Customer Reviews for

Tangled Past

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A great story!

So there is a one-star review by anonymous written by somebody that does not like to read this kind of novel and confesses to not reading this book, but has decided that a review was necessary. I DID read this book and I enjoyed it and I am a regular customer of Carina ...
So there is a one-star review by anonymous written by somebody that does not like to read this kind of novel and confesses to not reading this book, but has decided that a review was necessary. I DID read this book and I enjoyed it and I am a regular customer of Carina Press. A blurb is not supposed to carry all of the emotional weight of a story and there was certainly more to this story than the two paragraphs that the other reviewer bothered to skim over. This is a product of Leah Braemel and a prequel to an earlier work Texas Tangle (another book that I liked). This was a good erotic, historical romance and I loved the characters. The story takes place in the 1800's but I am pretty sure that it was not meant to revolve around the history of that time, but the relationship and the danger that came from it. It is a beautiful story of three people that love each other- like it was meant to be.

posted by warpeD on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Read

A shotgun wedding can leave a bad taste in a woman's mouth but not for Sarah McLeod. After wielding a shovel and jamming her knee into a part of Nate Campbell's "anatomy that no knee had a right being anywhere near"; and then being caught in the barn that night with Nat...
A shotgun wedding can leave a bad taste in a woman's mouth but not for Sarah McLeod. After wielding a shovel and jamming her knee into a part of Nate Campbell's "anatomy that no knee had a right being anywhere near"; and then being caught in the barn that night with Nate and a naked Jackson Kellar, Sarah soon finds herself standing in front of a preacher saying wedding vows.

Nate and Jackson are lovers during a time when their love for each other was considered taboo. Caught fooling around in the barn by Sarah then forced to marry her when her father shows up, life becomes complicated and Jackson finds himself saddled with a wife. Watching the three working out their feeling for each other was the highlight of the story, and it was very exciting to see their emotions surface and the bond between the three grow.

The tension and heat that the three threw off kept the excitement going to the end. From Jackson's slow, sweet and caring lovemaking to Sarah, to Nate dealing with listening to the two of them knocking boots at night and waking up to the same sounds in the morning. Even though the out come was predictable (this IS romance after all), the plot had enough twists and turns to keep me entertained. I like the personalities of the three main characters, and thought that Ms. Braemel did a beautiful job in making them come to life within the story line.

Even though the plot was not full of tension and mystery it had some pretty hot sex scenes full of love and tenderness which made up for the lack of nail biting anxiety. I would recommend Tangled Past to all my friends who enjoy the sweeter side of erotic romance. Definitely a story that will remain in my library to be read again.

Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    A great story!

    So there is a one-star review by anonymous written by somebody that does not like to read this kind of novel and confesses to not reading this book, but has decided that a review was necessary. I DID read this book and I enjoyed it and I am a regular customer of Carina Press. A blurb is not supposed to carry all of the emotional weight of a story and there was certainly more to this story than the two paragraphs that the other reviewer bothered to skim over. This is a product of Leah Braemel and a prequel to an earlier work Texas Tangle (another book that I liked). This was a good erotic, historical romance and I loved the characters. The story takes place in the 1800's but I am pretty sure that it was not meant to revolve around the history of that time, but the relationship and the danger that came from it. It is a beautiful story of three people that love each other- like it was meant to be.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Loving with out fear

    It is 2:15am. I could not go to sleep till I finished this western tail. The emotions Ms. Braemel portraits is just wonderful I was expecting the steamy intimacy, but it was the family and friendship bonds that were an unexpected bonus.

    I would defiantly suggest the book if you enjoy escaping to the west. What is better than chaps?

    Storyline: Heartfelt

    Intimacy: Steamy (MM, MF, MMF/MFM)

    Enjoyment: Read in one evening

    Book length: 48,000 words

    Kindle length: 2520

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Interesting Read

    A shotgun wedding can leave a bad taste in a woman's mouth but not for Sarah McLeod. After wielding a shovel and jamming her knee into a part of Nate Campbell's "anatomy that no knee had a right being anywhere near"; and then being caught in the barn that night with Nate and a naked Jackson Kellar, Sarah soon finds herself standing in front of a preacher saying wedding vows.

