Customer Reviews for

Tall, Dark and Dead (Garnet Lacey Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I got the book because the cover drew me in.. I sat down and started reading it and had a hard time putting it down. I thought the book was a great read.. Light, Funny, Thrilling, Edge of your Seat, and just all around good.. I must say something about the way she descr...
I got the book because the cover drew me in.. I sat down and started reading it and had a hard time putting it down. I thought the book was a great read.. Light, Funny, Thrilling, Edge of your Seat, and just all around good.. I must say something about the way she describes Parrish.. MMMMMM Candy... :) I would say to read the book..

posted by Mindy_Lou on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great humor, lacks in chemistry though.

I gave this book a chance because after reading something like High Stakes by Erin McCarthy, I thought these light, "chick lit" paranormal romances weren't that bad, and could be a great light read after potential heavy reads.

This one is slightly more darker, and wi...
I gave this book a chance because after reading something like High Stakes by Erin McCarthy, I thought these light, "chick lit" paranormal romances weren't that bad, and could be a great light read after potential heavy reads.

This one is slightly more darker, and with more action but not enough to take it away from the romance/chick lit genre. However what I really enjoyed the most out of this book was the humor. There was plenty of it. It's Garnet Lacey's wit that draws you to the story, and also makes you like her as a character. She's not your typical romantic heroine either, which also makes for her appeal. There were plenty of laugh out loud moments in the book -even coming from the bad guys in the novel as well.

The main story plot is pretty good and well written. The story arc with Garnet and the Vatican is very interesting. The romantic plot isn't too bad (mind you, I'm not one for romances so I am biased in this aspect of the book). Although I have to say, Garnet and Sebastian as a couple...it's a little off. I didn't find any chemistry between them, and didn't find them a great couple to begin with. Garnet and Parrish is the same way. Perhaps a little work is needed on giving the couples a little more chemistry to make the match more enjoyable to read, instead of just being together for the sake of having a main couple for the novel. I found it a little odd how Sebastian and Garnet instantly become an 'item' after a night..it baffles me still. Yet perhaps how my idea of how a couple should start off is much different than how the author pictured.

The story arc with Lilith is interesting and got me wanting to read further into this series I'm intrigued as to what is going to happen. Lilith has her own plans and this builds intrigue and mystery into the book which is enjoyable to read. There was one particular moment in the book where Garnet had to 'be on top' (get my meaning?) because of Lilith (if you are familiar with mythology and Lilith then you'll understand what I'm trying to get at). I thought that was so cheesy and silly it was enough for me to utter an awful comment or two out loud. It wasn't necessary and might probably induce a lot of eye rolling from readers who are well familiar with the Lilith myth.

Yet thanks to the humor, and Garnet as a character (whom I enjoyed reading very much) this was enough for me to carry on and enjoy the book. I recommend this book to those who feel like a light read, with a dark twist throughout. It's got humor, it's got romance, a little bit of action, and it's a nice blend to make the story fun to read, and also makes you want to know what's going to happen next.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I got the book because the cover drew me in.. I sat down and started reading it and had a hard time putting it down. I thought the book was a great read.. Light, Funny, Thrilling, Edge of your Seat, and just all around good.. I must say something about the way she describes Parrish.. MMMMMM Candy... :) I would say to read the book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Garnet is my type of woman!

    Witches, Vampires and Zombies oh my! Great dialogue, funny characters, and yummy men, doesn't get much better. Read one read them all the whole series has snared me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    This book was a very good read. Can't wait to read the others in the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    read this book...

    if you'd like to lose yourself for a couple afternoons. This book is easy to read and fun. The characters are sexy and humorous. I'm very glad I decided to grab this book from the bargain rack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Garnet Lacey: Tall, Dark & Dead

    I was a little skeptical of this book when I bought it. But after the first chapter, I was enthralled and just could not put it down. It's not exactly an original storyplot, but it has it's own flare and that is what grabs your attention and pulls you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witches & Vampires Oh My!

    So much fun to read. I loved the whole series by Tate Hallaway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tall, Dark and Dead. I couldn't put it down!

