Customer Reviews for

Tall, Dark & Lonely: A Pyte/Sentinel Series Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A great read

After reading the synopsis I was intrigued and happy to say I was not disapointed. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. I instantly fell inlove with Ephraim and Madison. I really enjoyed the fact that R.L. Mathewson took the time to develop not only her character...
After reading the synopsis I was intrigued and happy to say I was not disapointed. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. I instantly fell inlove with Ephraim and Madison. I really enjoyed the fact that R.L. Mathewson took the time to develop not only her characters but their relationships as well. When I wasn't smiling or laughing I was near tears from the heartfelt moments.

This is a great read for anyone who enjoys vampires, romance or a good story. I look forward to her future work and would love to read a book about Chris.

posted by Suzie58 on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really needs a good editor, but the story concept was not bad

Choppy writing along with numerous grammar and punctuation mistakes made for a less than pleasant read. The story was fairly good, but this author really needs a good editor. Still, with the low cost, it's not a complete waste of money. If the author moves to mainstream...
Choppy writing along with numerous grammar and punctuation mistakes made for a less than pleasant read. The story was fairly good, but this author really needs a good editor. Still, with the low cost, it's not a complete waste of money. If the author moves to mainstream and gains a decent editor, I'm sure she'll do well. R.W.

posted by 10724046 on July 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Ok, first off I enjoyed the book overall. It has some very similiar thematic elements as Twilight, so I'm guessing it evolved from some fan fiction. That being said the characters and story were good in their own right. A few minor drawbacks...the is alot of lengthy descriptive backstory narrative that is plunked in in the middle of dialogs. The narrative is so lengthy in fact it can make the dialog difficult to follow. By the time you get back to the dialog, you may have forgotten what the heck the characters were talking about in the 1st place. In my opinion the book would have seriously benefited from some agressive editing of the narrative to make the story dialogs and action flow better. Also sometimes the format was strange in the ereader, which also contributed to the flow issues. All in all it is a solid book and the sex scenes are hot!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Great read. Will be reading more from this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Good quick read

    Even with the typos this book was good! I have always enjoyed R.L's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Reviewer: Bex Rating: 4 out of 5 Fairies Tall, Dark & Lonel

    Reviewer: Bex
    Rating: 4 out of 5 Fairies

    Tall, Dark & Lonely by R.L. Mathewson is a thoroughly enjoyable paranormal read that had a good mixture of romance and action teamed with an interesting plot.

    The books two main characters, Maddy and Ephraim are two characters with three-dimensional personalities. The author provides fascinating backstories for them both so that the reader feels invested in their progress and development.

    I really liked the concept of this story. There was lots going on and I especially like the set-up for the series. This is a series that I’ll definitely keep following.

    Disclosure: This is a personal read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Must Read

    This was a really good read for me. I couldn't put it down even though some spots were a given. Sometimes you knew what was going to happen you still couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Don't judge a book by it's cover!

    I really must confess that I purchased this book by mistake but since it was only .99 I just went ahead and read it. I was so pleasantly surprised that now I would have paid more if I new how good it was going to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    LOVED LOVED LOVED - I need more!

    R.L. Mathewson is awesome. I decided to read her 1st Pyte-Sentinel Novel and ended up reading all three in the series within 1 week. Anxiously awaiting the next book - please hurry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    To Cat ((can'tsee headlines sorry))

    "You could join SwiftClan! We are very active, and the leader is on everyday for at least an hour. We live at 'Wild Blue,' all results! We would welcome you with open paws."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    I enjoy this author very much and the Pyte series was one of the

    I enjoy this author very much and the Pyte series was one of the reasons why!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2012

    First paranormal book

    For my first vampire book, this was a pleasant surprise. I didn't think I would enjoy it so much. Great romance! Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Entertaining Read

    This is the first book in a series with another series spinoff. They are entertaining if you don't mind the few typos. They are a little repeative but overall I enjoyed them and would recommend them. The first 2 books have about 280 pages but the third book had 980 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    1st book in the series

    This series is very good! Humor, love and sex! The whole series is great. These women are far from weak, they are very strong in their own way and wrap their men around their little fingers!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book, it was hard to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Loving this author

    Really enjoyed this book and have since read other books by same author. Good character development and just enough of the fun stuff to keep you interested. Still planning on reading the other in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this book. I look forward to reading others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Good read

    I have read all her books and have loved them all. All her books for me are rated four stars and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Couldn't put it down.

    I really enjoyed this book. All of the books in this series were great. I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Good read

    Lots of gratuitous sex and foul language. Kinda hardcore twilight, but an amazing story line! Could't put it down. Can't wait to read the sentinal series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3