Customer Reviews for

Talon: Combat Tracking Team

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    In Trinity we were introduced to Talon and Aspen. Talon is exper

    In Trinity we were introduced to Talon and Aspen. Talon is experiencing PSTD and is their only hope of finding Austin; Apen's twin who has been missing. Enter super spy Dane, who is determined to find Austin; but needs Talon to do so even if it means manipulating Aspen. You know the flashbacks of Dane's past are going to be important to his character and maybe his future. Aspen is your girl next door with enough determination to find her twin brother.

    Sparks continue to fly between Candyman and Kimbrel who have active scenes in Talon -- I cannot wait for their story in Beowolf!

    If you want more details, I included lines from some of my favorite scenes in my blog on More Than a Review. Bottom line - the book is well worth it!

    Ronie has once again created a series that keeps you on the edge of your seat rooting for our heroes both human and canine throughout the entire ride. WOOF

    I received a copy through Netgalley for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    ¿Her brother is missing, and her only chance of finding him lies

    “Her brother is missing, and her only chance of finding him lies with a combat dog that has lost his edge.”

    TalonAspen is sure her twin still lives – she would have known if he was dead. But her brother’s tracking dog, Talon, suffers from P.T.S.D. and quivers at the slightest noise. She’s about to go to her brother’s last known location by herself, with Talon along hopefully to help and not to tuck tail under and hide. As she’s readying for the trip, help appears from an unexpected quarter.

    Dane Markoski, a puzzling and enigmatic military intelligence agent, also wants to find Austin – he’s never lost an operative. He appears by “chance” to help Aspen, but he really only wants Talon – he’d never work with a woman. Should she trust the shadowy Dane? Is he friend – or foe? With them both putting misgivings aside, they finally join forces, but can be successful only if Talon can rise to his old state of competence.

    Full of twists and turns, this tale of a tail will have you troubled one moment and touched the next. Talon, the second of three novels in Ronie Kendig’s series on Military War Dogs, is as much a winner s the first, Trinity, was. Her third, Beowulf, will release soon. If you like action, adventure, romance, and most of all, dogs, you’ll want to buy the series. Ronie is one of my fave authors and will become one of yours, too, I’m certain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I had been dying to read Talon, the second book of the "A B

    I had been dying to read Talon, the second book of the "A Breed Apart" series, knowing it was going to be a great book! I was not disappointed! If you've read any of Ronie Kendigs' books, you know that they are hard to put down. This one was no different, I found myself reading at stop lights and while walking through the grocery store (not recommended lol). Kendig is not only super talented with words, but she does the research and knows her stuff. In this book you not only learn about the main characters present but also about their past. She gives you insights to why they act the way they do. I could not help but fall in love with them, and be rooting for them the whole time. If you like action, this book has plenty of it. I was on the edge of my seat dying to know what was going to happen next. Kendig also throws in plenty of suspense and just the right amount or romance. Get this book! You will not regret it! As a matter of fact, you better just buy the whole series... Trinity was awesome and I know Beowulf is going to be too. I have Beowulf sitting right here, and it's calling my name! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Diana

    Hehehe that's me on Xmas. I'll just keep eating til my sis tells me to stop eating sugar or I'll go insane. XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    GRIMM chapter 9 part 2

    ...The rooms seemed endless; everywhere I turned a doorway or staircase appeared. I can honestly say, that I was relieved to reach the dining room. <br> The dining room, despite its size, was surprisingly simple. The floor was hardwood and a wooden table sat atop it. Six chairs lay to each long side of the table and one was to be found at each head. <br> Quickly calculating, I turned to Peter, a look of puzzlement on my face, "there are only fourteen people in your army?" <br> He chuckled, "our ranks surpass one thousand without the blink of an eye; only our head officers dine here," glancing at me, he continued, "myself of course, the seven magicians, Snowabella, Prince Henry, Ozzie, Briar Rose, and the Fairy Queen." <br> "But, that's only thirteen," I went over the names in my mind, but ceased to find the last. <br> "Well of course; you make fourteen." <br> "Me?" I'm sure the shock showed on my face. <br> Who else did you think would be important enough to sit here? Renee (*authors note* Renee is pronounced Wren-ay)? The Piper?" He scoffed, "I should hope not." <br> Completely at a loss for whom he spoke of, I stared at him miffed, "but, I know nothing about leading an army..." <br> "I wouldn't expect you to," he grinned, "you'll learn." He winked, and I felt my face turning red against my will. <br> "Food is here!" A cheery call snapped up my attention. The food was, indeed, here, but it seemed to be floating. I stared at it in bewilderment before Peter pointed out that miniscule faeries (-authors note- fairy can be spelled multiple ways, I randomly picked one) were carrying the platters. Again, I felt my face burn up as he chuckled at my lack of perception. <br> "I'm guessing the Fae don't serve the food where you come from," he smirked. <br> "No," I rolled my eyes, "our dogs do it for us. They use their noses to push it around and everything." <br> "They do?" Suspicion flickered across his gaze. <br> "Sure," I smirked slightly. <br> "If yoy say so," he held out his plate to the passing faeries. Despite their size, the Fae bore the weight easily. They distributed generous portions of food onto the plate and then repeated the act with mine. <br> Recieving my laden plate back, I got my first good look at my meal. Everything was rich in color; golden potatoes lay next o forest green stalks of asparagus. White, fluffy bread was complemented witg a dark, crimson spread of some kind. It was almost beautiful. I did, however, quickly notice the lack of meat. There was a bit of what appeared to be a type of bird, but meat was void everywhere else. Deciding not to mention my interesting discovery (I had had my fill of confusion for the night) I dug into my meal. <br> Flavor exploded in my mouth and I quicklt discarded close to all self control. I gulped down mouthful after mouthful, hardly bothering to chew. It wasn't until I found myself licking the plate that I noticed the stares. Eight pairs of eyes, seven blue one green, were locked on me. <br> Blushing furiously, I set my plate and and smiled,"my dog never served anything like that." <p> Rate and review! Sry this took so long to come out! -Frozen_Over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Talon; by: Ronie Kendig Aspen needs to find her brother. Austin

