Customer Reviews for

Tapestry of Fortunes

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

True Berg fans will love this book and the bonus book for ereaders!

Frankly I don't understand the last reviews. Once again Berg touch my mind and heart and made me think of my own life tapestry. I have read every Berg novel along with her other offerings and I think she is true to form in this book (pun intended). The only complaint I...
Frankly I don't understand the last reviews. Once again Berg touch my mind and heart and made me think of my own life tapestry. I have read every Berg novel along with her other offerings and I think she is true to form in this book (pun intended). The only complaint I have is that they end far too quickly because I cant put them down.
I'd also like to thank Elizabeth and the publisher for including "OpenHouse" in the ebook. I own the hard copy (along with the others) but it's nice to have on my Nook. Some follks just can't recognize a gift.

posted by 9139502 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I am very confused.  In the description of this book, it says it

I am very confused.  In the description of this book, it says it has 240 pages.  So I am enjoying the read and suddenly a new chapter begins and what is to be a summary of what has happened to the characters in the past year.  Now this is on my nook, and on page 198 the...
I am very confused.  In the description of this book, it says it has 240 pages.  So I am enjoying the read and suddenly a new chapter begins and what is to be a summary of what has happened to the characters in the past year.  Now this is on my nook, and on page 198 the book is over.  It then begins the first chapter of her Open House book, which I read years ago, so I have no desire to read it again and did not think I was paying for this...not a word is said about this book in the description.  So I am giving this book one star because it was more like a short story with just glimpses of a beginning, middle and end.  I have read every one of Elizabeth Berg's books.  This one has just left me puzzled.

posted by MrsO on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    I wish I had read the review below before reading the book. It s

    I wish I had read the review below before reading the book. It said the book was almost 400 pages on my Nook. I was enjoying the story and all of sudden , it is obviously a wrap up chapter, skipping a year and didn't wrap up any of the stories of the other three characters! What a disappointment! and a waste of money for a book of 200 pages. I liked the story but so bummed at how short it was and didn't even wrap up the story!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I am very confused.  In the description of this book, it says it

    I am very confused.  In the description of this book, it says it has 240 pages.  So I am enjoying the read and suddenly a new chapter begins and what is to be a summary of what has happened to the characters in the past year.  Now this is on my nook, and on page 198 the book is over.  It then begins the first chapter of her Open House book, which I read years ago, so I have no desire to read it again and did not think I was paying for this...not a word is said about this book in the description.  So I am giving this book one star because it was more like a short story with just glimpses of a beginning, middle and end.  I have read every one of Elizabeth Berg's books.  This one has just left me puzzled.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Where is the Elizabeth Berg of a few years ago? Tapestry of For

    Where is the Elizabeth Berg of a few years ago? Tapestry of Fortunes was yet another disappoint in a string of disappointing Berg novels. The story line had potential, but was lost in the impossibility of circumstances. For example, the main character ( the voice of the novel) gives up her career, lists and sells her home and most of it's contents, and packs up and moves into a house with three women she doesn't know....all within a few hours. The potentially interesting problems facing the four women are glossed over and neatly (and happily) resolved by a short road trip across the Midwest. This book is too hard to relate to, too unrealistic, too absurd to believe. The characters are one-dimensional and not very likeable. . It is sad, because the tender and compassionate insight Ms. Berg used to have is gone. What happened to her gift of creating characters you would love to know, facing problems you also had? I will not read another of Ms. Berg's offerings. There are too
    many worthier books to read. If you want to read Berg, please try her first four or five novels. They will touch your heart in a very special way.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Very disappointing when I found the new book ended prematurely a

    Very disappointing when I found the new book ended prematurely and then was insulted to find 'Open House' attached almost like an after thought. No mention of that when I purchased the nook book. Shame on you!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    True Berg fans will love this book and the bonus book for ereaders!

