Customer Reviews for

Tangerine

Average Rating 4.5
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I ever read.

Tangerine is a very good book for kids around my age (age 11). The storyline kept me guessing and reading until the very end. As the story progresses, the secrets of the young boy are revealed more and more, making me want to keep reading. Despite its title, the subject...
Tangerine is a very good book for kids around my age (age 11). The storyline kept me guessing and reading until the very end. As the story progresses, the secrets of the young boy are revealed more and more, making me want to keep reading. Despite its title, the subject is a very good one.

posted by 2932747 on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

...horrible ending.

the mystery of how paul was blinded happened to be the only thing interesting for me. the rest is merely a series of strange events happening at the school, and soccer drama. the ending completely ruined the intrest i had in the rest of the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    This book is about a middle school-aged boy named Paul Fisher wh

    This book is about a middle school-aged boy named Paul Fisher who moves from Huntsville, Texas to Tangerine County in Florida. He has an eyesight problem and wears coke-bottle glasses. His brother, Erik Fisher, plays football as a placekicker, but has had a history of abusing his little brother. When Paul enrolls into his new middle school at Lake Windsor Downs, he says that he would want to play as a goalie for the soccer team. He makes it as starting goalie, but his coach discovers his eyesight problem and kicks him off the team to avoid his coaching license from being suspended by the league. Later in the year, the middle school gets destroyed in a sinkhole, which makes Paul have to transfer to Tangerine middle school. There, the kids are a lot tougher and aggressive. When Paul joins the soccer team, rivalries begin to grow between students. Paul's friend Joey Costello from Lake Windsor Middle School, who has joined Paul at Tangerine, has rivalries of his own and loses Paul's grip of friendship. Though Erik Fisher is still at Lake Windsor High, and rivalries between Lake Windsor and Tangerine leads to fights and deaths throughout the course of the book. What I really liked about this book was its complex plot of the building friendships and the endurance of the sporting events. I would recommend this book to anyone in high school or middle school who enjoys sports and how relationships are built through them.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anonymous

    I liked the suspense of this book and it had just the right amount of every emotion in it. My only complaint: after all the building mystery around the question 'what really happened to his eyes that caused his vision problem and why cant he remember' the awnser (his bro sprayed the spray paint in them) is just not exciting. I really was hoping for something bigger and quite frankly badder. Because of that it was one star shy of perfection in my rating.): its a good book for 12 year olds like myself.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Confusion

    What is up with the pyscho brother?

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Great book

    I was asighned this book for school and it was hard to get into it at first because alot of things don't make sense. At the beginning of the book, Paul (the main character) has a flashback of him running away from a car with someone trying to hit him with a baseball bat. He said that the person was his older brother Erik but Erik was sitting at the dinner table when that happened. So i don't how that tied in with the story. Other than that, i liked the book way more than i thought i would! Everything that is happening with his brother Erik and all the drama plus the well written action parts with the soccer games makes you want to turn the page. I thought that the aurthor was great about explaining how Paul lost his vision. He didnt just tell you how he lost his vision, it keeps you wondering, and that is one thing i loved. There is so much drama that keeps you interested and everything little detail makes you think about each character and you can put yourself in their position and feel like you are right there next to Paul while he struggles with his fear against his brother Erik. Maybe that is why you get a little emotional when reading about it. This book has just the right amount of everything in it. It will definitaly make you think about it long after you have read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Cliffhanger

    This book is a major cliff hanger with major twists and turns and drops and rises. This book was somewhat curiously mysterious that it kept you wondering what eas going to happen next. I recomend this book to anyone looking for a good book to read that lays the point obvious but not so obvious at the same time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Imani

    Awesome book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Pretty good book

    I read this in class i liked how we found out about his vision

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Rating

    I would give this book a 4 just because there were some slow and very confising parts. Also the book did not all smoosh together like a book should. But over all i liked it. I read it for a school summer reading book and it did its job. If i were you i would read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Pretty Good

    It was a good book but some psrts were confusing it could have been better. Still pretty good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Tangerine Book Review, By: Ahmed A (Summer Assignment P2) (DIGIT

    Tangerine Book Review, By: Ahmed A (Summer Assignment P2)
    (DIGITAL)

    The reason I chose to give this book a 3-star rating was because it has a well organized plot as well as interesting twists and turns that I hadn’t seen coming such as the natural disaster that tore apart Paul's new school. The reason this book did not receive a 5-star rating from me was because of the beginning. It did not engage me as a reader and the first 50 pages almost had me choose another book to read. But no matter how bland the first couple chapters were, without reading them the book would have made no sense in general which is what made me bump the rating up from 3-stars to 4. The part of this book i enjoyed the most has to be when Paul switched schools and does stunning in his athletic career as a soccer player. The part of this book that I enjoyed the least is the beginning of the book, nothing really interesting was happening, also, it didn’t seem like the book was getting anywhere, nothing was going right in Paul's new lifestyle at Tangerine County. Overall i do recommend this book because of the plot and how interestingly everything comes together in the end of the book but beware that you will most likely be bored at the beginning of this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Liked it - I reccomend it

    In 6th grade my class read this book. Many people thought it was the most boring book ever but I really liked it. Read the sample. It starts a bit slow but gets better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Good book

    I have read this book before and i love it!!! It is a great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I thought the book was very touching and sentimental, with a tru

    I thought the book was very touching and sentimental, with a true
    meaning to it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Good

    I had to read for school.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Wow.

    Just wow. I just finished reading this and the part three was just wow. There are so many twists and turns that nobody could suspect. So inspiring. Makes you really think. Wish there was more, however. Would recomend to middle school and above because of lots of tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I think it's a great book for teens. I would recommend it to tee

    I think it's a great book for teens. I would recommend it to teens who enjoy reading books about sports or sibling rivalry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Awesome

    Every one should read this book because it is a great book and I think every one will looooove it. It sort of confused me at the begining because of him changing schools but other wise I think it was awesome and cooooooool please read this and report back to me on tje book TAGERINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Ball

    Not my faverit book but i like the ending

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    I LOVE SOCCER!!!!!!!!!

    I play on Bayside united and swanses somerset youth soccer travel team i am a soccer phinatic this book was kind good i guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good

    I had to read this in my language arts class and it was VERY good. Its about a boy named Paul Fisher with a very mean older brother, Erik Fisher, along with some other characters you meet along the way. I recomend this book for teenagers and younge adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6