Customer Reviews for

Tall, Dark, and Vampire (Dead in the City Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    A delicious start to a brand new series!!!!! I imagine it¿s no

    A delicious start to a brand new series!!!!!


    I imagine it’s not easy for an author to find a new twist on a long standing genre, but Sara Humphreys has scored a hit!
    This book filled with action, passion and dark suspense has launched an enthralling series. Add to the mix mystery, desire and a perilous menace, and you have a story that will lure you in and hold you captive until the very last page.
    With an incredible cast of interesting characters and assorted personalities, Tall, Dark and Vampire provides a stimulating plot and promises to be the start of an addictive new series!
    Thank you Ms Humphreys, I do love my Vampires!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    So...if it is written by Sara Humphreys, you can pretty much bet

    So...if it is written by Sara Humphreys, you can pretty much bet it is going to be fun, exciting, and awesome. This book was definitely all of that and then some! The whole bloodmates thing is fascinating, and something new for the world of vampires. I loved it! This group if characters is going to make a great series! I highly anticipate the next book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Olivia was in some of the Amoveo books . I really ;liked her and

    Olivia was in some of the Amoveo books . I really ;liked her and I loved this book. Doug is such a great guy and their previous love so strong he has come back to her in a another body so similar to the one she loved before there is no doubt who he is. This was so full of action and surprises I can't wait for the next one in this new series. Highly recommend both Ms Humphreys series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Emperor Zhao full of surprises I love Sara Humphrey¿s The Amov

    Emperor Zhao full of surprises

    I love Sara Humphrey’s The Amoveo Legend series and when I saw she was introducing another series, (spin off the Amoveo) I was totally excited.

    Olivia Hollingsworth is a 300 year old Vampire, with a heart of gold, excuse the pun. For a Vampire she has a lot of compassion and is always trying to help or save the underdog.

    Can you imagine watching your fiancée being murdered in front of your eyes and being totally helpless to do anything but go into shock. Then the next thing you know you are waking up like the monster who took your soul mates life. Their one moment in time would be their last. He was the love of her life, her soul mate; this is exactly what happened to Olivia Hollingsworth 300 years ago. And for 300 years she has remained celibate driven by guilt and a broken heart that no one could mend. Olivia spent the obligatory 100 years with her maker Victor, then decided she’s had enough and decided to strike out on her own. Olivia over the years had a little coven of her own started. She was a very compassionate vampire and would only turn someone who was dying. Her little family consisted of Peter (Cop and part Demon) who was her best friends mate, and turned him so he wouldn’t die. Trixie, Sadie and Maya (Maya being the newest and youngest), then you have Damien and Suzie both employed by Olivia but are human, and we can’t omit Van Helsing (her brute of a dog) I loved him. This was her life and this was her family. Together they ran Olivia’s club “The Coven.”

    Without going into detail and spoiling the read for everyone I’ll try to set this up. Maya being the youngest and most recently turned had a knack for getting a little carried away and playing with her food ( l loved this term). So when one of her toys showed up dead and witnesses told the detectives the last place he was seen was “the Coven” they decided to pay Olivia Hollingsworth a visit. When Doug Paxton walked into the club with his partner Tom you can only imagine Olivia’s shock when she saw him. She knew immediately who it was but couldn’t understand the how’s and whys. I’ll give up just this one teaser, Doug Paxton was Olivia’s Fiancée. As the story plays out Sara Humphreys gives you flash backs of their past. It was just enough information to help explain what was unfolding and why. The twists and surprises in Tall, Dark and Vampire kept you in suspense the entire time. The ending, OMG the ending was unfreakin believable. I totally enjoyed this book and look forward to her next installment. Sara I give this 5* and I believe you have another hit series on your hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Tall Dark and Vampire gives us an insight into the owner and pro