    Frankly I don't understand the last reviews. Once again Berg touch my mind and heart and made me think of my own life tapestry. I have read every Berg novel along with her other offerings and I think she is true to form in this book (pun intended). The only complaint I have is that they end far too quickly because I cant put them down.
    I'd also like to thank Elizabeth and the publisher for including "OpenHouse" in the ebook. I own the hard copy (along with the others) but it's nice to have on my Nook. Some follks just can't recognize a gift.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very predictable

    This is not one of Elizabeth Berg's best novels. The characters are not well developed and unrealistic. A middle aged woman suddenly sells her house and moves in with 3 other middle aged women and they are instantly best friends. She also goes to a nursing home and helps to save a relationship between a dieing man and his fiance. And, of course she ends up in a relationship. The surprise is that the book is really a novella and the nook version has another of Berg's previous novels attached to it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    I loved this novel! I lost my husband about 9 months ago - and

    I loved this novel! I lost my husband about 9 months ago - and this book really resonated with my experience with grief and with now seeking living - not just being alive. I loved all four interconnected stories and the message about life. Well written and definitely connects with loss and finding a way to honor the lessons our loved ones teach us through their lives and our losses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Another good one

    A great book. I just wish they were longer . This one ended too quickly but a good book to read. Clears the heat and mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Another great read

    I can not wait for Elizabeth Berg's book to come out. They are so true to a woman's voice.
    Her books are always enthralling and the end always comes too soon. Her characters are people I would want as friends of mine.
    The story of friendship lost and found was very special and the road trip was one I'd love to take!
    More Elizabeth Berg please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes a book comes along at just the right time in our lives

    Sometimes a book comes along at just the right time in our lives. This is true for Tapestry of Fortunes. A lovely story, well written and thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Liz Berg is back, but not wholly 100% in her latest book, which

    Liz Berg is back, but not wholly 100% in her latest book, which I just finished.
    It ended abruptly, w/ a succeeding old 1990 story

    'Open House,' which I read years ago.
    And guess what? 'Open House' was a 5 star, and her recent a 4 star! I will keep reading Berg's books, though, if not for her human content and poetic words. They can take you away...BeachGal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Sounds good

    Sounds good

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    Elizabeth Berg understands many things that run through the mind

    Elizabeth Berg understands many things that run through the minds of women. But this book became more and more far-fetched and simplistic. When I realized so much had happened at only 150 pages, I realized there must be more complex issues to be revealed.  SO wrong! I agree with most of the writers here that the book ended way too abruptly. The protagonist is a woman who was deeply committed to deceased best friend and volunteers with a terminally ill person, and meets women making difficult decisions.  Turns out it's ALL about the old boyfriend and everything else gets either sewn up or forgotten by the end.  Even worse was to find out that the book company (with or without Berg's knowledge) tacked on a book written years ago (which I read) to "fill it out to full book size of 400+ pages originally claimed. The actual book was more of a novella at 198 pages with 42 pages of lists, discussion notes, etc. Overall, it was way too expensive for a Nook book and was not clearly represented (as most people on this site agree). Thank you B&N for the refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Awful

    Uninteresting and basically unreadable. Not an original idea or a believable statement in this book. Berg should take the money she made writing GOOD books (yes, there were some) and retire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    GREAT book!

    I loved this book and the characters. I don't want to give the story away....dislike when others do that. I couldn't put this book down. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    I read every book she writes. She never disappoints, I am a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    i really enjoyed this book, as i always have with elizabeth berg

    i really enjoyed this book, as i always have with elizabeth berg's other novels.  for those of you who read the nook version, nothing was cut out-that's how the book ended.    i believe ms. berg was getting her readers to use their imaginations with both the storyline and the way the book ended.  lighten up, people-this is fiction! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    I loved this book - it came at a perfect crossroads of time in m

    I loved this book - it came at a perfect crossroads of time in my life.  I wished it was longer - the characters could have had more depth and exploration if told in more than just the first person.  I would definitely recommend it to others.  I loved the theme of taking a chance to get yourself "unstuck."  The world is full of possibilities, paths to take, and people to care about, if you dare take the plunge.  It really made me think about the story long after I finished it.  I had the privilege of meeting Ms. Berg at a book signing.  She is so poised and has a genuine overall graciousness about her.  I could feel this story coming from her voice, her thoughts.  I will read more, that's for certain.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Just okay

    This is my first book to read by Berg. wasn't really excited about the book. It was just okay. Read the book in one day. It might be a good read for someone going through a divorce or a loss of a loved one. Found it to be very scripted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    not as good as her others

    was dissapointed-usually love her books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2