    Nate and Jackson are lovers during a time when their love for each other was considered taboo. Caught fooling around in the barn by Sarah then forced to marry her when her father shows up, life becomes complicated and Jackson finds himself saddled with a wife. Watching the three working out their feeling for each other was the highlight of the story, and it was very exciting to see their emotions surface and the bond between the three grow.

    The tension and heat that the three threw off kept the excitement going to the end. From Jackson's slow, sweet and caring lovemaking to Sarah, to Nate dealing with listening to the two of them knocking boots at night and waking up to the same sounds in the morning. Even though the out come was predictable (this IS romance after all), the plot had enough twists and turns to keep me entertained. I like the personalities of the three main characters, and thought that Ms. Braemel did a beautiful job in making them come to life within the story line.

    Even though the plot was not full of tension and mystery it had some pretty hot sex scenes full of love and tenderness which made up for the lack of nail biting anxiety. I would recommend Tangled Past to all my friends who enjoy the sweeter side of erotic romance. Definitely a story that will remain in my library to be read again.

    Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    E

    A GOOD READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For being only 134 pages this story packs a punch.

    It starts off immediately with Nate and Jackson at the McLeod ranch getting attacked my a crazed shovel wielding Sarah. She see's Nate and Jackson taking off with her horse and assumes that they are stealing it. After a good kneeing to Nate's groin, Jackson secures Sarah and gets her to calm down before he explains that they bought the horses from her father. Later that night while in her room she overhears her father, brother and farmhand discussing their plan of attack on Jackson and Nate to steal back the horses that they sold them. In an attempt to warn them she runs out to the barn and walks in on them. Jackson realizes that Sarah has discovered them and quickly takes action insisting she tell him what she saw. With that, her father and brother walk into the barn and see a naked Jackson hiding Sarah behind him. They of course jump to conclusions when they see not only a naked Jackson but a half naked Nate with his daughter and quickly marries her off to Jackson, a man that she doesn't even know.

    The story revolves around the three of them while they adjust to their new lives. I loved the relationships between all of them. Jackson wants to do right by his new wife and leaves his past with Nate behind him as he tries to connect with his new wife. Sarah knows that Nate and Jackson love each other and feels like she messed things up between them. Nate, poor Nate, is left on the outside looking in. He does get involved and whacks Jackson upside the head a few times when he upsets Sarah or doesn't do something right. Which I thought was sweet because he loved Jackson but he cared about Sarah too and wanted to make sure that Jackson was treating her right. The whole thing didn't seem fake or unbelievable. That is saying a lot since this was my first Menage a trois book. I really enjoyed the story behind it and reading as the three of them settled into their new roles with the hand they had been dealt.

    Favorite quote..."Something inside him shattered when she rested her head on his shoulder and snuggled closer. Despite what she'd been through, what she still faced, she trusted him. A complete stranger. She was a gift, one unexpected, unlooked for. One he would treasure forever." - Jackson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Great Read! Very enjoyable love story!

    Great Read! Very enjoyable love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Nice story

    Could have been steamier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Good book

    Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Great story!!!

    Love the relationship between Nate & Jackson, then add Sarah to the mix makes for some hot sex & a great story. Leah Braemel has a great writing style, can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Gay

    This story is so gay and nasty

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Very good

    Well written. Lots of romance, sensual. Good full story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    Really good story...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good book

    ++++++

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Recommend

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    average historical menage

    Decent menage but nothing special

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!!

    I would like to say to anonymous, Did you look at the cover of the book or even read the blurb?? I mean come on!!! It was perfectly clear what the story was about. Not to mention you cheated yourself out of reading a well written book. This was the first book that I had read by this author and I thought it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5