    Tall Dark and Vampire gives us an insight into the owner and proprietor of the Coven (A Church once before, now the location of a
    Vampire owner night club; with the Goth population, leather and lace as well). We were tease a little about Olivia Hollingsworth in
    Undone (The Amoveo Legend; The Amoveo are shapeshifting animal who live secretly among humans. Spoiler alert, if you have
    not read Undone, please do, before reading Tall, Dark and Vampire). Oliver is just not another vampire, she has true feelings for
     the weak, and truly believes in love. The creations of Sara Humphreys sucks you into Oliver's world and refuses to let you go,
    until the very last sentence. Readers of romance, vampires, paranormal, humor, suspense and so much more will truly enjoy
    this novel. Dough Paxton  is the perfect man for Oliver, and their story leaves you wanting more! Lets not forget the steamy under
     the sheets scenes; hooray for Sara Humphreys!

    Milly_B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Great book!

    COULD be next hbo series when true blood ends Its that great a story hope more follow of this. vammpires, shifters,.demonds, this story has it all an more . Great paranormal romance an great love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Tall, Dark And Vampire" is the first book in the 'Amo

    "Tall, Dark And Vampire" is the first book in the 'Amoveo Legend' series spin-off "Dead In The City" by the fantastic Sara Humphreys and I can say, with total confidence, that this new series will be a huge hit!
    We head back into the world of Ms. Humphreys vampires, whom we first caught a glimpse of in "Undone", which was Pete & Marianna's story.. 
    The gorgeous & mysterious vampire Olivia Hollingsworth, who was previously introduced to us as Marianna's best friend, finds herself looking into the eyes of a man she thought long dead.. And maybe he was.. Is reincarnation of the love of her life even possible? 
    Doug Paxton, NYC homicide detective & drop-dead sexy human male, ends up at Olivia's dance club, investigating the grisly murder of a man who was last seen in the company of one of Olivia's beloved employees.. Olivia won't take this sitting down. She loves her employees just like she would love family... And they truly are family, in her mind..
    Not to mention that Olivia can't believe her eyes.. The man before her looks exactly like her soul mate.. Who died three centuries ago... And Doug, for his credit, believes that Olivia is the woman from his dreams, literally.. He is astounded by the connection he feels to the beautiful Olivia, who looks just like the woman from his nightly dreams.. He wonders if he's losing his mind.. He very well might be, when he & his partner are attacked and he swears he sees a monster... A vampire?
    Olivia finds herself a witness to the attack on Doug.. But is it too late to save his human life? Will she lose her love of a lifetime, once again? And if she does manage to save him, will he retain his sanity once he finds out what Olivia truly is?
    Sara Humphreys weaves a beautiful, intricate, dramatic novel, with passion, love & all the adventure we've come to love from her.. The words seem to flow from her like pure poetry & they pull the reader in & keep us held, enraptured, until the very end.. Sara, as with her amazing "Amoveo Legend" series, never misses a single detail & proves once again why she is the very powerhouse of an author that we've come to know & love, with her past novels...
    "Tall, Dark And Vampire" is one tale that you don't want to miss! Just a few chapters into this breathtaking story and you'll see why Sara Humphreys is one of my very favorite authors... ~ Vicki Rose



    Platinum Reviews gives Sara & "Tall, Dark And Vampire":
    4.5 Platinum Rings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tall, dark, and vampire, who doesn¿t like to have their own pers

    Tall, dark, and vampire, who doesn’t like to have their own personal super being with a bite? Vampires or shifters, they have super strength, wealth, and the physique of a god, not to mention their specialty in seduction! I was completely swooning off my feet by Ms. Humphreys’ amazing talent of weaving a love story of a woman who’s after my own heart. A heroine with spunk, intelligent, stubbornness, strong willed, and loyal to those around here. A woman whose conviction is her own passion!