    This is a great book for those who like Vampire stories but want a break from all the gore and graphic sexual content. (I read the graphic ones too). There is some sexuality but I found the book to be a delightful read without being scary or too gross. The characters are great. I can't wait to read the second one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I highly recommend this book. Great characters and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Fun, fantastic and refreshing

    I absolutely LOVED it! It was soo much fun to read. Dead Sexy is just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Hot Romance

    Tate's book was excellent - it is a page turner! It kept me engaged from page 1. Hot romance with a plot - it doesn't get much better than this! Wonderful summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic urban fantsy

    Garnet Lacey is a non-practicing witch, who remains in hiding after a Vatican hunter squad destroyed her coven. She has vowed never to use her talents again so that she cannot be traced. Perhaps for most people that would be a simple resolution, but for Garnet that is not easy to adhere to because part of dark goddess Lilith dwells inside of her.------------ To her chagrin Garnet is attracted to Sebastian Von Traum even as he frightens her because she cannot detect any aura emulating from him. Who is he she ponders as only limited creatures like vampires have no aura? Even more worrisome is the idea he could he be a Vatican assassin preparing to kill her.--------------- TALL, DARK & DEAD is a fabulous fantasy romance that will have readers believing in witches, vampires and ghosts oh my. The story line is driven by the lead pair as she is attracted to him, but doubts she can depend on him on the other hand Sebastian desires Garnet, but knows that if he tries to keep her safe he could reveal his hiding place to dangerous enemies. If they fail to trust one another, their growing love will prove meaningless as their lethal foes are coming in a fabulous paranormal thriller that leaves readers with a one sitting winner.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    New voice in Vampire Fiction

    Garnet Lacey has a problem¿okay a few problems. First she¿s a witch. Well, that¿s not really a problem ¿ unless you consider the fact that she¿s sharing her body with a rather vengeful Goddess over whom she has little control. Second, she¿s changed her entire life because a bunch of witch-hunters has wiped out her coven ¿ and that¿s a big problem. See, these aren¿t your ordinary every-day witch hunters, they¿re special agents of the Vatican, and that¿s definitely a problem for Garnet. Now she spends her time working in a New Age shop dressed mainly as a Goth chick using the ¿hide in plain sight¿ theory. And now a whole new problem has come to light in the form of Sebastian Von Traum. Because of his visit to the shop where she works and what he asks for, Garnet knows Sebastian is magic practitioner, he¿s also a very sexy man and the problem with that is that he¿s dead. Okay, mostly dead, he¿s a vampire. Garnet wants to get to know him much better, and Sebastian feels the same way about her ¿ the problem is, the witch hunters don¿t want them together. See, Sebastian isn¿t your ordinary run-of-the-mill vampire. He¿s special in a way that no other vampire is, and that unique quality is going to be the biggest problem of all for Garnet and her resident Goddess. Then there¿s Garnet¿s Wiccan-wanna-be coworker, a quirky friend and an ex-lover ¿ who also happens to be a vampire. Not to mention the characters in Sebastian¿s life also making an appearance here. They all pose a series of unique circumstances for Garnet to winnow her way out of even as she and Sebastian get closer. As Garnet and Sebastian try to out-wit the Vatican witch hunters and deal with the other strange characters in both of their lives, they draw closer to one another. This offering by Tate Hallaway is unique, intriguing and a sexy read. The characters are lively and fresh, the story itself will keep your interest, and the ending will leave you clamoring for more. To be quite honest, I thoroughly enjoyed this work. There¿s just enough comedy to make you laugh, just enough tension to keep you interested, and just enough passion to steam up your glasses. I finished it in one sitting. Sebastian and Garnet make a great pair and I look forward to more stories with the two of them and the other supporting characters introduced here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    If you think you have problems...

    Think you're having a bad day? Having problems with your significant other? Garnet Lacy has just fallen for a handsome Austrian guy when her ex pops back into her life. Did I mention the guys are vampires? That's when things get complicated and interesting. Ms. Hallaway has created a completely likeable herione (Garnet) with a keen sense of humor, wit, and a very messy life. Event he Vatican has it out for her. It's a page turner and a very entertaining. I couldn't help but like Garnet and I was cheering for her all along. Someone should make a movie out of this...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2