Customer Reviews for

Tara Road

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

You can't please everyone ...

I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to...
I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

posted by 30yearoldavidreader on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    You can't please everyone ...

    I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

    Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was really eager to start this book and found very entertaining - till the end - there wasn't any ending, it just stopped! The story was great, I loved all the characters, but I wanted to know what happenned in their lives after Ria decided to go it on her own (I think) and what every happenned to the Danny/Ria. and Lady Ryan love triangle? Too many question left unanswered.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Tara road

    Amazing....excellent read....you people can not be serious....i mean this is a very absurd book...truly not a good read at all what a waste of time....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Recommend - a must read for women who have families.

    Delightful read. Had happy and sad and thoughtful and exciting parts, making it an easy read from page 1 to end. Her best book for me remains to be "Circle of Friends". "Tara Road" may come in as a second. Lost myself in the book often making me feel I was there in Ireland with them in the living room talking with the people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Story Doesn't End

    I have never written a review before, but I felt I had to write something in this instance. I loved this book. It was one of the best I'd read in a long time. The character development was excellent as was the story. I couldn't wait to see how it all ended. Unfortunately, it didn't end! She failed to try up any of the story lines. All the issues in the book went unresolved. I assumed that there must be a sequel, but I don't see one. I am very, very disappointed at the ending. I am annoyed that I invested all that time reading this yet I'll never know what happened to the characters. If you are OK with that, the book is enjoyable. However, if you expect stories to end, I would skip this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Realistic, Touching

    I loved this book the first time I read it, and I am now rereading it in its Nook form. A sensitive and honest portrayal of characters who stay with you when the book has ended. I wish I could have lunch with Ria right now and then go shopping with Annie. I highly recommend this lovely book. P.S. I do not like the layout and errors in the Nook format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    An amazing story

    I loved this book, couldn't put it down!! This was the first book I ever read by this author, however I will definitely be looking into more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great read.

    Highly recommended - a great read. Maeve does such great character studies. She also makes the places come alive in your mind. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    written for people. who dont read much

    i found. this book mind numbing. if i had not purchased this. book, i would have put it down..life is too short to read cheesy easy reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    I love her books! Cant wait to read more of hers!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!

    Since I just moved to the area, my neighbor lent me this book while I was in the process of re-building my library. I was so caught up in the story and all the characters that were involved in it. Every single time I picked up the book it felt like an escape into these character's lives. I finally finished the book this morning and I felt happy and yet sad at the same time that it finally came to an end. I couldn't wait to go online and see what other books this author had written. I would definitely buy this book for my own collection and read it once again in a few years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    I absolutely loved everything about this book. The characters are real people and the author's writing style is so wonderful, I was hopeful that the book would never end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Tara Road by Maeve Binchy

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Could not put it down. I felt as if I knew each and everyone of the characters, they were so well drawn. I cared very much what happened to them. I heartily recommend this book to one and all and have also given it as a gift. Bookworm1FG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Tara Road is great

    It was like living on Tara Road, loved all the characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Best book ever!!!

    What an outstanding storyline, my heart will always belong to Tara Road!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 1999

    Fun... however???

    I really enjoyed this book, yet I disliked it in the same breath. When I read a book I want the author to move me, create an escape, and lead me into another world away from the one I live in daily. This book didn't pull that off, but it was trivial and interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Very good

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Love th fanfic

    Sounds exactly like a warriors book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    ITS SHAWSOME

    Its the combo of shuper and awsome its SHAWSOME more more!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10