    Olivia is a vampire unlike other, she disliked leather-tight clothing, she dressed to blend in with the party goers frequent at her nightclub, and she liked engaging with human and other vampire, the only different about her from the rest of the human kind is her thirst for blood. And even with the blood thirst, she still refused to see human as “live-stock” and only taking the synthetic from the blood banks. To top it all, THE WOMAN IS KEEN ON CELIBACY!!! Talk about wasting her seduction skills. Nonetheless, Olivia is unique in her own ways, she has her own principles and her heart is yearning for a bloodmate. So, celibacy it is until she came face to face with the man her soul has been searching for.

    Meet detective Doug Paxton, a great cop, loyal friend, and the reincarnation of Olivia’s bloodmate. Possible or impossible? Doug wasn’t sure if the woman standing in front of him is an illusion or a real-life-breathing-kicking-person. For a long time he has been dreaming of her, yearning for her, but only to wake up in sweats and memories of what transpired the night before. But now the fiery vixen standing here is made of flesh and blood, her lips curved into a seductive smile and her fair skin glistening under the moonlight. Lost in lust and love, Doug couldn’t help but be drawn to Olivia, even though her nightclub is under investigation of a murder.

    They say hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, is that still true when two lover birds are put to the test? What will each of them do if their love is denied? You’ll find all that in this 1st installment of the new series by author Sara Humphreys. Tall, Dark, and Vampire is riveting, outstandingly written, and it possess the hearts of the readers. A must read for all vampire lovers and anyone who needs motivation to be stronger than they were before. ~ Jenni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Sara Humphreys Tall, Dark, and Vampire Dead in the City #1 If y

    Sara Humphreys
    Tall, Dark, and Vampire
    Dead in the City #1

    If you’ve read Undone (Amoveo Legend Series, Book 4) then you’ll know some of the characters in this book, if you haven’t then the characters may not mean as much to you (at least to begin with) but you’ll still enjoy the read.

    I wasn’t sure what to expect from this new series but I was completely drawn in within the first couple of chapters. I read a lot of vampire books, but this one definitely stuck out from the rest and was unique and different to the mass of vampire books available. Despite Olivia being a vampire, she tries to save people where she can and together they form a family of sorts who all help run her nightclub. Working hard, she doesn’t let people close romantically and has been celibate for 300 years after losing the love of her life. Doug, a policeman, is investigating a murder when he pops by the nightclub to question a barmaid but is left speechless when coming face to face with Olivia, who is literally the girl of his dreams.

    I loved the chemistry and history between Olivia and Doug, who have always been connected. Together they become whole and will do anything to keep what they have, and their family, alive. The emotions clearly shine throughout the book, and the descriptive nature allows the reader to easily imagine the whole storyline. A well written story that provides characters you’ll care for and want to carry on reading about.

    I received an e-copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OMG that book was amazing!! Ok, I'm not instantly crazy over a b

    OMG that book was amazing!! Ok, I'm not instantly crazy over a book simply because there are vampires in it .. that's usually if it's a shapeshifter novel (for me personally). That being said, I could NOT put this book down! I loved how she built the characters slowly throughout the book and I loved the role reversal. Usually it's the woman following the man but in this the man had to take lead from his heroine. Loved it. Absolutely incredible! I was hooked from the first chapter. Can't wait for book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Once again, Sara has written a story that I simply could not put

    Once again, Sara has written a story that I simply could not put down.  It had heat, adventure, true love, and even a bit of mystery.  Most importantly, it had characters I loved. I will admit it.  I am a sucker for the "I dreamed about my true love" story lines.  In fact, hubby dreamed about me 20 years before we met, so I find it beyond romantic and magical.  Add to that a strong heroine with a heart of gold, a true love that is hot, alpha, and a true hero, and an exciting new world of vampires to explore and Sara has created a winner.  




