Customer Reviews for

Tamarack County (Cork O'Connor Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Cork O'Connor novels. WIlliam Kent Krueger is clearly one

    I love Cork O'Connor novels. WIlliam Kent Krueger is clearly one of my favorite authors. Tamarack County is another great book in the Cork O'Connor series. You can practically feel the chill of the winter in this story. It is full of may plot twists and the mystery is balanced by a wonderful view of O'Connor's family life. High marks!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Tamarack County, Minnesota is the gateway to the pristine

    "Tamarack County, Minnesota is the gateway to the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Within its borders lie a million acres of deep forest, a thousand crystal clear lakes, and a few quiet towns. Nobody builds fences in Tamarack County. It's not the neighborly thing to do. This is the place that, for most of his life, Cork O'Connor has called home.

    During a blizzard one bitter winter night, just days before Christmas, the car belonging to the wife of a retired local judge is discovered abandoned on a rural county road. The gas gauge reads empty. Judge Carter's wife is seventy years old and has a bad heart. After days of fruitless effort, the Search and Rescue team has little hope that she'll be fhound alive, if she's found at all. Cork O'Connor is part of that team. "(excerpt from inside cover).

    New York Times Best Selling author, William Kent Krueger once again takes the lead into launching the reader into another compelling murder mystery surrounded by deep forests and great spirits from the Anishinaabeg people who live there. While it all seems to surround the same premise of another crime that came to Tamarack County a few years ago, Cork is convinced this one is different. The dots don't seem to offer up any logical clues to motive that would point to a possible criminal. It seems unrelated until it begins to draw closer to Cork personally. It is possible that the sins that were committed long ago have begun to resurface in hopes of finding not only justice but to bring about the innocent after all these long years?

    I received Tamarack County by William Kent Krueger compliments of Atria Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. This novel does contain some profanity and sexual content and thus the reason for my rating of 4 out of 5 stars based on my own review standards. The storyline however is moving, compelling and drew me deeper into the heart of what makes this such a great novel. The character development is amazing and loved the mystery surrounding the Native American tribes that live in Tamarack County. I love how appreciate the land and the living things that dwell within it. I think combining those elements added a level you don't find in most murder mystery novels and for me this is what really sold me on the novel. I would love to have spent more time with the character of Henry and gotten to know a bit more about him. He is the wise Native American sage that the characters ultimately turn to when things get personal. Overall, a wonderful novel for murder mystery fans everywhere.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Murders, children coming back home, folks getting run off the ro

    Murders, children coming back home, folks getting run off the road, revenge for a 20-year-old murder, and many unusual things happening in the bitter cold county of Tamarack in Northern Minnesota.

    What was happening in this town that usually was a quiet place to be? No one knew the answer, and the police had no clue either. Even Cork, a retired deputy sheriff, was called in for the investigation that he was more involved with than he knew.

    Cork O’Connor wasn't aware that his family would be involved and that part of his family was changing. Cork is a character you would personally want as a friend. He is a great father as well as a dedicated law man.

    TAMARACK COUNTY is the second book I have read by Mr. Krueger. It is quite different from ORDINARY GRACE, but still beautifully detailed and written.

    Mr. Krueger's characters are always an interesting lot. I enjoyed learning about the Indian traditions and a few Indian words. The landscape descriptions were amazing, but I wouldn't want to live in that cold climate, though, which seemed to be a major theme.

    TAMARACK COUNTY definitely kept my attention with a good storyline but a storyline that wasn't gripping until the last half of the book when things did heat up in those freezing temperatures as the mystery unraveled as well as the history of the characters.

    The characters were well developed, authentic, and very plausible. TAMARACK COUNTY is a book about community and family all working together for the good of each other.

    TAMARACK COUNTY has religious and philosophical themes as subplots.

    A quote from page 205 is quite meaningful and something I believe needs to be shared:

    “Anger, hate, jealousy envy, fear. Fill your pockets with these heavy stones and you spend your life trying not to drown. Throw them away, and you float."

    I hope you get to read this book. It was thought provoking, introspective, and will hold your interest. I enjoyed it. 4/5

    This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Excellent!

    Once a Cork O'Connor fan, forever it will be. Great story to continue this line. Can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Another winner by William Kent Krueger! I read it in one day. Th

    Another winner by William Kent Krueger!
    I read it in one day. The story moves swiftly and puts the reader right in the middle of the action.
    Included in the novel are the stressors of life today and a good dose of Native American culture.
    Tamarack County joins the other Cork O'Connor stories on my bookshelf!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Excellent read.

    This is the first book I've read in this series. The book was excellent, and I plan to read the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I love the stories and the family. I love the twists and turns

    I love the stories and the family. I love the twists and turns in his books. He has been added to my list of all time favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Great Read

    Like all his books the descritions are vivid and the mystery always intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    A well written tale involving the O'Connor family

    This novel begins with a reflection on the events that start a process of reflection within the O'Connor family. The senseless death of the wife of a retired cremudgen judge near the Christmas holidays. Anne comes home genuinely shaken to the point of loosing her sense of purpose and Cork now a member of Tamarack County's search and rescue team must wait for his daughter to resolve her issues while he and other try to find Evelyn.
    The story twists through to the fruitless search for the body of Evelyn, her twisted logic killer and his actions as they affect the O'Connor family.
    Finally, we have to recoginize that even someone who has renounced the use of guns and blood can be pushed to brink of righteous murder and has to have someone stop the rage, Anne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Tamarack county

    I found this book to be below standard when compared to other mystery writers. Endless descriptions of people and places that went nowhere, very weak plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Skylar

    -my clothes fall to the ground as i step in the shower-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Connor

    Ma dad says sorreh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Downloaded book. Page numbers only -- no text! What gives?

    Can't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Reedheart and etc.

    "Well if you are gonna take in the Orginial Ambehstah....you should take in one of the orginial members of her clan also....:D"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Lightkit

    She pads in. "Hi."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    :D

    'Hyacinth' res 2 & 3! Bios res 1 and rules res 4!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Never joining here.

    You are a copy cat! Get out of rp!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Arcticstar圄

    Oh! Okay, thanks. And yeah, that is annoying. &#22276

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Eaglefeather

    The golden-brown tom padded in. "Calm down. No need to quarrel." He mewed, flicking his tail.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4