Customer Reviews for

Tall, Dark and Wolfish

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Sweet and Sexy Read!

    Well, Ms. Dare, you've done it again! I am totally in love with the Westfield Brothers - all three are completely sigh-worthy...

    In this second book in her werewolf trilogy, we are introduced to Lord Benjamin Westfield, the youngest of the three brothers. We don't meet him in A Certain Wolfish Charm, except to hear he's missing and possibly gone off to Scotland.

    He has gone off to Scotland; he wasn't able to change at the last full moon, and he's in search of a healer. He plans to stay with an old friend, Alec MacQuarrie, while he searches for this old woman. When he arrives, Alec is on his way to a ball with a young woman he's been pursuing. Alec asks Ben to escort the young lady's friend, Elspeth.

    Elspeth Campbell is a young witch. Her best friends are all witches and her closest friend has forseen that a wolf will tear Elspeth away and destroy the coven. Elspeth knows this must refer to her father, who was a werewolf - she has the mark on her skin, passed down by her father. She plans to seek out her father and confront him; the only problem is she doesn't know who he is - he left her mother and never came back

    When Ben tells Elspeth who he's looking for, she realizes he wants her mother, who is dead. She tells Ben she can help him but even though he feels drawn to her, he is reluctant to disclose his secrets. Then he sees her powers and thinks maybe she can help.

    As Ben and Elspeth are drawn to each other, the coven sisters are trying to keep her from falling in love and leaving the coven. Of course there are many misunderstandings and twists along the way to this HEA: Ben needs to change to his wolf shape, Elspeth wants to find her father, the coven doesn't want to be separated.

    Not to sound like a squeeing fangirl (which I am), but I loved this book! At first I was a little hesitant when I realized the heroine was a witch (I'm not much for witch stories) but I was so wrong to be worried! I liked Elspeth and adored Ben! Elspeth was a strong heroine without being obnoxious, and I liked that she wasn't willing to settle. Ben was your typical clueless bachelor who did't know what hit him once he fell in love, but he was soooo sweet! Their friends were fun to read and full of surprises. (I hope we see more of Alec and Elspeth's friend Caitlin in the next book).

    The middle brother, Will, who I fell in love with in the first book, is back for this book. He comes across as something of a "himbo" but he really cares for his family and friends. His non-relationship with Prisca (from book 1) is hinted at again here.

    This book was sexy and sweet and I couldn't get enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2015

    Benjamin Westfield is a werewolf and couldn't ever imagine losin

    Benjamin Westfield is a werewolf and couldn't ever imagine losing his wolf. Then one night under the full moon, he doesn't change and is at a loss as to what to do. He feels as if he has lost a huge part of himself. When he starts to investigate and research he learns of a healer in the highlands of Scotland who might be able to bring his wolf back. So he heads up to Edinburgh. Elspeth Campbell is a witch and her focus is the healing arts. She is a vital part of a coven of five witches , as close as sisters. When one of her fellow witches has a vision of a dangerous wolf that will come and take her away. When Elspeth first takes notice of Benjamin, she is charmed and instantly drawn to him. She doesn't see danger from Ben she sees a man who is respectful and tender toward her. When she learns of his ailment and that he is actually seeking her , she only desires to heal him so his wolf may be restored. When her coven sisters try to interfere in the intimate relationship that is forming between herself and Benjamin she knows where her heart lies.

    Tall Dark and Wolfish is the second book in the Westfield series. Ever since I first started reading this author I fell in love with her writing from the very beginning. There is such a tender and strong connection between the characters from the very beginning. When Benjamin and Elspeth first meet, the instant attraction between them is obvious and they don't shy away from it, they embrace it. You see how each of them need love and I enjoyed seeing Lydia Dare taking the unique setting and the way the plot unravels. There is a slight mystery, a bit of a conflict trying to get Benjamin's wolf back, but I found this story to be a poignant and sweet read. I enjoyed seeing how Benjamin handles the other coven witches. They definitely put him through a series of tests and he comes out on top and handles their assaults with patience.

