BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tallest of Smalls

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Max Lucado's The Tallest of Smalls

    When I first read Max Lucado's Fearless and learned about the people of Stiltsville, I thought it to be a rather amusing way of relating a serious issue. Imagine my surprise when I saw the illustration be turned into a children's book.

    Lucado's The Tallest of Smalls is a children's book that uses didactic poetry and beautiful, earth toned, illustrations to tell a story. The story is about the Stiltsvillians and their caste system; dividing their people between those with stilts and those without. It tells the story of a little boy named Ollie and his desire to be picked as one of those that receive a set of stilts. Only those citizens whose names are picked can receive their stilts. Otherwise, they are left on the ground with the others.

    One night Ollie's name is called to receive a pair of stilts. Once he was elevated on his stilts he began to learn that it was not as easy as he once thought it was. He experienced trouble and eventually fell of his stilts. When he was at his lowest and no one else was there to help, he is helped by Jesus and given some advice that changes his life.

    The Tallest of Smalls is a great book that helps children understand self-esteem and the love of Jesus. Lucado's book helps children understand that they do not have to fear what others might say. Because no matter if a child's peers do not pick them to play or consider them to be cool, there is always someone that loves us just for who we are and nothing more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    strongly recommend

    Enjoyed the way it was presented on the nook. Max does a great job with his children books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Good story, great message.

    I bought this book when I was looking for a gift for my godson's baptism. His mom said they had enough children's Bibles to last them a lifetime but that they'd appreciate some books based on the Bible. This was the first book I found at Barnes and Noble and I really think I was meant to find it. The main character's name is Ollie and so is my godson's! I mean, how many Ollies are there out there these days?!?! Not only that but I truly believe the message of the book. I hope when Ollie reads it (when he gets older), he will enjoy the fun cadence of the writing but that he will also understand how precious he is and that he matters to Jesus. I hope this book will be one of the tiny building blocks of his Christian faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Simple way to put a great message

    Max shows a great story here by explaining how we aspire to be what others are, and how when we finally get what we want it's not quite as we had planned - but when we learn to see ourselves the way Jesus does, we learn that we are much more valuable than we think. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    Fantastic Children's book!

    The Tallest of Smalls is a wonderful new children's book written by none other than Max Lucado!

    It is themed from the second chapter of his newly released book for adults: Fearless. This book offers an extremely important message to children... that even though they may feel "too small", "not good enough", or like they "don't fit in", we matter more than we could ever comprehend to God!

    The book is written in a fun rhyming style, reminiscent of the classic Dr. Seuss books, and is catchy and enjoyable in its rhythm. The illustrations are also fun and whimsical! This beautiful picture book is the perfect package to share the unconditional love of Jesus with children!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Tallest of the Smalls by Max Lucado, Thomas Nelson Publishers

    The Tallest of the Smalls
    authored by Max Lucado
    Thomas Nelson Publishers

    In Stiltsville, you either matter or you don't. And only those who matter get to choose who else will matter and be important. Ollie wants to be among those 'who matter'. He gets his wish and finds out that being one of the Tallest is not what he'd hoped. Great lesson for kids, and even adults.

    My seven-year-old and I really enjoyed The Tallest of the Smalls. Great story with a great lesson about our perspectives, our values, and in Whom we should filter those through. The only thing that stumbled us was the cadence being interrupted with a little tongue-twisting in some of the words used. Also, turning of the pages is another thing that broke the rhythm because of the way the text is written in verse. But overall, the story and takeaway, along with the beautiful illustrations make this book a winner in our house. We'll have fun rereading The Tallest of the Smalls. Kudos to author Max Lucado and illustrator Maria Monescillo.

