BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tangle of Need (Psy-Changeling Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reading Tangle of Need was a good/bad experience. Good in that i

Reading Tangle of Need was a good/bad experience. Good in that it was an excellent book and bad in that it's going to be a long wait until the next one comes out. The main part of the book is about Riaz and Adria, both members of the Snow Dancer pack who have incredible...
Reading Tangle of Need was a good/bad experience. Good in that it was an excellent book and bad in that it's going to be a long wait until the next one comes out. The main part of the book is about Riaz and Adria, both members of the Snow Dancer pack who have incredible chemistry between them. He unfortunately has a mate named Lisette who is married to and in love with another man. Adria has ended a long term relationship with a submissive named Martin that finished badly. Riaz is determined to live life alone and Adria wants to protect her heart at all costs. As the relationship develops between them, both parties have to re-evaluate what they really want in their future and what are they willing to do to make that future happen. Unlike previous couples, this one would seem to be the easiest to get together because they are both packmates and changelings, but the obstacle of the mating bond is a constant sword over both of their heads.
One of the nice things in this book is how Ms. Singh has given the reader a look at the relationship between Hawke and Sienna and how it is progressing. The level of understanding between them, the perfectness of their mating is exquisitely portrayed in this book. There are glimpses of other couples in the book as well but Hawke and Sienna really stand out without overshadowing the main couple. So much more about the pack system and how it stands or fails is explained in this book.
The tension between the changelings, the Psy and the Pure Psy people is ratcheting up and there is a lovely little cliffhanger of an ending that makes you want to scream with frustration that the next book is not in your hand immediately!

posted by SharonRedfern on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Same-O Same-O

I think it's time for this series to end. The writing and plots have become predictable and the characters are no longer interesting. This author used to be one of my favorites, but the tight character development and nail-biting plots are no longer present.

posted by SanitasPerEscam on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reading Tangle of Need was a good/bad experience. Good in that i

    Reading Tangle of Need was a good/bad experience. Good in that it was an excellent book and bad in that it's going to be a long wait until the next one comes out. The main part of the book is about Riaz and Adria, both members of the Snow Dancer pack who have incredible chemistry between them. He unfortunately has a mate named Lisette who is married to and in love with another man. Adria has ended a long term relationship with a submissive named Martin that finished badly. Riaz is determined to live life alone and Adria wants to protect her heart at all costs. As the relationship develops between them, both parties have to re-evaluate what they really want in their future and what are they willing to do to make that future happen. Unlike previous couples, this one would seem to be the easiest to get together because they are both packmates and changelings, but the obstacle of the mating bond is a constant sword over both of their heads.
    One of the nice things in this book is how Ms. Singh has given the reader a look at the relationship between Hawke and Sienna and how it is progressing. The level of understanding between them, the perfectness of their mating is exquisitely portrayed in this book. There are glimpses of other couples in the book as well but Hawke and Sienna really stand out without overshadowing the main couple. So much more about the pack system and how it stands or fails is explained in this book.
    The tension between the changelings, the Psy and the Pure Psy people is ratcheting up and there is a lovely little cliffhanger of an ending that makes you want to scream with frustration that the next book is not in your hand immediately!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I admit that the biggest draw of Tangle of Need for me initially

    I admit that the biggest draw of Tangle of Need for me initially was my favorite Psy-Changeling series couple Hawk and Sienna--I heard that we're going to see a lot of them in Tangle of Need and I wanted to read more about them as a couple after Kiss of Snow. I was definitely not disappointed there. Hawk and Sienna indeed got a lot of page time. I was very happy that Nalini explored their relationship further, from their mating ceremony to their everyday life as a couple to their discussions of their future. LOVE!!

    But as I read on, I ended up enjoying Adria and Riaz's journey to their happily ever after too.

