Customer Reviews for

Tanequil (High Druid of Shannara Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Great read!

    I have not read a book that Terry Brooks has written that wasn't great. He just has a knack with writing in such a way that you feel you are there. He makes his characters just come alive and you are on the edge of your seat. I couldn't put the book down, in fact, I was forced to put the book down because my eyes got blurry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    High Druid of Shannara - Tanaquil

    This book was very riviting. The characters, mesmerizing. I had a hard time putting this book down to do ordinary things that needed to be accomplished such as go to work. I could not wait to get back home to read more. The airships/ships mentioned in this story is amazing. Their ability to fly by using crystals and light as well be on water if need be. The characters in this book were life-like. Reading Terry Brook's Shanara books allow me to relax and feel a part of a grand story being told. Who would have known or guessed the Tanequil is a living magical Tree? I got so engrossed in the whole story that when it ended, I rushed out to buy the next series of books to keep the story of Shannara going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    High Druid of Shannara is reading adventure

    The High Druid of Shannara series actually is made up of 17 books with one continuous theme. The chacters change and the objective of the story in each book changes but the stories have a central premise that carries on throughout. These books are thrilling, exciting and attention grabbing. I am reading book 16 now, Genesis of Shannara/The Elves of Cintra, and can not wait for the Gypsy Morph to arrive at my local store, which will conclude this series. I will continue with the remainder of Terry Brooks writings with assurance of great writing and entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Second part of a magnificent trilogy

    Tanequil is not only a worthy second part of Jarka Ruus, but is so incredible that it surpasses it by leaps and bounds (and a Terry Brooks novel that surpasses a Terry Brooks novel is a great novel!) The action is heart-pounding and exciting very few make it so hard for me to put a book down as Brooks! It takes you to the end of the novel before you realize it, and leaves you begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    OUTSTANDING

    Mr.Brooks has done it again!!!!! If you enjoyed reading Tolkiens Lord of the Rings you will love Terry Brooks Shannara Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    Brooks, you did it again!

    This second installment to the High Druid series, leaves you begging for more. Once you get over the initial shock of Jarka Ruus, Terry Brooks sends you another great story with plenty of twists. This book will make you look up when Straken, book three of the series, is to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Creative Tale Works

    Once again, Terry Brooks has triumphed. As in years past, he manages to explore the depths of human emotion in a way disguised through fantasy epic and adventure. He was one of the reasons I chose to write, leading me to Grecian Rune, my first published novel. With Brooks, nothing seems impossible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    All time best

    I beleive that every bit of this series has a reason behind it. It has kept me interested at every turn. I'll be one of the first in line for the next to come out as always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    WOW

    Ok, I Have to say, I was skeptical of this book, seeing as how Jarka Ruus, was not all that great, but i read Tanequil, and it was a piece of great literature. It held my interest, and left a great cliffhanger at the end, i cant wait for Straken!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    Another Terry Brooks Book

    Yes, it's another very good Terry Brooks book. But notice I said good....not OH MY GOSH, THAT WAS AWESOME!!! His Sword of Shannara series were awesome. While this book still gave me chills and I read it in less than a week, it still had his same pattern that he uses in every book. It's just too identifiable at what he's about to do and how characters are matched up to previous ones. Their personas are too paralleled with past characters. But I will say in this one, he did a better job at it not doing it as often. But, (without giving much away) the thing that hurt Pen so much at the end was too obvious. I knew when the scenes of that part of the book started what was gonna happen. It is definately a must read for those Shannara fans. It does flow very well, I must say, and keep you wondering, and, unlike most second books in a trilogy, gave a lot of questions answered, but also gave some unanswered and left it just...hanging. Oh, I cannot wait for Straken!!! I wish it'd come out earlier...he has already completed it. Anyways, I'm going on and on. My point: read it. It's is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Is that all??????

    Couldn't wait to finally get this, and now I can't believe it's finished so quickly. I would have appreciated more to have waited and anticipated this so long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    Oh, Honestly!

    This is ridiculous! Why does Terry Brooks, as well as many others, have to copy ideas from Tolkien. I know it's hard to not do that, but he's taking it waaaaay too far. Any fan of The Lord of the Rings could see that. Just reading the summary made me wretch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    The Profit of Shannara

    Having been a Brooks fan since the early 80's, I never thought I would see the day when I would be disappointed in his writing. Perhaps it's just a case of me getting older, but this entire 'coming of age' angle employed by Brooks is getting old very fast. Frankly, I couldn't care less about Pen Ohmsford and the bad case of puppy love he has for Cinnaminson; I've seen it all before with Par and Beck. Another problem I have with this new series is the writing itself; on a couple of occasions, Brooks actually uses the word 'dazzling' to describe Pen's infatuation with Cinnaminson's smile. Ugh. And how many times must we be told that Pen 'reached for Cinnaminson's hand'? Give me a break. With the notable exception of Grianne's story line, which demonstrates Brooks's skills at their finest, this series should have never happened. It is my fervent hope that, following the completion of this current series, Brooks returns to the Word and the Void and its more serious, adult tone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    I WANT MORE!!