    I'm thankful to Thomas Nelson Publishers for the complimentary copy of this book for review as a part of the Book Review Bloggers program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    When I learned I was going to be review for Thomas Nelson, I immediatley knew I wanted to pick a children's book. Moochie has been really into books lately. Mostly riping up the pages, but when she can't get a hold of them she loves to listen to me read and look at the pictures. I picked The Tallest of Smalls by Max Lucado, and it is Illustrated by Maria Monescillo. Max Lucado is a minister of writing and preaching for the Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, and has 3 daughters.
    The Tallest of Smalls by Max Lucado is a parable taken from his book Fearless. I really love this story. It sends a great massage that I think is very important that kids understand. It helps them understand that even if we are different, and don't feel like we fit in, they matter to the most important person in their lives like their parents, or whatever god you may be believe in.

    Ollie is the smallest of the too smalls, just waiting for his chance to be called upon for his pair of special stilts. The day finally comes and his name is called. But what Ollie doesn't know is having stilts isn't all it's cracked up to be. After birds start perching on him, he realizes he doensn't want the stilts, and walks home. Along his side is Jesus, who tells him that he doesn't need stilts to be special, he's special becuase he was made by god.



    What I love even more than the story is the illustrations. It's bright, colorful, and perfect for kids of any age. The font the story is written in is really fun too, it's different sizes and colors. That may keep some kids interested when learning to read. Most of the book also rhymes, making it a fun, intelligent read. Your kids will love this book, I gurantee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "The Tallest of Smalls" by Max Lucado

    "The Tallest of Smalls" by Max Lucado and Illustrated by Maria Monescillo is a marvel of a children's book. It takes place in its own little town that--albeit unusual--is not too far off for little ones to grasp. In Smallsville, the townspeople are tiny and await a time each day when they get the opportunity to be called to walk on stilts. A little boy named Ollie is short and imperfect. Those around him tend to look down upon him--both literally and physically. Then, one day, his name is called to walk on stilts. Everything feels stupendous as he perches upon those sticks and is tall for a bit. However, birds perch on him and make him lose his balance. When he falls, no one but Jesus helps him up or even seems to care. At the conclusion, Ollie realizes that he is fine as he is and that no status or elevation matters at all when compared to the everlasting love of God. The pictures aren't bad, either. ;)

    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/reviews/blogger/2503

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for your kids

    The first book I ever read by Max Lucado was "You Are Special" I enjoy that little book so much the meaning that was brought out in that book still with me today. Much like that book Max has done it again with his new book "The Tallest of Smalls". It is a parable take for Max's book "Fearless" that was release a few months ago.

    This book is geared toward young children and teaches them that they do not need to be part of the tall and mighty that God made them just the way they are for a reason. This book is very well done and the illustrations are wonderful. With Christmas only a few months away this book is a perfect gift.

    Thanks to Thomas Nelson Book Review for the free copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Feeling Tall!

    After reading Max Lucado's Fearless I was jumping at the chance to review his newest children's book, The Tallest of the smalls. On the first page Lucado asks parents, "What do you do when your child feels small and insignificant? What do you say to smooth hurt feelings? What does your child need from you?" The answer to those questions is on the pages of this book.

    In Stiltsville there are those that are low and those that aren't. Every day at the exact same time the lows are reminded of their position when 'they' come out and parade around on their stilts. In a show of superiority they choose one person from the lowly crowd to ".move up the ladder." Of course we all know that when you try to be something you're not or hold yourself to someone else's standards and judgments you are bound to fall. And when you fall in Stiltsville 'they' will be there to laugh and take away their good judgments. But their judgments don't matter, or God loves us and wants us to keep our feet on the ground.

    The book is beautifully illustrated by Maria Monescillo. I liked the simple, non-descript faces on the characters, the rich colors and seemingly textured clothing. Still the images didn't overpower the text and instead created a nice balance.

    I highly recommend this book. While reading it to my little ones they felt sorry for the main character Ollie before he got his stilts and they felt even worse when he fell back to the ground. By relating to Ollie I think it helped them to understand that Jesus is there for us and doesn't want us to make ourselves into someone else's image. We were made in his image and he loves us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1