    It didn't start out that way though because Riaz was a jerk in the beginning and Adria was a little prickly. Riaz, a lone wolf, found his intended mate too late (she's already married and happily so) and Adria's long-term relationship with a less dominant male just ended. Both has returned to the pack to heal and neither were expecting the powerful attraction that they feel for each other, which eventually grew to respect, friendship and deep affection. However, without the possibility of the mate bond (and we all know how important the mating bond is), what kind of relationship can they form? Will they have a future together? The chemistry between Adria and Riaz sizzled with great turn-up-the-fan scenes but there were also a lot of sweet moments between them that I liked just as much. I especially loved the scenes when Riaz was courting Adria and all the sweet things he did for her. Sigh.

    The overarching storyline of the tension between the Psy and the Changelings and the inevitable Psy war continues here. The Arrows also get a lot of page time and we gain more insight about them. We also see a lot of the mysterious Kaleb--this novel ended Kaleb finding "her" and I cannot wait to see what will happen next with him.

    Tangle of Need is the eleventh book in the Psy-Changeling series. I do not suggest you pick this book up if you have not read the earlier books as there is just too much back-story that will leave you confused. Start with book one, Slave to Sensation, and work your way to Tangle of Need. Trust me, you won't regret it. Besides the excellent writing, intricate world building, a twisty overarching plot that will keep you guessing and multidimensional characters that you will grow to care about, each novel features a hero and heroine to die for. And with each book Nalini just keeps getting better and better.

    If you're following the series, you gotta pick up Tangle of Need. Some questions from the previous book were answered, there were some surprising revelations here, more clues to fuel your theories and a cliffhanger ending with Kaleb finding "her." OMG!! Who could this "her"/his heroine be? (I have theories of course!)

    Written by Michelle for Michelle & Leslie's Book Picks book blog.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic read This fantastic read should NOT be read as a stan

    fantastic read

    This fantastic read should NOT be read as a stand-alone. At least read Kiss of Snow first. I’m sure it could be but you would be missing out on a lot. With each successive addition to this wonderful series Ms. Singh adds more threads to the intricate tapestry that is the world of the Psy-Changeling. There is so much going on and there are so many characters that if you’ve not read the previous books you will probably feel a little lost. And you should read the other books because they too are terrific.
    In Tangle of Need the SnowDancer wolves and DarkRiver cats are dealing with the after effects of the Pure Psy attack that took place in Kiss of Snow. Because of the attack wolves were brought in from all over including Indigo’s young aunt Adria. When Adria and Riaz meet the chemistry is off the charts but neither are in a good place for a relationship. Meanwhile the healers are trying to figure out what to do with Alice Eldridge to bring her out of her coma. Did Henry survive Siennas cold fire? Now that the world knows the Laurens survive what will Ming do? Who is the Ghost. Who will ultimately win the Arrows loyalty? And most importantly how will the upcoming civil war and possible collapse of the Net effect all?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Wow a most powerful story

    I am hoping the next one comes out soon and I hope Ms. Singh already knows how this will end. I am sure she could get many more stories from this series but there must be a conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Living on the Edge

    Tangle of Need Nalini Singh

    The story, Tangle of Need covers a lot of territory but it is primarily about the developing relationship between Riaz a Snow Dancer lieutenant and Adria a senior soldier in the same pack.

    Theirs is a complicated relationship because each has been let down by love and not ready for the intense attraction they have for each other. Adria has broken up with Martin who was a less dominant male who was undermining her self confidence and Riaz has met his mate who is happily married to another man. The question this story asks is what really constitutes love? These two fight, claw, have lusty sex and sometimes quietly contemplate the answer.

    In the background we have power plays of some of the councilors, and the pure Psy zealots. We are also looking at the imminent collapse of the Psy net. This story has you on the edge of your seat.

