Customer Reviews for

Tangled Hearts (A Highland Hearts Novel)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I was absolutely captivated by this book! A rich story with abso

    I was absolutely captivated by this book! A rich story with absolutely adorable characters: the heroine of the story is a badass, don't-mess-with-me kind of girl with a kind heart whom I love! The story draws you in from page one and takes on a literary ride chock full of danger, intrigue, humor, and romance. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Historical? Paranormal? Even Pirates? Yes to all. This is an

    Historical? Paranormal? Even Pirates? Yes to all. This is an engaging magical read from a great new author I have found, Heather McCollum. I will now anxiously await each new release from this author. Her first book, Captured Heart, and her second, Highland Heart, was absolutely fantastic. Tangled Hearts did not in any way disappoint. This great read includes passion, love, magic, romance, adventure, humor, and highlanders.
    The very strong heroine has a dire mission to save her family, and not afraid to do whatever necessary to do this, even when circumstances make it seem impossible. Although the heroine douses the flames, the hero actually rescues her from being burned at the stake on his way to deliver a traitor, who happens to be a relative of hers, to the crown. She enlists his help to set everything straight. Imagine that! The author pulls the reader into the story and places them in the middle of the depth of the book. Sometimes I felt like I could actually see what was happening to the characters and wanted to yell “watch out”.
    The action is fast paced and the energy sparks between the hero and heroine are great. This isn’t a book the reader wants to skip forward because you want to read every page.
    I read the first book of the series, Captured Heart, first, but it is not really necessary. It is however, certain, that if you don’t you will want to after reading Tangled Hearts.
    “Growing up on a pirate ship, every day was full of adventure for Pandora Wyatt. It was also the perfect place for her to use her magic without persecution. But after her surrogate father is imprisoned in the Tower of London, Pandora leaves the safety of the vessel to rescue him before he's executed. She expects her mission to be difficult, but what she doesn't expect is to have her life saved by the sexiest man she's ever met.

    Highland warrior Ewan Brody always wanted a sweet, uncomplicated woman by his side, but he can't fight his attraction to the beautiful enchantress who's stumbled into his life. He quickly learns, though, that Pandora is not only a witch, but also a pirate and possibly a traitor's daughter--and though she's tricked him into playing her husband at King Henry's court, he's falling hard.

    Soon, they begin to discover dark secrets leading to the real traitor of the Tudor court, the one Ewan was hired to capture. Now, Ewan and Pandora must uncover the truth before they lose more than just their hearts”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    nice romance

    Just the appropriate mix of romance, mystery and sexual tension with a hunky Scottsman with a witch/pirate. Fun read, would like to see part 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    TANGLED HEARTS by Heather McCollum is an exciting Historical Par

    TANGLED HEARTS by Heather McCollum is an exciting Historical Paranormal Romance set in 1517 England & Scotland. The Tudor era. #2 in “A Highland Heart novel”, but can be read as a stand alone. Has just the right amount of suspense, passion and romance. Filled with treason, betrayal, a traitor or two, Scottish Highlanders, High Sea adventure, passion, a witch, a bit of magic, deceit, a bit of trouble, lots of danger and love. What a cast of characters, King Henry VIII, Jane Seymour and Ann Bolyn just to name a few. The Tudor era at it’s worst or best. Meet, Ewan Brody, a Highland warrior and Pandora Wyatt,a witch among other things. Follow them on an adventure of passion andlove. It’s not just about the magic but its about the story of two people, the magic of love, the Tudor dynasty and what a story. I would highly recommend “Tangled Hearts” especially if you enjoy high adventure, highlanders, magic, the Tudor era, and the magic of love. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Heather McCollum is a new-to-me author who is recently published

    Heather McCollum is a new-to-me author who is recently published and has two series to her name. Tangled hearts is the third volume in her Highlands Hearts series. The three others are titled Captures heart, Highlander heart, and the next to come out will be Crimson heart. I loved the beginning of the novel. Lots of humor in a very dark context and difficult subjects (children abuse and slavery, the hunt of witches and false accusations). The background is also well used: Henri VIII is about to get rid of his wife Anne Boleyn to marry Jane Seymour. We can’t be mistaken on the era all the more so there are interventions of historical characters, like the King, his wife-to-be, or Thomas Cromwell.

