Customer Reviews for

Tara Road

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

You can't please everyone ...

I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to...
I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

posted by 30yearoldavidreader on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    You can't please everyone ...

    I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Story Doesn't End

    I have never written a review before, but I felt I had to write something in this instance. I loved this book. It was one of the best I'd read in a long time. The character development was excellent as was the story. I couldn't wait to see how it all ended. Unfortunately, it didn't end! She failed to try up any of the story lines. All the issues in the book went unresolved. I assumed that there must be a sequel, but I don't see one. I am very, very disappointed at the ending. I am annoyed that I invested all that time reading this yet I'll never know what happened to the characters. If you are OK with that, the book is enjoyable. However, if you expect stories to end, I would skip this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    written for people. who dont read much

    i found. this book mind numbing. if i had not purchased this. book, i would have put it down..life is too short to read cheesy easy reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    Uhh....What?

    This book just did not make sense. The scenes and dialogue were confusing, especiallly when Danny confesses, and the reactions were unreal. I mean, what woman just stands by and says 'Yes, dear' when her husband abandons her? It was pathetic. Then at the end Ms. Binchey wrapped up NOTHING in the book, just gave vague hints and let it drop. The characters were poor, and as another reviewer pointed out, you got the feeling you were hearing the story second hand with quotes stuck in. I barely even finished. Sorry for the blatant criticism, but I really would like a GOOD book at the moment. If you want a better Maeve Binchey, try 'The Glass Lake'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    boring and predictable

    This was my first Maeve Binchy book and probably my last. I had to slog through the first half just to reach the second half which was SO predictable. Who likes to read a book where you can guess what's going to happen before it actually happens? The only emotion this book stirred in me was annoyance at how painfully clueless the main character was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Disappointing!

    For months, I looked forward to reading Tara Road. I had heard about it on Oprah. But when I read it, it seemed to go SO SLOW. Nothing much happened in the book. And I couldn't help but feel disgust at Ria, the main character, for all the naive choices she kept making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Not as good as her other books...

    I have read all of Ms. Binchey's novels, and enjoyed all but this one. The characters in this novel don't seem as sympathetic or likable, and I really didn't feel like I was part of the story, like I did when I read her other titles. Maybe I felt that the story was too depressing... I await her next effort. However, Maeve Binchey's worst effort beats Danielle Steele's best effort hands down, which is why I will continue reading her work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    a beach read

    This book was a predictable easy to put down read. It reminded me of one of Danielle Steel's books that she cranks out by the dozens. Not very meaty, but something to read on a rainy day. Not one of Maeve Benchy's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1