    The story is well crafted and a brilliantly written. Tangle of Need really brings home the point that you should live for today because tomorrow is not guaranteed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great

    As usual, I loved it! Nalini just keeps getting better. I only wish the next book in the series came out next week!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kelly  NUMBER OF HEARTS:  4 3/4 REVIEW:   An

    REVIEW PROVIDED BY: Kelly 
    NUMBER OF HEARTS:  4 3/4
    REVIEW:  
    Another great book from Nalini.  Seriously loving this series and I am so glad that I took the time to listen to them on audio.  Ms.Dawe is an awesome narrator that is able to deliver Nalini’s story amazing way.  Thank you to both of theses ladies for this series. 

    **Okay there may be a spoiler from here.  So if you have not read you may want to stop.  But I will do my best to be not give much away. 

    I loved that there was so much of Hawke & Sienna in this book :)  I think the people that felt there was not enough (I was not one of them) of Hawke and Sienna in Kiss of Snow will be very happy with how much we get to see the SnowDancer Alpha couple.  And they are just as prickly sweet as ever.  Of course my main man Judd is in this book.  Love love love that guy.  I really need to get a shirt that says I <3 Judd.  Riley and Mercy make an appearance and stir up some trouble.  Battle lines are drawn.  An enemy is found.  And a new threat looms over the world. 

    But the main story is Riaz & Adria.  These two’s story was so heart breaking.  I felt for them on such a deep level that I kept waiting for Ms. Singh to make it right.  But she didn’t.  There was no bandaid for these two to cover up their wounds.  And that made me really sad.   BUT!!! Unlike some of the reviews I read.  I think the Ms. Singh did right by these two and left a door open for there to become more.  I am truly hoping that is the case.  I guess only time will tell.  

    I can’t wait to get into Kaleb’s book.  There is so much more to this Former Councilor than meets the eye. 

    Disclaimer: 
    I purchased this book from Audible and this review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Tangle of Need

    This book is a great addition to the series. Once I started reading I could not put the book down. Highly Recommonded!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Wonderful!!!!!


    Oh! Excitement from page 1 to page 450! Not only is it a story of Adria and Riaz, but it's of SnowDancers, and especially of Hawke and Sienna. I loved that we are learning more about the PsyNet and the DarkNet. Of course we also get to visit with some of DarkRiver's main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    C

    Vqoiwem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I always prefer when the story is about a changeling falling for

    I always prefer when the story is about a changeling falling for a Psy. However, this book had a little bit of everything and a lot of my favorite characters (Hawk and Sienna). I loved the book completely and that fact that it was much more playful and got into the characters in a more personal level.... Can't say enough, just love the way the mind of this writer works. 2 thumbs up!!! I hope to read soon about Vasic and Adain hook up with a changeling... just saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Briana

    Changeling?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    TO THE CHANGELING

    Hello? Did you leave or get locked out? Next result then if you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Can't get enough!

    I think I am addicted to this psy changeling series. The characters are so believeable and whilst some of the dialogue is a little repetitous, I still love the books. Can't wait for the lastest book - we were left with a cliffhanger sure to keep you coming back for more. Well done Ms Singh. I think only the Laiden series by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller I enjoy more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    A Great Series

    I read the entire series back to back and I loved every minute of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!

    Again, Ms. Singh delivered a fantastic story! I wondered where she would go with the next set of characters and wondered how that would work trying to define a relationship with two characters who weren't mated and she pulled it off! Wonderful job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Hawke & Sienna #2 loved it

    My two favorite of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Exceptional addition to series, Tangle of need revisits previous

    Exceptional addition to series, Tangle of need revisits previous characters, adds some new ones and moves the
    he ploting of thee Pure Psy and the Alliance and Kaleb factions right along. The imagination of the author in her details of this future society are intriging and riveting. I picked up this series in the beginning but have managed to read the backlist, not in order; which shows they are all stand alone reads. It helps to have the back story but it is not neccessary to enjoy these books. Highly recommend any or all of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Excellent!

    I love this series and this latest addition is one of the best. It's great to get further insight into how this pack works, Hawke & Sienna, and to see a relationship that is not a mating bond, but true love worked on and achieved. I can hardly wait for the next, and the next, and the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4