Customer Reviews for

Taming Her Forbidden Earl

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I loved this book! The intrigue kept me turning pages right up t

    I loved this book! The intrigue kept me turning pages right up to the last page. Loved the history of the London docks, the naughtiness of the heroine, and the story of how she conquered her reluctant man. Can't wait to read the other Lady Lancaster Garden Society books! Keep them coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Love this!

    Love this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Excellent

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    enjoyed

    will read again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Catherine Hemmerling Published By: Entangled Published: Scan

    By: Catherine Hemmerling
    Published By: Entangled Published: Scandalous
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Lady Lancaster Garden Society #1
    Review:

    "Taming Her Forbidden Earl" by Catherine Hemmerling was a good historic romantic mystery read that was the first from this series: Lady Lancaster Garden Society #1. I loved the suspense in the good romantic mystery, The characters were so well developed and this style of writing(language) that this author used for this historical time was very good. This was definitely one of those reads that you will have it all wrapped up...'espionage, historical romance and the strong and intelligent women.' We must remember at this time in the Regency London historical time....during the 'Garden Society'.....
    "Women were not allowed to read, or even see, touch, or buy a book.
    -People of the ton had maids and butlers at all times to be at their service. They even need assistance taking a bath and putting on their clothes and combing their hair! Hah! -Two people of the opposite sex walking in public without a chaperon (maid or otherwise) must be married immediately!" Now, moving on to the romance part in this read which doesn't really come into play much until the end of the read. This will be where I will say you must pick up the good read to see completely what this read is all about. It does get even better toward the ending. Were women allowed to do that? If you are interested in historical novels I would recommend this one and it may even put a smile on your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I don't often read Historical Romance these days, but I was a hu

    I don't often read Historical Romance these days, but I was a huge fan of the genre several years ago. I love the detail given to the setting, the dialogue, the character's mannerisms and dress. To be able to step back in time, at least into these circumstances with the often pleasant lifestyle, is a nice escape.

    Taming Her Forbidden Earl was a light, pleasant read for me. What made this story stand out was the women. Lady Lancaster's Garden Society is a group of young, smart, and charming women, lead by Lady Lancaster. These women work to solve crimes, using their gender to fly under the radar. This aspect to the story was excellent, but there is very little back story to go on. We're told very briefly about the purpose of the group, and the members, but I felt that it could have been explained a little better.

    I did like Taming Her Forbidden Earl, and it's main characters. Hannah and William are the typical hero and heroine of stories such as these. He is an affluent man who is also a confirmed bachelor. He doesn't want to marry, but he certainly loves to bed the willing women around him. William was kind, and I love that. It's hard for me to love a "rake" who is also an ass. Hannah was a pleasant and endearing heroine. Being a member of The Garden Society, she is obviously smart and resourceful. She is also super quick to fall in love, basically the first time William speaks to her she has fallen. But, this nitpickiness (?) is simply my issue, and does ring true to society in the 1800s.


    Overall, I would say that I liked Taming Her Forbidden Earl. It was a quick read that often made me smile. I am definitely on board to read about the other ladies of Lady Lancaster's Garden Society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I love h

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

    I love historical romance with spies. Having spies in a period where there was no technology to aid them makes a historical romance much more interesting. There's more a potential for more mystery, suspense and action. The only downside is that most of the spying is done by the men due to the time period. It's difficult to find a book where the heroine does the spy work without it sounding utterly ridiculous.

    Taming Her Forbidden Earl is a rather short but fun story where the women do all the fact finding while still maintaining their (somewhat) spotless reputations. It's tough for a gently bred lady to gather information without breaking the strict rules of society. That's where Lady Lancaster's Garden Society comes in. On the surface they may appear as proper, delicate flowers but in reality they spend their free time ferreting out secrets and solving mysteries.

    Lady Hannah is a strong character to start what will eventually become a series, with each lady from the Garden Society taking the lead in solving mysteries and finding love. Hannah is a survivor, she can blend in with all the other ladies of English society, but she can also ferret out information without breaking a sweat! She's confident, even when faced with a questionable character like Lord Collicott Shrewsbury (who's name made me giggle).

    Enter the hero, William Bredon, Earl of Pembroke. Well, he's more of a reluctant hero, he saves Lady Hannah from an unwanted advance, whisks her away to dance and is immediately attracted to her intelligence and sense of humor. He's sworn off marriage until he needs an heir out of fear that he will end up like his abusive father so his attraction to Hannah is most unwelcome.

    Taming Her Forbidden Earl takes it easy on the romance at first, there are just hints and sparks of attraction between Hannah and William, the mystery and intrigue takes precedence almost throughout the whole book. It isn't until the last chapters that William and Hannah act on that attraction. The pacing is quite brisk but what can you expect from a romance novel that incorporates espionage? It would be very boring if there were too many details instead of more action.

    While Taming Her Forbidden Earl is William and Hannah's story, author Catherine Hemmerling gives readers sneak peeks into the other members of the Garden Society's personalities. Each young lady has at least one unique trait that makes her invaluable to the group of "Lady Spies" and each one promises to be very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    TAMING HER FORBIDDEN EARL by Catherine Hemmerling is an exciting

    TAMING HER FORBIDDEN EARL by Catherine Hemmerling is an exciting historical romance/mystery set in Regency London.First in the "Lady Lancaster Garden Society" series.Fast paced,filled with danger,a bit of intrigue, romance and love. Follow,Lady Hannah Rochester,a member of the Garden Society,and William Bredon, the Earl of Pembroke as they navigate danger,their attraction and deception. When a Lord is determined to ruin not only Lady Hannah's life but the life and wellfare of her brother and the Earl's brother. Enter, the Garden Society ladies as they and the Earl of Pembroke try to stop disaster and scandal. "Taming Her Forbidden" has strong characters,realistic exceptions,and an intriguing plot. I can hardly wait to see what is next for these young ladies and their counterparts. A must read for anyone who enjoys Regency,historical romance, danger,romance with a twist or two. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details may be found at the author's website,Entangled Publishers,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1