    Talon; by: Ronie Kendig

    Aspen needs to find her brother. Austin was lost in Afghanistan eight months ago. Aspen doesn’t buy the notice from Marine HQ that he’s dead. No way. She’d know. But, what can she do?
    Dane has sworn he will never work with a woman again. It costs too much. He’s tired of being told by his superiors what to do and how to do it, where to go, and when. But quitting is no option right now. They own him.
    Talon is suffering. PTSD has taken its toll on the once top MWD. Aspen has given him a home and the space he needs to recover. Perhaps he can help her find Austin. Is he healed enough to handle going back?
    Walking into danger is what she chooses for herself and Talon. Is she asking too much? Is she risking too much? And where exactly is God in all of this?

    Ronie Kendig’s story, Talon will keep you on the edge of your seat, turning pages as quickly as you can read them. Ms. Kendig has a way of weaving a story together that lets you into the deepest part of the character’s lives while keeping the adrenaline pumping. If you enjoy drama, action, mystery or all of the above you’ll love this book.

    Talon
    By: Ronie Kendig
    US $12.99
    ISBN 978-1-61626-601-1

    Reviewed by: Mary Bell Foster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Finally, a decent suspense thriller without the gore

    Just what I was looking for! Great story. High-packed action. Couldn't put it down. Sad to see it end. But set up for the next in a series. Plenty of bad language, violence, if you like that sort of thing, but it was all impled. Something you'd be willing to hand off to your grandmother. Hey, what am I saying?! I am your grandmother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Non-stop action and sizzling chemistry best describe the experie

    Non-stop action and sizzling chemistry best describe the experience of reading Talon! The suspense scenes make your heart beat faster, and I'm not quite sure how once again Kendig is able to create such intense chemistry between her hero and heroine. She describes how the characters simply look at each other with skill, so that you feel like you are actually there watching their romance develop in person. Yet, the book is not just about a romance relationship. Kendig has definitely researched her topic, and her knowledge of military practices really enhance the suspense scenes, and the plot is interesting and keeps the reader turning page after page. Just like with Trinity, the first book in this series, I was drawn in by the idea of a war dog being one of the main characters. This is the first series I've ever read that uses that particular theme. Thanks again to Ronie Kendig for creating a memorable, enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Talon by Ronie Kendig is packed full of adventure. This is a new

    Talon by Ronie Kendig is packed full of adventure. This is a new genre and author for me, but I will be reading more by this author. First up will be Trinity, book #1 in the A Breed Apart Series, which introduces the reader to the world of military war dogs.
    The suspense, romance and danger kept me reading long after I should have been asleep. With the unforgettable characters of Cardinal, Aspen and the &quot;star&quot; of the book Talon, this is a book and series for men as well as women and sure the please both.
    I give Talon a 5++ rating.

    I received this book from Net Galley and Barbour Publishing for my honest review and was not paid in any way for the review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great Read

    A great book that was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ronie Kendig, in her new book, "Talon: Combat Tracking Team

    Ronie Kendig, in her new book, &quot;Talon: Combat Tracking Team&quot; Book Two in the A Breed Apart series published by Barbour Publishing takes us on a thrilling adventure with Aspen Courtland and her military war dog, Talon.




    From the back cover: Her brother is missing. And her only chance of finding him lies with a combat dog that has lost his edge.




    All Air Force veteran Aspen Courtland wants is her brother back.




    The US Marine Corps says he's dead, but Aspen won't believe it till she sees his body. Her only hope is her brother's tracking dog, Talon, but a brutal attack has left the dog afraid of his own shadow.