    I found that I liked the relationship between Benjamin and Elspeth. Elspeth is a sweet heroine, she doesn't hide her feeling from Benjamin. I found her to be one of my favorite heroines. She can be strong willed when she is fighting for what she wants. But I love the gentle like quality she has about her. Benjamin is a mix between dominant wolf and yet has a gentle side when it comes to Elspeth. Even though he is determined to find his wolf, Elspeth becomes his top priority. There is a couple of misunderstandings that occur between them, and you see how stubborn they both can be. However I found it quite amusing and I loved the outcome of them working it out in the end.

    Overall I couldn't help but admire the way the author puts this story together. It is always fun seeing how she blends in the historical setting with the paranormal of shifters and witches. A unique mixture of in depth characters, romantic setting, a rich plot and a charming love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Loved

    Book two of this series was as good as the first. Wolves and witches are my favorite subjects to read about and this series is wonderful! Can't wait to start book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I love it.  First time reading Lydia Dare book and I just had t

    I love it. 

    First time reading Lydia Dare book and I just had to have all her wolf, and vampire books I just couldn't put this book away until I finished the book to the end and it was worth it 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Totally hooked on this series!

    Book 2 in the series....What a surprise Brother Ben finds in the little healer Elspeth! History and mystery and travel combine in this fated love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Its awesome

    I love it. But I do wish that I knew wich was first. I believe ye would love this book it's truely amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it!! <3

    One of the best in the series!! I love Elspeth and Ben story!! Love all Lydia Dare's books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wolf, A Witch and a Wonderful Read

    Who could resist a title like that. When this book was offered for review, I was quickly drawn to it. It is the second installment in the Westfield Werewolf trilogy by Lydia Dare.

    Even though at the time I had yet to read the first book (A Certain Wolfish Charm), I thought this book sounded interesting. The cover and the blurb were catchy and had a bit of suspense to it.

    Elspbeth Campbell is a fiery-red headed Scott with emerald eyes. She's a bit of an outcast from most of the town due to the circumstances of her birth. Despite her lack of acceptance in certain circles, Elspbeth is sought after as the local healer.

    Having a kind and gentle heart, Elspbeth never refuses to help anyone. She uses her healing power, along with other gifts inherited from her mother to help the people in her town. She has the aid of four close friends, each who have also inherited special gifts from their mothers.

    Benjamin Westfield is the youngest of the three brothers. He is known for his womanizing-ways, as well as his sometimes rowdy moods. What isn't known by many is that Ben and his brothers, like their father before them, are Lycans - werewolves.

    However, Ben has a bit of a problem he can't bring himself to share with even his brothers. Seems the pull of the full moon has stopped pulling him to turn into a wolf.

    Seeking help for his problem, Ben is sent to find the healer. But the healer he seeks (Elspbeth's mother) is dead and he finds Elspbeth instead.

    Through a series of twists, turns and out and out confusion, Elspbeth and Ben are soon fighting their attraction to one another. In addition, they carry a mysterious physical link neither can explain.

    Though the description and actions of Ben would melt any female's heart, Elspbeth is the character that steals the story. Her wit, charm and courage is spellbinding. I can't help but compare Elspbeth and Ben to the characters Maureen O'Hara and John Wayne played in THE QUIET MAN.

    To me the only way this story could have been any better is if it was an audio read by someone with a beautiful Scottish accent. The dialect and descriptions will transform you to Scotland before you finish the first chapter.

    TALL, DARK AND WOLFISH is a stand alone book. There are some references, but no missing parts you need from the first book to appreciate this wonderful read. However, once you met Ben you'll want to find out about his oldest brother, Simon. And soon you'll be able to learn more about the middle brother, William, in THE WOLF NEXT DOOR due out next month.

    Find a comfortable chair because once you start reading TALL, DARK AND WOLFISH, you won't want to put it down until you finish the final paragraph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Delightful!

    TALL,DARK, AND WOLFISH by Lydia Dare is a delightful Regency Paranormal Romance. Set in 1816 Edinburgh, Scotland and England. It in the second in this series, but can be read as a stand alone.It is well written, fast paced, page turning and did I say Delightful. The characters both the hero and heroine and the secondary jump off the page with sensuality, haughtiness, and wit. You have witches meet the Lycan with electricity and sparks flying. You have romance, sensuality, shape shifters(Lycan), a little mystery,intrigue, witches with wonderful spells and of course Regency England and Scotland. This in my first read in the Lycan experience and I have to say I was not disappointed. I would highly recommend this book. This book was received for review and details can be found at Sourcebooks and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Great Series!!!

