Customer Reviews for

Tangerine

Average Rating 4.5
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I ever read.

Tangerine is a very good book for kids around my age (age 11). The storyline kept me guessing and reading until the very end. As the story progresses, the secrets of the young boy are revealed more and more, making me want to keep reading. Despite its title, the subject...
Tangerine is a very good book for kids around my age (age 11). The storyline kept me guessing and reading until the very end. As the story progresses, the secrets of the young boy are revealed more and more, making me want to keep reading. Despite its title, the subject is a very good one.

posted by 2932747 on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

...horrible ending.

the mystery of how paul was blinded happened to be the only thing interesting for me. the rest is merely a series of strange events happening at the school, and soccer drama. the ending completely ruined the intrest i had in the rest of the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 610 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I ever read.

    Tangerine is a very good book for kids around my age (age 11). The storyline kept me guessing and reading until the very end. As the story progresses, the secrets of the young boy are revealed more and more, making me want to keep reading. Despite its title, the subject is a very good one.

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    ...horrible ending.

    the mystery of how paul was blinded happened to be the only thing interesting for me. the rest is merely a series of strange events happening at the school, and soccer drama. the ending completely ruined the intrest i had in the rest of the book.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    its okay

    this book was a story about a boy struggling to fit in with his family life. His older brother is a star and he always feels like the "geek" Its a good book but sad.I recomend it to teen readers but also to aldult who are interested in the struggle.<BR/>Best luck reading

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    This is one of the most thrilling books I have ever read. It is a great mixture of hysteria, mystery, realistic fiction and tradegy. At the end I almost cried! All in all, though, this is a great must-read no matter if you like soccer or not!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    tangerine -- so far

    honestly, it's hard to focus. this was assigned to me, and so i can only really pay attention when i try hard. once you get into it and read a few chapters, it's really well-written. it's a page-turner. i like to keep reading it, nonstop for every 3 or so chapters. i'm reading a few other books at the moment, and this is byfar my second favorite. i'm currently enjoying it.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Questioning

    I dont know if I should read this book. I'm at odds because there are some wonderful reviews, yet also some that state the book has a dull ending. Should I read it?

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    This book is about a middle school-aged boy named Paul Fisher wh

    This book is about a middle school-aged boy named Paul Fisher who moves from Huntsville, Texas to Tangerine County in Florida. He has an eyesight problem and wears coke-bottle glasses. His brother, Erik Fisher, plays football as a placekicker, but has had a history of abusing his little brother. When Paul enrolls into his new middle school at Lake Windsor Downs, he says that he would want to play as a goalie for the soccer team. He makes it as starting goalie, but his coach discovers his eyesight problem and kicks him off the team to avoid his coaching license from being suspended by the league. Later in the year, the middle school gets destroyed in a sinkhole, which makes Paul have to transfer to Tangerine middle school. There, the kids are a lot tougher and aggressive. When Paul joins the soccer team, rivalries begin to grow between students. Paul's friend Joey Costello from Lake Windsor Middle School, who has joined Paul at Tangerine, has rivalries of his own and loses Paul's grip of friendship. Though Erik Fisher is still at Lake Windsor High, and rivalries between Lake Windsor and Tangerine leads to fights and deaths throughout the course of the book. What I really liked about this book was its complex plot of the building friendships and the endurance of the sporting events. I would recommend this book to anyone in high school or middle school who enjoys sports and how relationships are built through them.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anonymous

    I liked the suspense of this book and it had just the right amount of every emotion in it. My only complaint: after all the building mystery around the question 'what really happened to his eyes that caused his vision problem and why cant he remember' the awnser (his bro sprayed the spray paint in them) is just not exciting. I really was hoping for something bigger and quite frankly badder. Because of that it was one star shy of perfection in my rating.): its a good book for 12 year olds like myself.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Confusion

    What is up with the pyscho brother?

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    Before i got this i read some of the comments to see if it would be good.i see alot of haters.iread thought and it is good. It just needs to stay on topic more.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Amazing

    This is a great book for middle schoolers. It keeps you reading to the very end. It is truly one of the best books i read as a middleschooler.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ewwwwwwwwww!

    I had to read this book for a class book report. i really didnt enjoy it. Toward the end, it became a little intresting, but the story line is kinda stupid. Where these crtics get this coming of agness from it, i dont understand. Storyline sucked, but it did have its moments. You really did feel bad for Paul when he remembered why he is wearing those bottle cap glasses. But overall i wouldnt reccomend it to many. Little to boring.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Funky

    Realy cool... snazzy book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    ?

    What's with the phycopath brother?

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Pink wolf

    Looooooooove this book!!!!!!!! Hey what ever your name is was it you that said want too have sex and how old are you because im 12 and i was woundering if you were12 too and if yes i would love to have sex with you but until we are 16.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Tangerine

    this book was confusing and not fantastic like sum people thought. when i read books i want an escape from the real world into anothor experience. if u like sports, mysteries and an ending that leaves u hanging....this book is 4 u!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Great book

    I was asighned this book for school and it was hard to get into it at first because alot of things don't make sense. At the beginning of the book, Paul (the main character) has a flashback of him running away from a car with someone trying to hit him with a baseball bat. He said that the person was his older brother Erik but Erik was sitting at the dinner table when that happened. So i don't how that tied in with the story. Other than that, i liked the book way more than i thought i would! Everything that is happening with his brother Erik and all the drama plus the well written action parts with the soccer games makes you want to turn the page. I thought that the aurthor was great about explaining how Paul lost his vision. He didnt just tell you how he lost his vision, it keeps you wondering, and that is one thing i loved. There is so much drama that keeps you interested and everything little detail makes you think about each character and you can put yourself in their position and feel like you are right there next to Paul while he struggles with his fear against his brother Erik. Maybe that is why you get a little emotional when reading about it. This book has just the right amount of everything in it. It will definitaly make you think about it long after you have read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Best book ever

    I had to read this for school and at first I didn't want to, but after I got into this book I couldn't put it down. I even forgot it was for school because i love it so much Edward Bloor made an amasing book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Bad

    I am deeply sorry but I really did hatr this book. I woukd not (and will not) refommend this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    THIS N THIS BOOK SUCKS!

    This book is the worst. At my school we have to read it and it totaly sucks and theres no point in it at all

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 610 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31