    The truth is something Military Intelligence Operative Dane Markoski has never faced. But now it's the only thing, along with Talon's help, that can save him. But working with Talon means teaming up with Aspen as well, and Dane swore he'd never work a woman.




    Eventually they join forces to battle the elements and extremists. But if Talon can't rise up to his former glory for one last mission, the only outcome for all three will be game over.




    The A Breed Apart series just keeps getting better. I thought the first book was exciting wow, this book is even more so. I think that this is Ms. Kendig's best book yet. Get ready for a high-speed adventure that involves a rescue mission in enemy territory. This is a thriller as all the heroes lives, including Talon, are in great peril. On top of everything &quot;Talon: Combat Tracking Team&quot; is also a romance. Nail biting suspense, rugged enemy territory and a dog that may not be up to the mission all combine to create a wonderful page turner that will keep you up late at night. I think you are really going to enjoy this one. And I am looking forward to the next book in this series with enthusiasm. Well Done!




    If you missed the interview for &quot;Nightshade&quot;, of the previous series, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: &quot;Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    Less Romance, more Suspense Though Talon is still, basically

    Less Romance, more Suspense




    Though Talon is still, basically, Christian romantic suspense, it is heavier on the suspense than the romance. The characters spend more time attempting to unravel the mystery, and the Talon’s skills are less of a priority. The story has several plot lines running throughout giving the story a full and interesting feel. This is definitely a book that has enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the end. I will admit that I love dogs, and the efforts of the Military War Dogs and their handlers fascinates me, but I don’t think I’m too prejudiced. I enjoyed the book very much. If you prefer your books to be heavy on the suspense, with a twist of romance, you will enjoy Talon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Book 2 in The Breed Apart series is just another example of Roni

    Book 2 in The Breed Apart series is just another example of Ronie's devotion to our military. While I recommend reading Trinity (book 1) because it's good, Talon can be read as a stand-alone.




    Ronie is now on my short list of favorite authors. I read Talon in one day. I couldn't not. I wasn't feeling well, so I had a good excuse to stay in bed and devour this novel, and devour it I did, stopping only for the absolute necessities.




    Talon is another outstanding book full of suspense, danger, and love.




    I can hardly wait for Beowulf. January is so far away. :)




    ***I received this book from the author/publisher for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Whew! Since Ronie Kendig burst onto the scene a few years ago wi

    Whew! Since Ronie Kendig burst onto the scene a few years ago with her first Rapid-Fire Fiction military suspense novel, Christian fiction hasn't been the same. And that's a very good thing! The second book of her A Breed Apart series (I reviewed the first book, Trinity here), Talon, is a boots-to-the-pavement, no-holds-barred adventure that will fully engage your senses and leave you breathless. While plenty of adrenaline-laced, heart-stopping action with grenades and bullets flying will satisfy the most ardent fans of military fiction, lovers of intricate plots and masterful character portrayals will be equally captivated by the many layers of intrigue, suspense, and even romance. An expert wordsmith, Kendig's keen abilities to depict the many elements of a scene (physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual) while maintaining the rapid-fire pace made this book impossible to put down. Dane and Aspen are both stars in their own right in this novel, but the real hero is Talon, as Kendig's quest to honor the often unknown and unsung heroes of our miltary forces shines the spotlight on this incredible military working dog. I don't even like dogs but Ronie Kendig has made me a fan of Talon! This is her best novel yet, which is quite an accomplishment considering the awards she's received for her previous books. I predict this will be another award-winner; don't miss it!












    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from Ronie Kendig and Barbour Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    One thing that tells what I think of Ronie's books is that I pur

    One thing that tells what I think of Ronie's books is that I purchased Talon. I rely primarily on the library, but just didn't want to wait to read this installment of her A Breed Apart series. I wasn't disappointed. We had met Apsen and Talon in Trinity, both have been through a lot with the disappearance/death of Aspen's twin Austin. Aspen just can't accept how the disappearance was handled and believes he may still be alive, if she can just find a way to look for him. This is when Dane enters the picture. He provides a way, but her best friend Timbrel doesn't trust him. There seen to be to many secrets. You want and need to keep reading to see why he and things are. It was a fantastic read and based on the interactions between Timbrel and Candyman I look forward to their story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I loved this book! Talon: Combat Tracking Team was great, just l

    I loved this book! Talon: Combat Tracking Team was great, just like Trinity.

    It had all the things that make a good story (at least according to me): action, adventure, romance, suspense and comedy.

    It was fun getting to know Talon and Aspen better along with Timbrel and Candyman (can't wait for their story). I liked how Ronie developed Talon and Aspen's relationship and managed to incorporate Dane into that group as well.

    The story pulled me in and held me right up until the last page. I for one highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1