Customer Reviews for

Tangled

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

NOT so bad!

I read the other reviews before buying this book.... and was hesitant.
It's not Carolyn Mackler's traditional writing style....
but the storyline was still good.
It did keep my attention because I wanted to know with each character
what comes next???

I did like ...
I read the other reviews before buying this book.... and was hesitant.
It's not Carolyn Mackler's traditional writing style....
but the storyline was still good.
It did keep my attention because I wanted to know with each character
what comes next???

I did like this book.... was it the best ever??? no but it's worth a read.

posted by librarychic on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Tangled. A catching cover, but not a catching plot.

The plot of the book started out well, the writing seemed superb and the hint of flirtations really made it a little more exciting. However, I was shocked at the content of the book once I delved forward. Not only is it a little explicit (and the said 12 year olds could...
The plot of the book started out well, the writing seemed superb and the hint of flirtations really made it a little more exciting. However, I was shocked at the content of the book once I delved forward. Not only is it a little explicit (and the said 12 year olds could read this?!) but you can tell the author really just wanted to boost up reviews by adding that in there, seeing as it did not help the plot at all. In reality if people meet others on the web or strangers on a vacation, they 95% of the time turn out to be psychos!The ending was abrupt, without the characters ever really finding resolution or even some far-off kind of feeling that it would get better. This book was far from reality and gave me a sense of sadness. Why? Because that was a full day I wasted reading that book that I will never get back.

I would recomend the (Summer Series: By Katherine Applegate, Romance and funny lines, an actual series of books that compels throughout.)

posted by Maximum_Read on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tangled. A catching cover, but not a catching plot.

    The plot of the book started out well, the writing seemed superb and the hint of flirtations really made it a little more exciting. However, I was shocked at the content of the book once I delved forward. Not only is it a little explicit (and the said 12 year olds could read this?!) but you can tell the author really just wanted to boost up reviews by adding that in there, seeing as it did not help the plot at all. In reality if people meet others on the web or strangers on a vacation, they 95% of the time turn out to be psychos!The ending was abrupt, without the characters ever really finding resolution or even some far-off kind of feeling that it would get better. This book was far from reality and gave me a sense of sadness. Why? Because that was a full day I wasted reading that book that I will never get back.

    I would recomend the (Summer Series: By Katherine Applegate, Romance and funny lines, an actual series of books that compels throughout.)

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT so bad!

    I read the other reviews before buying this book.... and was hesitant.
    It's not Carolyn Mackler's traditional writing style....
    but the storyline was still good.
    It did keep my attention because I wanted to know with each character
    what comes next???

    I did like this book.... was it the best ever??? no but it's worth a read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I was hooked and then the story let me go...

    This wasn't your typical love story at all. I liked the characters, and i get about a quarter way in the book and find this would go way over the edge in a lot of things. First of all, I was liking the relationship between Jena and Dakota, but then I found myself not liking or enjoying anything! With the over the edge cursing-the 'f' word used about 10 times and him trying to force her to have sex with him, it was all too much. But Jena could be your typical teenager, who has never fallen in love or had a boyfriend when suddenly Dakota comes along and flirts with her and takes everything way too fast! But how would Jena know that any of this is wrong, so she lets him do whatever he wants to her and use her and typically, she will find this was a huge mistake! It was over the edge in raunchiness, profanity, etc. I would've enjoyed it much more with all of that taken out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good Book

    Ive read this book before and i thought it had good twists and turns. I have a list of top 10 books in my room, in no order, but this book is on there. If you are interested in a page turning, teen romance book, with lots of twists and turns... This is the book for you :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Melanie Foust for TeensReadToo.com

    Four teens spend their spring break in Paradise, an island in the Caribbean. None of them want to be there, but the things that begin in Paradise will have an impact on their lives long after they leave.

    After being there, Jenna realizes that she must be the one to take the steps to really begin her life. Dakota will begin on his journey to healing. Skye will be forced to see that life is too short to be anything less than real, and Owen will eventually understand that a real life can be even better than a life online.

    Told from the view of all four teens, this book keeps you reading. The characters are complex and through their actions warn us to not judge too quickly. As you read, you learn that people are always more than what appears on the surface. With strong writing and characters, this is a book to watch for.

