Customer Reviews for

Tall, Dark and Hungry (Argeneau Vampire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Really Great Series

This whole series pulled me in! I started with book ten out of curiosity then found all 11 books devoured within days. Very addictive. I cant wait for the next book. I hope it is Bricker.

posted by 177673 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

mediocrity at best

Even though I knew this was a second or third in a series I was disappointed to find a character from the previous novel hopelessly and nauseatingly mooning over the love of his life in the first few pages. It immediately turned me off but I continued and so did the wea...
Even though I knew this was a second or third in a series I was disappointed to find a character from the previous novel hopelessly and nauseatingly mooning over the love of his life in the first few pages. It immediately turned me off but I continued and so did the weak writing. Everything was just 'almost': almost funny, almost cute, almost romantic but there was no almost complex it was hopelessly shallow. The setting was so poised for wit and humor that I was disppointed when the jokes didn't quite pack a punch and that the story was a strictly one note straightforward, no conflict, no drama, dull as dirt boy meets girl. Most disappointing however, is the lack of depth and the dark thread that should be inherent in a vampire romance. How the author managed to completely miss the inherent darkness in a blood sucking predator with fangs is almost a fascinating subject...almost. But even had I imagined up a dark thread for myself, she completely took the thrill out of it with her explanation for vampirism. The concept of vampires has been around for centuries and has continued to be interesting without weak scifi explanations so it's baffling that authors constantly need to find newer and more ridiculous explanations for it rather than deal with the inherent darkness that comes with vampirism which is usually the appeal of the paranormal.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Really Great Series

    This whole series pulled me in! I started with book ten out of curiosity then found all 11 books devoured within days. Very addictive. I cant wait for the next book. I hope it is Bricker.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good.

    Not bad but not the best Lynsay Sands has written. Bastien was very easy to fall in love with, who can not resist a sexy vampire. Terri is not my favorite heroine. I did not like how she reacted finding out Bastien and her bestfriend was a vampire. Would recommend the book just to read about Bastien's story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    mediocrity at best

    Even though I knew this was a second or third in a series I was disappointed to find a character from the previous novel hopelessly and nauseatingly mooning over the love of his life in the first few pages. It immediately turned me off but I continued and so did the weak writing. Everything was just 'almost': almost funny, almost cute, almost romantic but there was no almost complex it was hopelessly shallow. The setting was so poised for wit and humor that I was disppointed when the jokes didn't quite pack a punch and that the story was a strictly one note straightforward, no conflict, no drama, dull as dirt boy meets girl. Most disappointing however, is the lack of depth and the dark thread that should be inherent in a vampire romance. How the author managed to completely miss the inherent darkness in a blood sucking predator with fangs is almost a fascinating subject...almost. But even had I imagined up a dark thread for myself, she completely took the thrill out of it with her explanation for vampirism. The concept of vampires has been around for centuries and has continued to be interesting without weak scifi explanations so it's baffling that authors constantly need to find newer and more ridiculous explanations for it rather than deal with the inherent darkness that comes with vampirism which is usually the appeal of the paranormal.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I want to meet a vampire!!!!

    It was a really good book. I enjoyed it very much. I like how they put a science to being a vampire. That was really original. I recommend this to 18 and older people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    Lynsay's back with another Argeneau tale!