    The main characters are very good, and likeable. I like their interactions, the fact they talk to each other and neither of them is blind to the flaws or qualities of the other. I really liked the fact that the hero, Ewan Brody, always supports her in her projects even though he is frequently overwhelmed by the acting talents and the powers of the heroine, Pandora Wyatt, who is a witch.
    I also completely loved Ewan’s possessiveness, a real alpha male like I love because doubled up with a big desire to protect her and what’s more, in love even if he doesn’t realize at first.
    However I found the end too long, especially some difficult to understand decisions from both the heroes. They are too gullible at some moments and I thought it a shame.

    As for the sex scenes, they are very well described, not very numerous but enough IMO. Because their story is made of seduction scenes and sensuality, which I find more interesting as for me.

    The action is very well paced. There’s always something going on and even if I knew pertinently the heroes would be happy together forever (after all, it’s peculiar to a romance), I was often afraid for them, together or separately. I also loved the interventions of the other characters, heroes from the diverse volumes of the series, be it the two previous or the next. This kind of intervention, meant to entice the reader who’s discovering the author’s universe, works perfectly when she succeeds in getting us to understand the different characters are real friends, ready to help them if need be. And the author succeeded in her gamble: I want to read the previous books in her series. What’s more, it’s good to know Tangled hearts can be read as a standalone.

    To conclude, I found the novel quite irregular but I noted lots of positive points during my reading, especially a very, very good end, which goes beyond the heroes’ happiness by focusing on other less important characters of whom I like to know they’ll have a better life. For all these reasons, it’s a story which deserves a good rating for lack of the best one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Though this is the second in the series it can be read stand-alo

    Though this is the second in the series it can be read stand-alone.  This story has everything.  Hot Scots, pirates (both good and bad), magic, action, adventure and love.  What is not to like?  You don’t have to be a fan of historical romance to get a kick out of this book but fans of the genre will enjoy it too.  This is an all around fun read.  
    I received a copy from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    *I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of

    *I received an ARC of this book free from NetGalley on behalf of Entangled Publishing, LLC in exchange for an honest review*

    Whether known as Pandora Wyatt, Rebecca Wellington, Dory Brody, a witch, a pirate, or a lady, Dory is an exceptional woman with lots of spunk. Due to her uncontrollable desire to help others with her gift she continually finds herself in trouble. Save a child’s life, get marked as conspiring with the devil, and burned at the stake for being a witch. Things weren’t exactly fair for her, but she was a fighter and refused to let anything or anyone keep her from what she wanted to do.

    When Ewan Brody’s life crosses paths with Dory’s his simple mission becomes one tangled with half-truths, betrayals, conspiring dignitaries, and something he had absolutely no desire to ever find…a beautifully insane woman who captured his heart. As a warrior he was prepared to handle anything thrown at him, but as a man he knew he was in trouble the minute he set eyes on Dory. She would lead him into the lion’s den and he would have no choice but to follow his pirate witch wife in order to protect her from whatever trouble she’d surely get into.

    The story takes place in London, during the reign of King Henry VIII. Add in a witch with high society family lineage who wants to free her pirate family, a Scot who wants to be far away from England as soon as possible, and a secret conspiracy to overthrow the king by keeping him from having an heir. Let me just say I became very familiar with the Tower and Dory’s tornados.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story and look forward to reading other books by Heather McCollum.

    My Favorite Moments: I loved it when Dory first met Caden and he basically gave her the translation of what Ewan had said to her in Gaelic. I also loved the conflict inside Ewan as he attempted to process his feelings for the lovely Dory.

    “So soft. She was the spawn of Boswell. Yielding. She was raised by pirates! Delicious. She wanted to break into the Tower! Tantalizing. She was a bloody witch!”

    My Favorite Quotes: I think every quote on my list either made me smile or laugh.

    “I stabbed him,” she said succinctly. “Right in the problem.”

    “She wouldn’t be thanking him if she knew how close he was to making sure her Will never got the wrong idea about her attentions again. Didn’t she say she couldn’t heal a limb that had been cut clean off?”

    “We don’t fit.”

    “Captain O’Neil, I don’t believe you’ve met my husband.”

    “Healed, but not new.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This was an extremely enjoyable book! The characters are an exce

    This was an extremely enjoyable book! The characters are an excellent match and the story line had me laughing out loud in several spots. This is the second book in this series, but it reads perfectly as a stand alone! I haven't read the first book, and I never felt like I was missing out on something. I will be looking into getting the first one now, though! I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1