simple, but makes a point. Now on to this delicious story.

    Jude and Caleb collide like a thunderstorm. Lighting sparks between them with the heat and intensity of a volcano! With one glance from Caleb, Jude can feel her heart flutter and her body turn traitor. He hurt her and she is not sure that she can get past that. Sure they are older, but a hurt like that seems fresh no matter how much time has passed. When she sees Caleb at her brother’s wedding, the pull is still there between them.

    Caleb has always wanted Jude. When they were younger the intensity of their relationship scared him. He was not ready, but that does not forgive how much her hurt her. Now he has a second chance to win her back and he will not give up until she is his.

    Caleb is just sexy as hell. He is beyond swoon worthy. This story is full of romance, passion, and second chances.

    Take the plunge, talk a little dirty, and fall in love with the bad boy!

    I was given a copy of this book by in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So yesterday I finished Talking Dirty With the Player by Jackie

    So yesterday I finished Talking Dirty With the Player by Jackie Ashenden, which is the second book in Talking Dirty books. I must say that this one was a bit more steamier than Talking Dirty With the CEO. Let just I was shocked, but in the good way.
    Well, in this story we are dealing with Joseph Ashton's little sister Judith (Jude) and his best friend Caleb Steele. Yes, we all know that this spells disaster. We all know that older brothers will warn off their friends from getting involve with their sisters. Normally, best friends know when to keep away from the goods. However, Caleb has a  hard time keeping away from Jude. He's been fighting his attraction towards her. You would think after eight years it would fade, but it hasn't. Man that's a long time to avoid something that could be so good. Once they let go, let's just say it gets pretty hot and heavy at times.
    Jude isn't your typical little sister. Yes, she's has had feelings for Caleb, but she has also had to take care of herself. After all, her mother left, Joe is a bit forgetful (ADHD), and her father is a bit neglectful. Jude learn at a young age that the only person you can really count on is herself. Plus, it became really apparent when Caleb decided to pursue his rugby career eight years earlier.
    Caleb is a player in all sense of the word. Yes, he's a player on the field and off. However, he's starting to get a bit older and starting see that his lifestyles isn't what he wants anymore. He wants to become more than the "Abs of Steele" man. With Jude's help he can, but he has to let her in.
    I actually enjoyed Talking Dirty With the Player, because you see Jude and Caleb trying to fix what they once had. The only thing getting in the way is Caleb's fear of letting someone close to him and letting go his player persona. So, if you are looking for a player in all sense and a girl willing to put up with his antics, you might want to give Talking Dirty With the Player a try.

    Rating 4.5 Stars
    Copy provided by the publisher 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Judith Ashton gave her heart to Caleb Steele and he broke it. No

    Judith Ashton gave her heart to Caleb Steele and he broke it. Now he's back and as tempting as ever. If Judith gives him a second chance, will she suffer the same fate? This is an emotional story about a couple who are afraid to take a risk. The attraction is still there but so is the hurt. Jackie Ashenden's writing is powerful. She captures the pain and insecurity that Caleb and Judith feel. Her characters are both feisty and tender and their romance is very hot. Caleb melted my heart when he calls Judith babycakes. I loved this story! Jackie has done it again.

    I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    What a fun read! I can always count on Entangled publishing to p

    What a fun read! I can always count on Entangled publishing to pick great authors to publish. Talking Dirty with the Player was fun and witty but there were still those moments when my heart would ache. The love story between Judith and Caleb was so relatable. I think most of us can think of a time when we were afraid to dive into a relationship head first so we just pushed them away. I really loved the character development within the story, I think the author did wonders with Caleb's character. He was the cocky 'i've got it all' type of guy who you still fell for despite his arrogance. I loved that Caleb was always pushing Judith's buttons in the beginning just to get a response from her. The banter between these two was a lot of fun to read. Ashenden wrote a wonderful story that took us on a fun and heart warming adventure. I think most readers would really enjoy this book and it s safe to say, I'm looking forward to reading more of her work. Starting with 'Talking Dirty with the CEO' I'm eager to see Joseph and Christine's story now that I've grown to love them in this story already.

    This review comes from Danielle @ Coffee and Characters Blog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Talking Dirty to the Player is book two in the series, but it ca

    Talking Dirty to the Player is book two in the series, but it can definitely be read as a stand-alone. (Warning: you’ll probably want to read book one, though. I know I do!) Judith is Talking Dirty to the CEO‘s Joe’s little sister, and Caleb is his best friend.




    I really enjoyed this book. There was a lot of amusing snark flying back and forth between Jude and Cal, interspersed with a whole lot of heat:




    Judith blinked, a shivery feeling moving through her. “Excuse me?”




    “I said ask me nicely.”




    “Or what?”




    The hand on her hip moved, fingers pressing gently through the silk. “Or we continue to dance as long as I want.”




    The shivery feeling intensified, the liquid heat pooling in the pit of her stomach. He’s moved even closer, so close they were almost touching. Judith forced herself to ignore the inconvenient physical feelings. Wow, was she that easy to read? Not liking the thought one little bit, she gave him another saccharine smile. “Hey, I’ve got no problem dancing with you. However, since you insist, please tell me your wonderful, special idea. Pretty please with sprinkles on top.”




    Caleb’s grin was revoltingly self-satisfied, as if he knew exactly how discomfited she was by him. “Hmmm. I think that was a bit too nice. Less sprinkles and more smiles.”




    Caleb, I swear to God—”




    “Okay, okay. Keep your hair on, sweetheart.”








    As fun as their banter was, it was also balanced out by quite a few really sweet moments.




    His attention flicked to the box. “Open it.”




    “Oh, I don’t think—”




    “Please.”




    Judith let out a breath, went over to the reception desk, and picked up the box. Probably jewelry. Probably the kind of sparkle his TV bimbos would like. Something generic that he usually gave to—




    Her heart gave a little jump as she opened the box.




    Nestled in black velvet was a pendant, a small bird crafted out of platinum, New Zealand’s native fantail. Its wings were spread, distinctive tail of feathers spread out in a graceful arc, a tiny sapphire for an eye.




    A lump rose in her throat. Because she knew this necklace. Had seen it in her favorite clothing shop and had lusted after it for months, but it had been far too expensive. How had he known? She tried to swallow. “Why this?”




    He hesitated. “It reminded me of that bluebird necklace I got you for your thirteenth birthday.”




    She remembered too. The thirteenth birthday Joseph had forgotten, and so had her father. Caleb hadn’t. And that bluebird necklace had been the start of her crush on him. She’d worn it constantly for years afterward and still kept it in her jewelry box.




    He hadn’t just bought her some random bit of bling. He’d thought about it. Thought about her. Like he’d used to.








    Their chemistry—and the love scenes—were hot! All good things. I had a lot of fun with this book.




    The only part that gave me pause is that both Jude and Cal did a whole lot of backtracking in and second guessing of their relationship throughout the novel. Much of it made sense with their characters—both had less than ideal lives growing up, and both had major trust issues and feelings of inadequacy due to past relationships. So a lot of the back and forth and up and down in their relationship made sense. In some instances, though, it really seemed to come out of nowhere and left me feeling as blindsided as the other character. Once I even backed up a few pages to see if I’d missed something. Still, it all came together in the end (with a very sweet—and super-public declaration), so I’m going with the “all’s well that ends well” maxim here.




    The epilogue was absolutely adorable! I read it twice. :)




    In a nutshell: an entertaining and sexy read. In spite of a few minor issues with this one, I’ll definitely be reading more from this author. B rating.




    I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1