    Bastien Argeneau is a vamp in the grumpy mold of his brother Lucern (Single White Vampire), and his lovely curmudgeon ways was going to be put to the test, with the upcoming wedding of Lucern and Kate. Too lovey-dovey wrapped up with themselves, small details of the upcoming ceremony are slipping by them. Like the arrival of Kate¿s cousin, Terri. Bastien has been living in the penthouse over the Argeneau offices, quite happily alone since Lucern had moved in with Kate. But that solitude is about to come crashing down around him as the wedding approaches. First Kate pressed Bastien into picking up Terri at the airport, since the loving couple had other business. Bastien has no problem with that request. It¿s the second favor Kate asks of her brother-in-law to be that puts the crimp into his quiet lifestyle ¯ she needs him to put Terri up while she is in town for the wedding. Seeing no real problem putting her up for a day or two, Bastien agrees. Only after he commits to the arrangement, Kate informs him that Terri is coming earlier than the rest of her family ¿ two weeks earlier! But it¿s too late to make other arrangements, because Terri is due at the airport within minutes! Bastien has viewed the pending nuptials with mixed emotions: happiness for Lucern, disgust at their frequent public displays of being besotted and a wee dram of envy. Bastien is not about to voice this aloud fearing mommy dearest Marguerite will sharpen her matchmaking efforts. She has always insisted her children need to be mated with someone who brings the zest for living back and the Lissianne and Etienne married and Lucern well onto his way, her crosshairs has come upon Bastien and he is feeling her breath down his neck. Bastien fears logistical problems in having Terri around for two weeks. How do you hide that you are a vampire from a woman living under the same roof for that long? It gets worse when his nephew Thomas shows up. A wannabe actor, he is preparing for a roll on Broadway playing ¯ what else ¯ a vampire! Terri is instantly charmed by Thomas who tries to lure her in helping him ¿rehearse¿. Bastien is distracted by the physical attraction to Terri, but his befuddlement is compounded by having to keep an eye on Thomas ¿ a vamp of the old style who likes to keep his fangs sharp! Matters grows worse as Kate¿s boss, Chris, has one accident after another and Kate ends up installing the editor in Bastien¿s apartment while his is being repaired. (Note for those loving an inside jest Chris is loosely based on Chris Keeslar, editor at Dorchester Publishing ¯ Lynsay¿s editor for the vamp series!). All in all, it¿s another delightful Argeneau romp that will delight readers of the series! In a bidding frenzy, Avon books bought the rights to the Argeneaus. Lissianna¿s tales in being finished with at least four more planned. So, long live the Argeneaus!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great satirical supernatural romance

    Englishwoman Teri Simpson crosses the ocean to attend the wedding of her cousin Katie. The bridesmaid has no idea that Katie is no longer 100 percent human as the bride has converted to vampirism and is marrying into a family of vampires including her spouse.............................................. Katie asks her future brother-in-law Bastian Argeneau to allow Teri to stay at the family penthouse for the two weeks leading to the wedding. Willing to do anything for Katie, Bastian agrees. However, he might have reconsidered her stay if he knew that cousin Vincent also arrives to stay there. Vincent has a healthy appetite for female humans enjoying a LOVE BITE or two. As Bastian and Teri fall in love, he makes sure that Vincent keeps his teeth to himself especially in light of driving their housekeeper into resigning..................................... This engaging vampire romance has a biting edge to it as Lynsay Sands spoofs her previous tales and those of the sub-genre with an intelligent satirical spin. The terrific story line moves forward at a rapid pace once Teri meets the in-laws and never slows down yet makes her and the vampires seem so genuine that a nest must be residing in New York. Fans of an amusing tongue in cheek (change tongue on neck) melodramas will sink their teeth into this delightful ¿relationship¿ drama and will adore TALL, DARK, AND HUNGRY........................................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Handsome & compelling

    Vampires, love, mystery & lust who could ask for more?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    This is a must read

    This series and this book is different than other vampire series
    i find them hard to put down and an addictive read a great love story with an edge of science and true long lasting love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Marina

    Waits

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    The only thing i didnt understand is why they didnt pass out from the amazing sex like all the others? Favorite book amd series by far though

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love the Argenau family! Lynsay Sands brings a fresh perspective to the notion of vampires. It's easy to love the characters with all of their adorable quirks. If you like the first three, you'll definitely enjoy this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Love this series...

    The Argeneau series is a comedy, drama, love story all wrapped up in each book. Put them all together and you have an ongoing saga that builds as you read each of these stories. Each book adds more depth, texture, and richness to this family saga as each story is told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    District 8

    District 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Sands writes great vampire books. I loved the humor and the fact

    Sands writes great vampire books. I loved the humor and the fact that this particular novel wasn't dark and dreary, as so many others
    seem to be. Terri and Bastien were a wonderful couple to get to know, as was his cousin Vincent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    A good read

    I like this story,the only issue is that I
    Wanted terri to find out about bastien
    Before they had sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    ;+)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Love these Argeneaus!

    Bastien is my favorite character besides Lucian in the whole Argeneau Family. Love this and all of these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Marceline and hunter

    Marceline: *she sits in a tree her hair is long and black and she was a human but very pale for one she is wearing skinny jeans and a t-shirt* Hunter: *he stays in the shade of a tree e was the vampire in the family he is even paler then his sister and he has a buzz cut his hair black he wears jeans a t-shirt*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome book must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Read Read Read

    Love this series! Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22