Customer Reviews for

Taming the Highland Bride

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

entertaining Highlander amateur sleuth romance

Since her mother died six years, Merewen "Merry" Stewart has been the chatelaine for her family. However, her biggest mission is dealing with her always angry intoxicated father and brothers. Watching them, she pledges to herself she will not marry a drunk.

Her bet...
Since her mother died six years, Merewen "Merry" Stewart has been the chatelaine for her family. However, her biggest mission is dealing with her always angry intoxicated father and brothers. Watching them, she pledges to herself she will not marry a drunk.

Her betrothed Alex d'Aumesberry sends for her. However, when she arrives she finds him as incapacitated with drink as her family. Merry is unaware that the blacksmith got his lord intoxicated in order to pull a bad tooth. When she sees him wake up every day with a hangover, Merry rejects marriage to Alex as she refuses to leave one set of drunks for another. However, he is kind to her and others and she realizes she never sees him imbibe. Merry soon believes someone with close access to Alex is trying to kill him; she investigates.

This is an entertaining Highlander amateur sleuth romance starring a strong women and the beleaguered man she is supposed to wed. The fast-paced story line is owned by courageous Merry who refuses to go from the frying pan into the fire, but soon realizes something's afoot. Fans will relish this enjoyable historical romantic whodunit.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review of Taming of the Highland Bride

Can't say that this was my favorite book--was really mediocre. The plot was okay, the writting style was okay. Don't think I'll recommend this to anyone, in fact if I had this in hard copy instead of e-book I would sell it to get some of my money back.

I've read Lyn...
Can't say that this was my favorite book--was really mediocre. The plot was okay, the writting style was okay. Don't think I'll recommend this to anyone, in fact if I had this in hard copy instead of e-book I would sell it to get some of my money back.

I've read Lynsay Sands's vampire series but really grew tired of the same plot line reapeated so many times and have read some of her historical romances before but I think this has solified that she is not the writer for me. Sorry Lynsay!

posted by Tam79 on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining Highlander amateur sleuth romance

    Since her mother died six years, Merewen "Merry" Stewart has been the chatelaine for her family. However, her biggest mission is dealing with her always angry intoxicated father and brothers. Watching them, she pledges to herself she will not marry a drunk.

    Her betrothed Alex d'Aumesberry sends for her. However, when she arrives she finds him as incapacitated with drink as her family. Merry is unaware that the blacksmith got his lord intoxicated in order to pull a bad tooth. When she sees him wake up every day with a hangover, Merry rejects marriage to Alex as she refuses to leave one set of drunks for another. However, he is kind to her and others and she realizes she never sees him imbibe. Merry soon believes someone with close access to Alex is trying to kill him; she investigates.

    This is an entertaining Highlander amateur sleuth romance starring a strong women and the beleaguered man she is supposed to wed. The fast-paced story line is owned by courageous Merry who refuses to go from the frying pan into the fire, but soon realizes something's afoot. Fans will relish this enjoyable historical romantic whodunit.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Review of Taming of the Highland Bride

    Can't say that this was my favorite book--was really mediocre. The plot was okay, the writting style was okay. Don't think I'll recommend this to anyone, in fact if I had this in hard copy instead of e-book I would sell it to get some of my money back.

    I've read Lynsay Sands's vampire series but really grew tired of the same plot line reapeated so many times and have read some of her historical romances before but I think this has solified that she is not the writer for me. Sorry Lynsay!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I love this Author! I have laughed at every book. Please keep these coming and slow down on the "vampires books". Thanks for a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Favorite of trilogy

    To get the full effect, please read the two other books in the trilogy. This is my personal favorite because of its addressing the challenges of alcoholism, trust, and transformative nature of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    I love lynsay sands

    This the fourth book I have read of Lynsays. I loved all of them! The thing I love the most about her books is they make me laugh out loud.They have all been really good stories that keep my interest.I have read alot af books all kinds and tons of Highland romance her books are the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Obnoxious Heroine...............................................

    Obnoxious Heroine.......................................................



    She arives at her betroths castle and finds her intended about to pass put drunk. He actually was only drinking because he needed a tooth pulled---but she assumes he's a sot because she comes from a family of drunken sots. The next day she gets up goes into the training area dressed like a man and starts training his soldiers. She knows exactly what all their flaws are and he is suitably impressed. Which I found amazing since he just returned from several years fighting as a PROFESSIONAL SOLDIER. How did he survive without her?? And the men of course just hang on her every word she is so knowledgable. Give me a break. Even in this day and age women soldiers have to fight to get the same respect as men. In that time and era they would have thrown her on a bon fire. And good riddance. And if that wasn't stupid enough ---read about the wedding night. Another fiasco that she takes charge of. Not to mention she totally misses the fact that the stepmother is pure evil even when it is pointed out to her. Though why anyone would try to tell this know it all anything is beyond me. I'm a big Lynsay Sands fan and I couldn't even finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Another fantastic read from Lynsay Sands!  As in the Devil of th

    Another fantastic read from Lynsay Sands!  As in the Devil of the Highlands,  this book was funny, sexy and serious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good book

    Good rea

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Great - must read!

    While I haven't read her vampire series, this series and how she connects the stories enough to make you really want to read all of them. I am a fan!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Scottish Men Rock!

    I didn't know if I would enjoy historical romance books because I love the vampire/supernatural book best but I did really like them. I read Ms. Sands vampire series and enjoyed her writing so I tried this book.
    The Scots in the book are hot and I love story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this Scottish tale!!!

    Merry has a bunch of drunks for a family & grows tired of them. She has to run the castle, because these men in the family are incapable. The drunk men in the family are tired of Merry & decide it's time she's wedded off. Thus, begins are Scottish tale & young Alexander walks into her life - drunk!!! This was a fun loving tale with suspense & romance! I loved it & needed to read all three of her Scottish tales, besides all the Vampire stories too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    did not dissapoint

    I alwys enjoy Lynsay sands. did not dissapoint. glad she went back to her historical romances. her vampire novels have been getting a little boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will take u out of your own world while your reading it and i loved that.

    It was a wonderful book, i loved it and bought it! I dont care for her vampire books, but Alexandra Ivy can write some great vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    cute

    This was a cute romance novel with one hilarious part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Anoterh Good One

    I really enjoyed this mystery romance set in the highlands. It was funny as well as intense. A young girl forced to take care of everything due to her families inability handle their alcohol. Then she is pushed into the hand of her betrothal only to find that he also portrays the essence of a drunkard. As time passes, they both come to trust and love only another as events unravel. I was particularly glad to see that Merry finally found peace with her new husband! I'm just hoping Cade will be able to tame down her father and brothers upon his return. Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7