    In TANGLED, Carolyn Mackler shows off her writing skills with a book that is sure to please and reminds us of what Max Ehrman said: "And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should."

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Ok

    It said a lot of gross things and basically told you that its ok to be beautiful and be conceited about it. Only Jenna and Owens parts were good skyler and dakotas were horrible and repulsive. J and O were cute and nice S and D were concieted and braggy and self pitying

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    My opinion.

    Personally, I liked it a lot, I could relate to some of the characters. And the book teaches life lessons about self respect and putting yourself out there. Read the book, love it, and read it again. I recomend this book highly. Enjoy !

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    ammazinngggg!!!

    i absolutely loved this book. it was seperated into 4 parts. each part told someone elses story. everything related together some how and i loved it! great book for teens!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazinly addcting

    I could not stop reading this book i would to put it down. Such a page turner!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    So bad

    I dont like it

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    i recommend for those who like drama

    this book was very intresting there were highs and lows for the chaacters but the best part to me is how everyone grows and changes throughout the story. its nice to see how the perspective you see one character in changes so drastically and by the end your just like Wow! i love i so recommend especialy teens!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Over the Edge

    I was careful before purchasing this book to read the available reviews and all available chapters online. I even read the author's website. Not finding anything offensive, I proceeded to put in my order. Once I received the book, I read a few more chapters and all was well. The writing was engaging and I enjoyed the characters. Then it's like someone had substituted the pages of another book. Not only did the language get raunchy, so did the action of the characters. The basic story line is engaging and intriguing, but the premise that sex is not only okay, but obligatory is not realistic. No wonder suicide is part of the story. Perhaps the conclusion might attempt to allow the characters the right to choose what they will do or allow, but it leaves the reader thinking the choices are second rate, something to settle for if you are not the beautiful people.

    Disappointed in the professional reviews, I will wait for more reader reviews in the future to find out the real scoop. It is sad such a talented writer would sell out. Young adults deserve better. I believe this story could have been written without all of the garbage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    this was the first Carolyn Mackler book I've read and i didn't f

    this was the first Carolyn Mackler book I've read and i didn't find it to be that bad.....it definitely a book that sticks with you forever. The
    story line itself keeps you interested. while the sexual parts, have stayed with me in a scaring kind of way, but it's in my top 10 of readings.
     I found this book randomly on a shelf and thought it would be a good read...I still haven't forgotten a single moment of the wonderful tale and it's been 4 years
    since I've read Tangled
       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Amy

    She turns around grinning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Flyn

    (So sorry. Still here?) He smirked and pulled her close

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Scratching another book off my own tbr pile, this book took me b

    Scratching another book off my own tbr pile, this book took me by surprise.
    1. Point of views. This story contain four short point of views of big changes in their lives. Some changes are good while other are good. It’s clear that in the end, they all learn a lesson.
    2. Graphic. Since this is YA book I didn’t expect it to be so graphic. Still it had some adult humor in it that made me snicker.
    3. Tangled. Just like the title, all of their lives crash violently together to come together for something bigger. They all have a part of each other lives that needed to weave so that they can grow and learn.
    4. Taking chances. It clears that all of these teens live hard, fast lives. Taking chances on bad things, they all had to learn to take a chance on something good for once. Even if it means making drastic changes.
    5. More. At the end of the story, it came together so wonderfully that I wanted more. I loved Jena’s story and I’m glad that she got a happy ending. I’m still interested in learning what happens to the rest of the characters.
    Tangled is great book. Raw and exciting, I can’t wait to read more by this author. A great summer read that will leave you wanting more, Tangled is daring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Very great!

    This book was so amazing, i LOVED it. I could not put it down. If you're interested in teen romance, this book is definitely for you. It has profanity and its kinx of explicit so I recommend it to anyone 16 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Read it

    I thought it was a good book. I pick my reads wirh much care and this book stood out. Im not sure what made me read this book but im glad i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    TeenageHeartthrob.

    Everyones hating on this book ; its an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Owens story

    The other stories may have been bad, but owens story, changed my heart. I think im alot like jena and i hope that somthing like this happens to me someday. GEKS AND LOSERS RULE! POPULARS AND SEXY CHICS SUCK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4