Customer Reviews for

Tara Road

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

You can't please everyone ...

I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to...
I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

posted by 30yearoldavidreader on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

    Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Recommend - a must read for women who have families.

    Delightful read. Had happy and sad and thoughtful and exciting parts, making it an easy read from page 1 to end. Her best book for me remains to be "Circle of Friends". "Tara Road" may come in as a second. Lost myself in the book often making me feel I was there in Ireland with them in the living room talking with the people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Very good

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    ITS SHAWSOME

    Its the combo of shuper and awsome its SHAWSOME more more!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Interesting Character Study

    It takes a few chapters to set up all the characters, but once you get into it, they all intermesh nicely. Ms. Binchy makes you care about them and you can see people you know in most of the characters! It is very real. I disagree with another reviewer that states the story is not 'wrapped' up at the end. It leads you right up to what will happen, it just doesn't go into detail. The story goes through enough years that we see the pivotal character and a later appearing character make some very satisfying changes in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Kept me interested the whole time.

    I liked this story alot. It was an entertaining and warm hearted book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    GREAT !!

    Maeve writes really smoothly -- this book is over 600 pages but you still can find NO PLACE to stop because it really flows! Any woman that reads fiction would enjoy it because she writes about real people in real life. Keep the books coming Maeve!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Engrossed!!!

    This was my 4th Binchy novel & I could not put it down. Didn't do a thing for 2 days but read. Being divorced & a parent, I could totally relate. Made me happy to see Ria open up & believe in herself!! I love Binchy's characters. Even though they are somewhat predictable. I'm a fool for happy endings!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Maeve Binchy's stories really strike a chord through your heart!

    Binchy's characters are like people. It's as if they were your neighbors.I really feel for each character, from Ria to Bernadette, the pregnant girlfriend you'd love to hate but can't, because she's quite the fragile member of the cast (though she does not carry much weight). It may not have turned out well for Ria, but she has a lot of people who care for her. Danny's not such a big loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    A Great Weekend Read

    I loved Tara Road. It was the first Binchy I have read. The characters were all people about which I cared. I hurt when they hurt; I laughed when they cried. I could see the house on Tara Road as it started to take shape. Binchy develops characters so beautifully and her details are so descriptive. I'm buying everything by her I can find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    How Do You Play the Hand You're Dealt?

    Tara Road's strength is that you get an unusual degree of character development, both in quantity and quality. Many new novels reveal an unchanging character through one incident, combined with a brief reference or two to what the person was like when younger. Tara Road instead builds a long-term picture of the values, motives, and perspectives of a variety of characters by exposing them to ordinary life issues in both small and large ways. The characters often change in subtle and important ways, and they seem more real as a result. This connection is much like what you observe with family members, friends, and neighbors. Each character has the same flaw, an inability to see themselves objectively. The point seems to be that we are all fallible in that way. Eventually, developments occur that strip away some of that self-deception. How each person handles the reality is the ultimate test of what their essential characters are like. The good are reinforced in doing the right thing, and the corrupt drift off with the tides to their own best advantage. The book is also noteworthy for its structure. The first half deals with a series of family, friends, and neighbors in Dublin over more than a decade. It would make a novel in and of itself. Then a crisis shifts everyone's relationships to each other. To explore what this means, Ms. Binchy sets up an unusual plot device. Two women who are hurting, but do not know one another, exchange homes for two months to help them deal with their issues. In the process, they find that they exchange more than homes, and both grow from what they learn about the other person's life and issues. I was fascinated to see how this part of the book developed, and enjoyed it very much. I did not grade the book as a five-star effort because many themes are just dropped in with little explanation. In particular, there are a lot of people who have compromised their integrity. We are told that they did it, but we never quite get a full sense of what they did and why. So the perspective is as though you are hearing some vague gossip from someone who doesn't really know the facts. Some major plot developments are handled in exactly the same way. After it's all over, you wonder what in the world that development meant and where it came from. Ms. Bincy would be well advised to avoid writing mysteries, because of this tendency to be casual about details. I could not really imagine any reason that the story should have so much vagueness, when so much else is made crystal clear, other than from undealt-with plot development flaws. I found that I cared about these characters, even the most flawed ones, much more than almost any other fictional characters I have read about in years. The book made a significant emotional impact on me, and I thank Ms. Binchy for making that possible! People who have experienced personal losses will find this book full of potential strength. After you finish reading this book, consider for a moment what you may be missing about yourself. Who could help you get a more objective view? Engage important issues before they overwhelm you! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    Book full of emotions

    The book has captured the emotions of all the characters in the fullest manner. A good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    First time reader

    Tara Road was the first book by Maeve Binch that I have ever read, and I enjoyed it immensely. It was a very touching story, and I think that many women can relate to Ria in some way or another. It was very uplifting to see the way she coped with adversity and grew as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    A book full of many emotions

    I began to quickly take sides with Ria and think that her husband is a complete looser. Ria then makes you stay on her side by proving that she is a stong willed woman able to keep her family together and stay on top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    A Very Good Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book, and most likely will read it again someday. The plot kept my attention and the characters were so real that they became part of my life . . .No wonder it was one of Oprah's favorites . . .Wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Two countries coming together

    Tara Road was interesting, and made me think about the possibility of spending time in someone else's home in a different country for the summer. It allowed that two different women to be exposed to different things and values that were not apart of their world. It opened them up to different friends and blended both worlds together. It dragged and was slow. Not her best book. I enjoyed Evening Classes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    A book for the heart!!

    I read Tara Road last summer, and I had such a great time reading it! Tara Road is rich in that it is the story of two women coping with what facts of life that we all deal with at some point of our life, how they move on with their lives and finally became friends. I also loved the setting in both Ireland and the US. A wonderful book that contemplate the intricate relationships between husband and wife, friends, parents and children, lovers. Tara Road is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Story of struggling marriage

    'Tara Road' is about a man and a woman living in Dublin, Ireland and the hardships they go through to make their married life work. Danny and Ria have many friends who are always in and out of their home. The friends try to help the couple with any problems they have, which are many. Danny, a real-estate broker, is trying to be a true husband and father to his two children, but finds out that it is very hard for him to stay faithful to his wife Ria and stay a good father to his two children. <P> Maeve Binchy, creates characters who the reader can really relate to and care about. She describes the atmosphere and setting of the story in a way so that readers feel as though they were there. She creates a theme that love can conquer all; even though Ria and Danny have their differences, with love they can put aside their differences and make their life work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Superb Characters

    Tara Road is truly BRILLIANT, full of twists and turns that will make you laugh and cry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    kept me reading

    I couldn't wait to get to the next page. Have you ever tried to cook a meal and read a book at the same time. The beacon got burned and the eggs over cooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2