    I loved this book! As always, Terry Brooks has done a great job, AGAIN. The story was well developed, and I like how Brooks switches to different characters at different times throughout the story. It was so hard to put down. I just hope the next installment comes quickly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Brooks is Brooks, and this is Brooks

    This book is pretty good. It is serious Terry Brooks. You can feel it when you are reading Brooks' work. It was pretty good, but I should have waited for the soft cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    Another great book

    I won an advanced readers edition of this book and in spite of not reading Jarka Ruus yet, this book was quickly engrossing. Brooks has done a wonderful job reviewing enough history to keep the flow, without making the first book meaningless. I will get Jarka Ruus as soon as I can find it and am eagerly waiting to see how the hints and spoilers in here fit together with the missing pieces to form the first book. Tanequil has a good flow. Brooks returned to the various characters enough to keep them in the story and progressing without abandoning anyone long enough to make them seem irrelevant. It also has a definite end that didn¿t feel like just an end of a chapter, like some middle books of trilogies I¿ve read. He was able to finish the book with enough hints and cliffhangers to make the wait for Straken agonizing, but still gives it a feeling of completeness. I would definitely recommend this book to all fantasy fans, especially anyone who likes the previous Shannara books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Disappointing

    After his lackluster job ib Jarka Ruus, I was hoping that this second book would be better. It was, just not as good as I'd been led to believe. I keep expecting Brooks to return to his previous early Shannara type novels and instead he seems to be working off the same tired old formula. Grianne is reminiscent of Brin, though more apt to turn evil and more accpeting of her magic. Her brother is reminiscent of Shea and Bek and is like every other reluctant hero. Even his villians arenothing new, Shadea is like Brona, though not as well developed and I had expected the demon to have developed a more subtle and original method of controlling Grianne than the old over-used collar of obedience\pain device. Jordan's used that idea to death, as have many others. How about some kind of mind control spell powerful enough to make her forget she even had magic or something? That would have been more interesting. I keep hoping that someday Brooks will give us a strong female magical character, one similar to Allanon, who is not reluctant or afraid of magic and can work together with other strong characters to form a new kind of government after casting out the Federation. Sadly, I think I'll be waiting a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    A MUST READ for all Terry Brooks and Fantasy fans!!!

    There aren't enough great things to say about TANEQUIL! The story keeps moving along and contains lots of action for you to keep turning the pages. The only bad thing I can say about this book is that the next book, STRAKEN, is so far away from being released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Terry Brooks Fantasy Blockbuster

    Random House and Terry Brooks have a fantasy blockbuster winner with TANEQUIL. The action throughout, the colorful characters, the many intense and interesting relationships, the intriging situations that occur and the building suspense all contribute to an absolutely delightful reading experience. I just didn't want to put the book down. I'm already looking forward to STRAKEN. It's definitely gets a 5-star rating and I recommend it highly. John Sekerka

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding worldbuilding

    The dark creatures of faerie were banished to Jarka Ruus otherwise known as the Forbidding which is warded by the Elven tree the Ellcrys to prevent the creatures from coming into the world of Shannara. Grianne Ohmsford, the rightful High Druid of Paranor, was betrayed by a Druid who coveted her power position. With the help of Sen Dunsidan, the Prime Minister of the Federation, the traitor opened a portal and sent Grianne into the Forbidding. Shadea, the new High Druid is using Druid magic to become the ruling force in the Federation.................................. Shadea¿s ally Sen is using the same tactics to become the ruling power in the land. Grianne must come back to bring peace to a troubledworld and the only one who can find her and bring her home is her nephew Pen Ohmsford. To enter the Forbidding he must find the sentient tree the Tanequil and persuade it to give him a branch so he can finish a dark wand that will allow him to enter through a portal at the Druid home of Paranor. Time is running out because Grianne is turning back into the Isle witch in order to survive the evil that surrounds her..................................... . Terry Brooks has once again created a fantastic fantasy set in the world of Shannara as well as in its evil twin the Forbidding. The contrast between these two worlds is the difference between dark and light with each a fascinating creation from the author¿s creative imagination. Terry Brooks is a brilliant world builder who is one of the premier fantasists around today with protagonists that claim a unique place in the reader¿s heart.......................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4