Customer Reviews for

The Tao of Wu

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!

words can't explain the depth of this book, Rza's cipher or his wisdom. this is a mere drop in the ocean of the making of Wu Tang. it's deep man deep! this is displayed in my house 24/7!

posted by Dunn1inc on October 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book is utter and complete garbage.  It's poorly structured,

The book is utter and complete garbage. 
It's poorly structured, and extremely difficult to follow. It's worse than Hitler's ranting in Mein Kampf.
The book is complete torture.  If following the flow of the book won't kill you, the drivel will. 

The author is a self-p...
The book is utter and complete garbage. 
It's poorly structured, and extremely difficult to follow. It's worse than Hitler's ranting in Mein Kampf.
The book is complete torture.  If following the flow of the book won't kill you, the drivel will. 

The author is a self-proclaimed pseudo-intellectual, who's come up with his own world philosophy by erratically mixing in values from different world religions. 
Furthermore, the philosophy is skewed and has no real grounds in comparison to the real world.

In the book, Robert Diggs frequently mentions the "divine mathematics", and gallantly demonstrated basic arithmetic skills on page 132:
"The year was '97-a very serious number in Mathematics. I remember telling everyone that this was the year- the year of 9 and 7, the 
year of Born God. 9 and 7 is 16, and 1 and 6 is 7."

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Recommended

    I love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    This book was amazing!!! I was actually looking for a book on Qi

    This book was amazing!!! I was actually looking for a book on Qi-Gong and I came across this. I had a slight interest in Wu-Tang (had the game on the Playstation when I was a kid) and I never thought that I'd see a book written by the founder "the RZA". I can say I was very ignorant to the knowledge that RZA had and the people in his clan. It opened up my eyes to never judge a book by its cover and I was in aw the whole time reading it. Soon as I got home I didn't stop reading until I finished it. I learned so much and it helped me get my life back on track. I would recommend this book to all who are confused on their path and for those who need a good read. I feel like reading it again! It is soooo compelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Killla b

    Awesome book made so much sence

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    highly recommend

    this was an amazing book, rza is a deep & spiritual artist. there is a lot of information about wutang that some may not know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wu Tang! Wu Tang! Wu Tang!

    words can't explain the depth of this book, Rza's cipher or his wisdom. this is a mere drop in the ocean of the making of Wu Tang. it's deep man deep! this is displayed in my house 24/7!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Skystar

    WE NEED WARRIORS AND KITS EVERY ONES DISSAPERING LEFT AND RIGHT COME LMFAO FIRST RESULT -by Skystar leasder of Skyfall clan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    To all cats who need a clan

    Join thunderclan goalie first reault

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Fangstar of Frostclan

    She pads in. "We are in need of cats. We have a med cat and deputy but are in need of apprentices, warriors, kits, and a mate for myself. (I am shecat) thk u all very much." She pads out to ice wind res 1

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Loli

    ((I hav eon thing to change in your post: We aren't brave and partylike, we are EPICAL AND CRA-CRA AND LAF TO PAR-TAY AND BE FUN!!!!!!!!!! JOIN THE EPICAL THUNDAHCLAN!!!!!!!!
    Sincerly,
    Your face
    P.S.: Your face called. It wants a refund.
    P.S.S.: I saw you on T.V. yesterday. You starred on AnimalPlantet for~ MOST HAIRY!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Flameheat to Ottersplash

    My name is Flameheat. Im an orange tabby tom with white paws and amber eyes. I need a very active and medium-sized clan. Can you help?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    To otter splash

    Do you know of any vampire rps?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Neveralones kits

    "We need a clan!" Sorrelkit squeaked.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    IF YOU NEED A CLAN....

    JOIN DAWNCLAN AT FIREWOOD ALL RESULTS!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Icetail

    A smal white shecat wanders throughout the clearing, lookimg for a clanvtht would accept her as their medcat.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Ottersplash

    I will find rpers for all ur clans. ~Ottersplash

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Wolf pack

    Join a wolf pack at moon wolf res 2! There is an alpha female and a beta female! They both need mates but we are in need of other pack members! (Hunter, guard, wolf pup caretaker, fighters, healer, ect.... ask us about any other positions u think we should have!) Thank u! Also please put ur appearance and personality in case we need to help find what position u need.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    TO ALL WINGED CATS & CATS W/ POWERS

    JOIN MADNESSCLAN!! We are desparate for more members!!! We do not accept evil cats, but we do accept cats with powers and wings. To join, go to 'madness' result one and ask to join, then put your discription in the second result. PLEASE PLEASE JOIN!! I AM THE ONLY MEMBER SO FAR!!!!! •GR|ff|NSTAR•

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    niff

    from the south but listen 2 wu 24/7. i want 2 thank them 4 all the hard work and sweat put into the music so big hip hop fans like me still can enjoy the purity.great book,r.i.p. dirt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE RZA THE TEACHER THE ABBOT THE LEADER

    I basicaly grew up on the entire wu-tang clan's music and way of life before reading the wu-tang manualy or the toa of wui always felt the leadership energy from the rza i aways knew he had exstreme knowledge of self but this book the second enstallment was very enlighting a lot of things he talked or touched on in this book i can relate tooand i"am proud to say that i got a lifetime of jewels from this book and became a student of the rza i think everyone should have this book especialy if you came from tha back ground and is a Wu representive PEACE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    The RZA does it on wax... and paper!

    I have been an avid fan of the RZA and his compadres in the Wu Tang Clan for about fifteen years and he has never ceased to impress me both with his creativity and unique insight, an insight he has gained by living through hard years and a vision he has possessed since his early days. This book is a spoken version of his raps throughout his career. For those who are not huge rap fans and have a bit of a hard time with the intensity that comes across on Wu Tang albums this book serves as a comparable alternative. It reads in a way that makes you imagine you are sitting in a coffee shop with the RZA and asking him what makes up the essence of his being, as well as what inspired him and his peeps to create the awesome material that they have been putting on vinyl for almost two decades. He comes across as a very accessible, modest and friendly personalty and has the ability to relate on a very basic human level. He successfully fuses African American with East Asian, whether in the realm of life, death, mystic concepts, or pop culture references. He is also distinctly American in the sense that he embodies one of our greatest qualities, that of molding various cultures together to form a new cultural hybrid. I sincerely hope I get the opportunity to chat with him one day and strongly recommend this book to people of all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2