    I really enjoyed this book...Ben's story is an interesting one and the witch element that is brought into the book by Elspeth is a nice twist. Her coven is also a great part of the book...hopefully they might make a good side series in the future. The characters a pretty well developed, and this was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tall, Dark and Wolfish

    My Synopsis:


    Tall, Dark and Wolfish (The Westfield Wolves series - Book 2) by Lydia Dare

    Lord Benjamin Westfield has a problem! The youngest of three brothers with a family trait that causes them to turn into a werewolves on the night of the full moon, Benjamin has lost a part of himself when he becomes unable to change. Ben travels to Scotland in search of a mystical healer who can possibly restore the beastly part of his nature. What Ben finds is a lot more than he bargained for.

    Elspeth Campbell has secrets of her own! When Benjamin Westfield comes to Scotland looking for her mother, Elspeth is unsure how to respond. Since her mother's passing she has become the healer for her family, friends and the community at large. But, this beautiful young witch is unprepared for her feelings for the Englishman who bares the mark of the beast. Will Elspeth heed the warnings of her friends who tell her to leave Ben alone? Will Elspeth find out the mystery of her father? Will Benjamin be restored to his wolfish self? Will Ben and Elspeth find a love they never expected?

    My Thoughts:

    Tall, Dark and Wolfish is the second book by Lydia Dare about the Westfield brothers, Simon, William and Benjamin. Benjamin is the youngest Westfield and he has suddenly become unable to change into a werewolf with the full moon. The author has taken a historical setting and added a paranormal twist. We have the Lord's and the Ladies we've come to expect from historical fiction mixed with witches and werewolves we might find in the new sub-genre called paranormal romance. I find the combination of the two very intriguing.

    Lydia Dare takes the reader on an adventure into Scotland, a land shrouded in mystery and ancient beliefs and customs. Here we meet the character of Elspeth Campbell and her coven sisters. Elspeth is a young witch and a mystical healer all wrapped up into one. The scandal regarding her parentage has taught her to take care of herself and she has become a strong woman. I really liked her character because she seemed strong yet when she was with Ben, she lets her vulnerable side show in how much she cares for him and needs him in her life. Benjamin's character was typical for a good historical novel. He's a scoundrel of sorts who finally finds the woman of his dreams only to find out that he may not be good enough for her. His beastly side makes him that much more interesting.

    I enjoyed this book very much. I loved how the author used the Scottish brogue in the writing as well as showing some of the old customs and words. This series has really captivated my interest and I look forward to the third book in the series which will be out soon. I will be posting an interview with the author tomorrow, so that my readers can become more acquainted with the series and find out what is making Lydia Dare fast becoming one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging tale

    In 1816 Edinburgh, Caitrin the seer warns her coven friend Elspeth Campbell that the man with beast is coming for her. While her three other coven sisters worry about her, Elspeth says the man is probably her father whom she never met.

    In London Lord Benjamin Westfield is concerned that for the first time since puberty he failed to change during the full moon. Not wanting to deal with his two older brothers, he turns to Major Forester who suggests he see a healer. Reluctantly and concealing what he does from his sibling by pretending to visit friend Alec MacQuade, Benjamin heads to Edinburgh to ask an old hag Elspeth Campbell to help him.

    At the Ferguson gala, Alec escorts Caitrin while he arranges for Benjamin to take Elspeth. Caitrin recognizes Benjamin as the beast from her vision. When Elspeth's beloved grandfather dies, he is there for her. He learns the woman he seeks is her late mother. As they fall in love, each knows they must reveal their innermost secret; he as the wolf and she as the witch.

    The second Westfield Regency fantasy romance (see Ben's brother Simon in Certain Wolfish Charm) is an engaging tale that sub-genre readers will enjoy. The support is a powerful group with fans hoping for more stories especially that of Alec and Caitrin as well as the third Westfield sibling. The lead couple is a terrific pairing of star-crossed lovers summed up nicely by Ben's other brother Will when he muses her friends might burn his coach in a pique; as the question remains can a wolf and a witch dare to find happiness together?

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7