Customer Reviews for

Taming Me: Memoir of a Clever Island Cat

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book about Lucy Miracle, a feral cat on a Bahama Is

I loved this book about Lucy Miracle, a feral cat on a Bahama Island. The author did an excellent job of telling Lucy's story in her (Lucy's) own words and thoughts. It would be a great read for anyone, cat lover or not.

posted by alycemcc on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cat lovers will love this story

The writing isn't of the same quality as, say, Homer's Odyssey, but this is an intriguing, true cat story told from the cat's point of view. Enough twists and turns to hold the interest and the heart of any diehard cat lover. The ending is altogether satisfying on sev...
The writing isn't of the same quality as, say, Homer's Odyssey, but this is an intriguing, true cat story told from the cat's point of view. Enough twists and turns to hold the interest and the heart of any diehard cat lover. The ending is altogether satisfying on several levels. If you love to read about cats, especially stories about real cats, you will enjoy this book. It's a 4 and a half star cat story told by a 2 and a half star writer.

posted by SallyGK on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I loved this book about Lucy Miracle, a feral cat on a Bahama Is

    I loved this book about Lucy Miracle, a feral cat on a Bahama Island. The author did an excellent job of telling Lucy's story in her (Lucy's) own words and thoughts. It would be a great read for anyone, cat lover or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This is a wonderful story, written from the cat's point of view,

    This is a wonderful story, written from the cat's point of view, about a giving and caring couple that decided to give life and hope to some feral cats on a beautiful tropical island. "Taming Me" is about one of them, Lucy Miracle, and how she saw her life, and humans, before Cathy came along. The story begins with sadness, malnourishment and hopelessness and develops into happiness, love and trust as Lucy learns to become part of her ultra-civilized new home and family. This is a story about how one or two caring and devoted people can change the lives not only of some beautiful and loving stray cats, but of the many, many people they have inspired along the way. This is a book to buy in bulk...one for each grandchild, please. And one for the nice lady down the street, and one for the guy at the office tat needs to gain a different perspective on things. This is a truly enriching book. Buy it. You won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    I just finished reading this book and absolutely loved it! I fo

    I just finished reading this book and absolutely loved it! I found it hard to put down. Lucy's story is very compelling and the author did a great job of being Lucy's voice. I am not an animal person, but I can see that there are humane ways of treating animals, with love and compassion. By doing so, we all win. Thank you to the author for not only telling a great story, but also educating us about feral cats! Can't wait to read the sequels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    This is one of those books you want more of.  It's for "cat

    This is one of those books you want more of.  It's for "cat people," yes, but it's also a full of suspense and lots of up and down emotions.  Lovingly told and beautifully written.  Sequels, please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Cat lovers will love this story

    The writing isn't of the same quality as, say, Homer's Odyssey, but this is an intriguing, true cat story told from the cat's point of view. Enough twists and turns to hold the interest and the heart of any diehard cat lover. The ending is altogether satisfying on several levels. If you love to read about cats, especially stories about real cats, you will enjoy this book. It's a 4 and a half star cat story told by a 2 and a half star writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    This story is a page turner! Told in the voice of a feral kitte

    This story is a page turner! Told in the voice of a feral kitten, it allows a view of life as a feral animal and the struggle for survival, as well as the tension in relationships with humans. It is thought provoking and will make you laugh, cheer and cry. Great read for a day at the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    Great Read!

    I loved the book! It took me right in. I was laughing at some parts and on the edge of my seat during others. It was sweet and at times scary. One of those books that you hate to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I loved how this was written from the view of the cat. Not only was it a heart warming story, but it also included true facts about feral cats. Be prepared to laugh and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Taming Me is an easy read and provides the reader with a rollerc

    Taming Me is an easy read and provides the reader with a rollercoaster of emotions throughout the story. I found myself holding my breath in spots and reading with anticipation with each of Lucy Miracle's adventures. Any animal lover will enjoy this book, cheer the cause and rally against the injustices of society towards defenseless animals throughout the world. Cathy has a huge heart for both animals and humankind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I really Loved the Book.About Lucy Miracle. As I Love Cats. I g

    I really Loved the Book.About Lucy Miracle. As I Love Cats. I got to meet Lucy Miracle Cathy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I think of cats as curious, not clever. Too much page filler, f

    I think of cats as curious, not clever. Too much page filler, for this feline lover. But what concerns me most, is how overweight the cat has become. Overcompensating is not healthy, and not the right message to send to anyone. A memoir? That's a bit of a stretch. A disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    "Taming Me" is a delightful story that showcases the d

    "Taming Me" is a delightful story that showcases the deep bonds that can form between an animal and a human - Lucy Miracle's story is about trust, patience, courage, passion and dedication...Darcie is a truly remarkable person who just refuses to let the status of the Island's feral cats remain tenuous and fraught with danger...her deeply held conviction that all creatures should be treated with respect compel her to make a difference in their lives - and that she does! Nothing and no one will stand in her way. Bravo Darcie - I commend you for your passion and for making a difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    I absolutely loved Taming Me! I felt a variety of emotions when

    I absolutely loved Taming Me! I felt a variety of emotions when reading about Lucy's adventures, from joy of her free-spirited and determined attitude, to tears and feelings of revenge during some of her plights. This is a must read for all animal lovers – not just friends of felines.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    This is a beautifully written story that touched me on many leve

    This is a beautifully written story that touched me on many levels. It is told by Lucy (a cat) about her life, but it holds so much more meaning. Ms Unruh has captured the people-to-people and people-to-animal relationships that young and old can learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I loved this book!  Lucy's story is both heartwarming and thrill

    I loved this book!  Lucy's story is both heartwarming and thrilling- many twists and turns, as well as tears!  The author does a nice job of imagining Lucy's thoughts and feelings.  The imagery of the island is so lovely- I wish I could visit!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Lucy's journey from feral cat to pampered house pet leaves you w

    Lucy's journey from feral cat to pampered house pet leaves you wanting more. Can't wait for the sequel! Added to that, the truth about the success of TNVR makes this book not only entertaining but enlightening. For a first time author, Unruh has nailed it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1