Customer Reviews for

Tan Lines: Sand, Surf, and Secrets; Rays, Romance, and Rivalry; Beaches, Boys, and Betrayal

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Absolutly Amazing!

This book was amazing! I loved the story line and how real it all seemed! Im not much of a reader but I COULD NOT put it down! When I started it I didnt realize it was the second book. Now I have to buy the first read it fast and read this one again! I loved it! I will ...
This book was amazing! I loved the story line and how real it all seemed! Im not much of a reader but I COULD NOT put it down! When I started it I didnt realize it was the second book. Now I have to buy the first read it fast and read this one again! I loved it! I will definatly be recommending this book to friends! I hope there is a third!

posted by Marines-Girl on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Summer needs to calm down....for real...

She falls for a guy with a gf, and after all her hard work trying to get him, she does. Then she turns on him and sys shes in love with some random dude on the beach. They get together. Then break up. Then get together again... like GURL. CALM. DOWN. U AINT GONNA DIE AL...
She falls for a guy with a gf, and after all her hard work trying to get him, she does. Then she turns on him and sys shes in love with some random dude on the beach. They get together. Then break up. Then get together again... like GURL. CALM. DOWN. U AINT GONNA DIE ALONE FOR GOODNESS SAKE UR ONLY LIKE 16!! FO SHIZZLE MAH NIZZLE. IM OUT.

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    Absolutly Amazing!

    This book was amazing! I loved the story line and how real it all seemed! Im not much of a reader but I COULD NOT put it down! When I started it I didnt realize it was the second book. Now I have to buy the first read it fast and read this one again! I loved it! I will definatly be recommending this book to friends! I hope there is a third!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another one of my favorite books.

    I read the first book just a week ago, and i just finished the second book. I usally do not reading at all and I always have a hard time finding a book that I actally like, but I finally found a book, and I am totally inlooove with it. I actally hope that there is the 3rd book of the 3rd summer. If you deside to read this book, I think you should read the first one first, just so you understand somethings alittle more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!

    Best beach and summer reading(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I need help

    I am completely in love with the character summer. I love love love beach blondes and my friends are getting annoyed with me because it is all i talk about. I need to read the rest of the summer series BUT i dont know if this is the second or the third book. Please please please helpppppp meeeee!!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was AMAZING! By far the best book i have ever read! Defanetly a girly girl book! Im 12 yrs old anx i fell in loveeeee! Read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    I NEED HELP. I got tan lines before beach blondes is it okay to

    I NEED HELP. I got tan lines before beach blondes is it okay to read tan lines first???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    I loved it!!!

    I'm totally in love with this series!!!! It's one of the best books I've read this month. You have to read the first two, Beach Blondes and Spring Break, to totally understand it. I read Beach Blondes then Tan Lines and I got a little confused since it kept talking about what happened over spring break, but overall it was a wonderful book. If you've never read it, you would really like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Sexiest book of the summer!

    Tan Line by Katherine Applegate is a fun, drama-filled book for young adults. Teenage girls can really relate to the challenges of the main character, Summer, and her cousin, Diana and along with their friend, Marquez. The author shows the reader what true love is really about.
    Summer is returning to Crab Claw Key for summer vacation where her cousin, Diana and friend, Marquez, live. Austin is back from the previous story, Spring Break, and is still completely in love with her, but Summer is dating Seth. After cheating on Seth with Austin, Summer has promised herself to stay loyal to Seth. But with Austin flirting 24/7 and Seth in California until August, Summer will find out what true love is and make some big decisions.
    Tan Lines has a lot of detail about the characters of the story. At points it gets a little boring when she describes all of the tiny details. The emotions in the book are so real and at times you really feel like Summer herself. The lengths of their problems in the story are so long because they keep building on top of each other until the end when everything is resolved. I couldn¿t put the book down the whole summer; at one point I almost cried because of the end. Similar books to Tan Lines are Summer Boys by Hailey Abbot and The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen. They each have a vacation setting and problems with relationships with guys.
    I would recommend this book to young adults/teenage girls who like romantic dramas. I really liked how I could feel the emotions of the characters as I read. Katherine Applegate made the setting and characters so vivid in my mind with her details. The ending result is so shocking I didn¿t even see it coming!
    This book is the best book you will ever read! The events and emotions feel so real. Teenage girls will love it! Your heart will race as you keep reading the tragic decisions Summer is forced to make. You won¿t ever want to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    EXELLANT FANTASYIC FANTASTIC!!!!

    I loved the first book, and so far I am loving the second(: The author really kniws what shes doing when it comes to relating to teenage girls. Definitely one of the best series's ive ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Love it!!!!!

    Beach blondes n tanlines are my second n thrid fav books in the etire universe! I loved the drama romance n surprises!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    ??

    Cant find Spring Break on nook..is it on it? A great beach read btw :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Wonderful Series

    This book is a great read in this series of three books. However the second book 'spring break' isn't a necessary read. I read both Beach Blondes and Tan Lines and I didn't even realize there was one in between. These were some of the most amazing books I have read as far as being a young teen. Not a great adult book. But a great summer read! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Love it so far

    I have only read a sample of it and i cant stop reading it now!!!! I love it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished reading Beach Blondes and was totally hooked. Usually it takes a lot for me to read and yet this took me 3 days tops to get through. I really enjoyed it and can't wait to buy Tan Lines. .. I Just hope Summer and Seth stay together. I totally agree that they are the perfect couple!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Great Book!

    I read the first one in about two days, and the second one on vacation and I absolutely love them both. I love the character Summer, because she is very much like an average teen. There is a lot of drama in this book, more than the first, but I loved every second of it. But there better be a third one because the ending is left hanging, and I want to know Summer's reaction to Jared being Adam and how Summer and Austin work out. But this series is definitly a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    amazing.

    i loved this book, as well as beach blondes. i'm definitely reading them again, i can't get enough! two of the best books i have ever read. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    i loved it

    i am in elemarty school on my moms nook and i read all the books in 1mouth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Aawsome Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read Tan Lines right after Beach Blondes, it is an amazing book and a must read. I just found out,however, that it is the third of the series and not the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    reading first book

    im finishing up the first book and im suppppperrrr excited to see what summer has in store for me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    READ!!

    it was a REALLY good book. it keeps you reading because it contains romane, drama, and suspence. something EVERY girl loves in a book. several nights after i finished reading it i lay there thinking about it. thats how good it is. five star. 100% whatever you want to call it. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6