Customer Reviews for

The Taming of the Wolf

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Great Read

    I knew the sparks were going to fly fast and furious when I found out who Dash actually bit and married. I expected a tumultuous courtship and it was even more fun that I'd hoped.

    Dashiel Thorpe is more than a man but views himself as a monster. If a reader met him in the previous book, The Wolf Next Door, then he'll be expected to be a bad guy; a rounder and a villain of the first water. If a reader has not met him before, then this book will depict him as he really is - a misunderstood, unloved and tormented man who only wants to belong but is angry and afraid of the world all at the same time. He's angry because he's different and he's afraid because he doesn't really want to hurt anyone but is sure it can't be helped. Despite all he's done and all that he's been through, Dash really is like a Baby Ruth candy bar: Outside he's all rough and bumpy but inside there's a whole lot of sweetness that makes a reader just sigh in satisfaction. He is worth having a happy ever after, but he's going to have to work at it. He's a bit rusty and makes a lot of mistakes but that is what made me like him so much. He has this vulnerability about him that he tries to mask with the noble bearing that is inherently his, despite the nasty way his father treated him. There is a lot of pain in Dash's life and as the story progresses a reader understands the scope of what he's burdened with and it makes his loving Caitrin all the more special and powerful.

    Caitrin is an absolute doll. I always liked her character in the previous books because she is opinionated, feisty and doesn't take guff from anyone. On the other hand, if she's wrong, she'll admit it. She's a strong personality with a stern inner core yet despite that resolve, she is also very tenderhearted, loyal and brave. She's brave because going into crowded places hurts her, yet she does what she has to. She's loyal to her sisters and friends and has their back. And her tenderheartedness comes into play not only with Dash but with someone else making the happily ever after sort of bittersweet. She's a special lady whose fortitude is tested time and time again. The only person who can sway her and make her act a little silly and wanton is Dash and that made for some very fun and interesting interludes. I was so glad to see Cait getting her own man because she was a very influential character in the other books and I felt I'd gotten to know her enough that it was inevitable she'd have a chance at her own happiness.

    What I didn't expect was to see Alec again. Oh, that broke my heart. I liked him previously in the series and I liked him more now. I'm thrilled that he is a character I'll see again. This book pretty much guaranteed that, and I couldn't be happier. But it's also foreshadowed that it won't be easy. Something else is going to happen, a new element is introduced with a very light and teasing touch - but I caught it and am very intrigued. I wonder if other readers are getting the same idea I am.

    As I said, secondary characters play important roles in this book plus I got to see Elspeth again, who is a very dear friend of Caitrin's. I really enjoy when authors do that in a series, it's like visiting family again and catching up on the news. It's one of the reasons why this series stays on my keeper shelf; this book is no different.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved

    This was a great series! I'm really sad it's over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Sexy Lycans, witches, and the Ton in Regency England!

    What's not to like?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great Book

    I really enjoy this book. Will read others books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read

    Could not put this book down, Mrs Dare did it yet again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Love this whole series

    Worthwhile read. Kept my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hunky Lycan

    Best book of the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Fabulous series!

    After finishing the last book in this series, The Wolf Next Door, I didn't think I'd like the hero or heroine in The Taming of the Wolf. I'll admit it - I was wrong - Lydia Dare does it again! I think you know I'm a huge fan of this series, and this book did not disappoint; this is my 2nd favorite book in the series (A Certain Wolfish Charm is still my fave).

    The story: While wandering the Westfield's castle, unable to sleep, Caitlin Macleod wanders into the study to find her book. She knows she must stay in the house because it is a full moon, and the Lycan family she is staying with has impressed upon her that it is safer that way.

    Unbeknownst to her, someone is in the study - Dashiel Thorpe, Earl of Brimsworth. Dash is also a Lycan, although he has an unpleasant history with the Westfield family, and they are holding him in the study until they can decide what to do with him. Dash is immediately attracted to Cait, and kisses her...then bites her! She runs off and he's confused about why he just did that. Long story short, he claimed her! He's got to convince her to marry him or he will be alone the rest of his life until one of them dies.

    Cait is a witch who sees the future of the people around her. She didn't want her best friend and fellow witch to marry a Lycan, and she certainly is not interested in this Lycan for herself. But he calms her, and when she touches him she gets a reprieve from all the future images that constantly bombard her when she's around people. And she did enjoy that kiss....

    My thoughts: Loved it! Dash had such a sad history, he didn't know he was a Lycan until just a few days before this book takes place, he thought he was a monster. I felt sympathy for him and he was so sweet and vulnerable underneath that Alpha demeanor. (And he growls alot - yum!) Cait was stubborn and witchy - I laughed when she tricked him into drinking a sleep draught :)

    There's a not-quite love triangle going on. Alec McQuarrie is still pursuing Cait, even though she's told him he's not in her future he refuses to give up. Dash and Alec butt heads a few times, and Cait just rolls her eyes. And when Dash and Cait get to Scotland and another suitor comes out - poor Dash! I loved it! Also loved the book Cait picked up at the beginning of the story - poor Dash just can't catch a break, haha!

    So, in summary, great story, fun characters, sweet romance. What's not to love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book of the series caught my interest. Loved it so much i bought the bundle trilogy. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    A DELIGHTFUL REGENCY PARANORMAL ROMANCE!

    THE TAMING OF THE WOLF by Lydia Dare is a delightful paranormal romance set in 1817 Scotland.It is the fourth in the Westfield Brothers trilogy and can be read as a stand alone. Although, this one is about Dashiel Thorpe. An outsider, who doesn't know how to be a Lycan or how to control it,so he gets into trouble.It is well written with depth,details,twists,turns,full of action and fast paced. It has romance, vulnerability,sensuality, love,
    family,wit,magic,Lycans,witches, living with ones self, finding your mate,compassion,and lust. The characters are full of life,enchanting,sexy, lust and all around inspiring. The hero, Dashiel, is a Lycan, sexy,trouble, vulnerable,trying to control the wolf inside, been mocked, hidden, and abused by his so called Father. The heroine, Caitrin, is beautiful, stubborn, a witch,a Scottish country lass, has powerful magic (sees the future of everyone around her except this Lycan), her best friend is married to a Lycan and she never saw Dash coming. Sparks fly when first they meet, including Dash marking her as his own. Dash, did not realize what he was doing when he bite Caitrin,marking her as his own. Caitrin, runs back to Scotland. Dash determined to control his enter Lycan, asks for help and is sent to Scotland to a mentor. Following Caitrin, he finds he is attracted to her as she is to him. Together, they learn to love, trust and their are truly mates for life. I would highly recommend this fun, witty, paranormal wolfish romance, especially if you enjoy some serious sparks, true love, wit, and a really great read. If you have not read Book One, " A Certain Wolfish Charm" Book Two " Tall, Dark, and Wolfish" and Book Three " The Wolf Next Door". I would also suggest these as they are also wonderful reads. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Sourcebooks Casablanca, an imprint of Sourcebooks and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely worth reading.

    This book made me laugh out loud more than once! Dash's single minded pursuit of Cait is what made this book really stand out. I imagine most women would like to be pursued like this just once in their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10