    To be honest, when I first heard that the next book to release would be a vampire story I was a little disappointed.  Not because I do not like vamps, but because I sooo love her shifters.  I was so silly.  This book is every bit as amazing as her other works and in some ways, it is even better.  She created this amazing new world  that, while it overlaps the world of the Amoveo, it is new and fresh and filled with so many possibilities. While there are a few carry over characters from her Amoveo series, you could easily read this book without having ever even heard of them.  They are just little treats for us devoted fans of her amazing shifter crack series ;) . I can not wait for her to write more from this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Sara Humphrey¿s is truly a master at her craft, and she just kee

    Sara Humphrey’s is truly a master at her craft, and she just keeps getting better! She has delivered yet another amazing start to a very promising new series!
    Tall, Dark and Vampire is the first book in her new Dead in the City series, a spinoff of her popular Amoveo Legend books, and she has made that transition flawlessly. Be forewarned though!! Read this book after you have read the other series through UNDONE. In my opinion, there is too much back story and character development to read Tall, Dark and Vampire without the benefit of the prior books.

    Olivia Hollingsworth has been a vampire for centuries. The night of her ‘turning’, she watched as her true love died in her arms from a vampire attack. Since that day, she has been celibate, aching from his loss, and believing no one else could take his place. Instead, she channels her emotions into taking care of her family, human and vampire. She heads an all female coven, which also includes two human members, and they work at the club she owns in New York City, aptly called The Coven.
    Vampires don’t dream, but hers have returned and they are filled with her long ago lover. There is a legend among her race, that when a Vampire dreams, it is because they have found their BLOODMATE. How can that be possible when the man in her dreams has been gone for almost 300 years?
    When a murder is committed outside her club, Olivia’s family comes under scrutiny by the local police. One night as she is making her rounds, she hears a familiar voice and inhales a scent she has not come across in centuries, awakening sensations and desires she thought long buried. Stopping dead in her tracks, she turns and comes face to face with her lover, who is very much alive in the guise of one very sexy cop!
    Officer Doug Paxton has been dreaming about a woman for as long as he can remember, never believing she is real. Yet, Olivia Hollingsworth stands before him, living proof that she does, indeed, exist. He’s a dedicated, serious cop, but she throws him off his game, making it difficult for him to get his brain to function in cop mode in order to interrogate her. A man has been murdered outside her club and he suspects that she is hiding something important from him and his partner. The cop in him needs to discover what she is hiding; the man in him wants to investigate her very personally. Molten desire races through him just looking at her and he aches to find out what will happen when they finally touch.
    As the attraction between Olivia and Doug heats up and ignites, they are thrown together in order to solve the murders which seem to be piling up around them.
    In true Sara style, this story is packed with action, a great plotline, humor, sexual tension, hot-steamy love scenes, characters you fall in love with and a never-saw-that-one-coming surprise involving her hero. Now, tell me, what more could you possibly want!!!????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sara has another great book on her hands. She has the ability to

    Sara has another great book on her hands. She has the ability to flow from one book to the next. This time it is one series to the next. The Amoveo are shifters and their leaders want them to stay pure. Leave it to Sara to shake up their worlds. Olivia is a vampire whose fiancé was killed by her Maker 300 years ago. Jump ahead 300 years and gets another chance at Love and Happiness. I wont say more as I don't want to spoil the book for you. Please-Hurry and get your own copy to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Tall, Dark, and Vampire (Dead in a City #1) by Sara Humphreys Ms

    Tall, Dark, and Vampire (Dead in a City #1) by Sara Humphreys
    Ms. Humphreys did it again to me! I never thought that I would get hooked to vampire stories, well it's done!
    I read all of this author's books in her Amoveo shape shifters series and loved them so much; that I decided to read her new vampire series. OMG, I was so surprised and once I started to read it, I could not put it away. I was blown away! I loved her characters, Olivia Hollingsworth and Doug Paxton. I Love Ms. Humphreys style of writing. It's so much fun reading her books: they are fast paced and filled with mystery. I am not really a fan of vampire stories, but since I knew her books, I decide to give it a try. Well, it's an amazing new vampire series, that I am sure, will please readers. As soon as I started to read it, I got hooked. I will definitely be reading her next book in this amazing new series.You will not be disappointed! I highly recommend Ms. Humphreys's book Tall, Dark, and Vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1