Customer Reviews for

Tara Road

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns on Tara Road!

Maeve Binchy sure knows how to hold your attention. This book is fast pace and keeps you guessing. The ending came up too quickly, and now what happens to Ria, and Annie, and Brian??? A sequel would be great.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

You can't please everyone ...

I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to...
I feel very alone in my opinion on this book... so many people seem to have loved it. I am the kind of person who feels that if you don't have something nice to say, don't say it... but I rely so heavily on these reviews when purchasing a book so I felt it necessary to voice my opinion. Although the book was engaging and hard to put down, I realized that I felt this way out of sheer amazement that all of the characters could be so unlikeable and the situations so unbelieveable. I could not relate to one character... throughout most of the book, I felt myself wanting to slap half of them and say "snap out of it" - especially, the main character, Ria. I will give the author credit for her style and I would agree that the book was well written. She did a nice job at foreshadowing many of the situations with the whole side plot of the fortune teller, however, it was not an enjoyable read for me. It felt like too much drama and not enought heartwarming. I finished it only to be able to make a sound assessment. I guess it just comes down to the fact that you can't please everyone. I know that this is a loved book by many. I just felt absolutely no connection whatsoever to this book, nor would I consider reading another by the author... just not my style.

posted by 30yearoldavidreader on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Realistic, Touching

    I loved this book the first time I read it, and I am now rereading it in its Nook form. A sensitive and honest portrayal of characters who stay with you when the book has ended. I wish I could have lunch with Ria right now and then go shopping with Annie. I highly recommend this lovely book. P.S. I do not like the layout and errors in the Nook format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    An amazing story

    I loved this book, couldn't put it down!! This was the first book I ever read by this author, however I will definitely be looking into more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great read.

    Highly recommended - a great read. Maeve does such great character studies. She also makes the places come alive in your mind. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    I love her books! Cant wait to read more of hers!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!

    Since I just moved to the area, my neighbor lent me this book while I was in the process of re-building my library. I was so caught up in the story and all the characters that were involved in it. Every single time I picked up the book it felt like an escape into these character's lives. I finally finished the book this morning and I felt happy and yet sad at the same time that it finally came to an end. I couldn't wait to go online and see what other books this author had written. I would definitely buy this book for my own collection and read it once again in a few years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read!

    I absolutely loved everything about this book. The characters are real people and the author's writing style is so wonderful, I was hopeful that the book would never end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Tara Road by Maeve Binchy

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Could not put it down. I felt as if I knew each and everyone of the characters, they were so well drawn. I cared very much what happened to them. I heartily recommend this book to one and all and have also given it as a gift. Bookworm1FG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Tara Road is great

    It was like living on Tara Road, loved all the characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Best book ever!!!

    What an outstanding storyline, my heart will always belong to Tara Road!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Love th fanfic

    Sounds exactly like a warriors book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Excellant

    You should think of becomeing a author! Plz post more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Love ot!

    Best fanfic eva!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Two words

    Love it. (( Read mine t puddles first res. If i gt three commnts I will continue my story in next res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    I cant wait till tommorow! Great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Warriors Fanfic - The Warrior's Mentor

    CHAPTER ONE......................

    The mouse skittered underneath the small pile of leaves. A ThunderClan shecat, recently made a warrior, was waiting for the right moment to - "Lightningdust!" A cat she knew very well hissed. Lightningdust's golden pelt prickled in irritation. She lost her concentration on the mouse and turned around to look at her former mentor who was sitting there. "You've been out here for seemingly moons!" Blackeagle growled. "I don't want you getting -" "You aren't my mentor anymore. Its time to let things go." She interupted. At that comment, his ears flattened and his eyes looked away. Lightningdust suspected he was thinking of his other apprentice - Goldpaw. He had fallen into the fast-running river during training...and drowned. Blackeagle probably felt like it was his fault, which led to overprotection over his new apprentice. Even after she had become a warrior, he still watched her like she was a newborn kit. She could not stand it. She put these things aside so she could calmly address him. "It's leaf-bare and prey is scarce. That is why it's taking me longer to hunt." She said the words slowly so she could keep her cool. To her surprise, her 'mentor' still nudged her towards the direction of camp. "There is plenty of freshkill that the....more experienced cats caught." Darkeagle said. He sounded, once again, like he was talking to a weak, incapable kit. She was shocked. Lightningdust planted her paws into the ground as he pushed. "No." She said blankly. Lightning was a warrior, and therefore wanted to experience that. Getting food for herself showed she was responsible and capable, and the excitenent she felt while hunting was something she enjoyed. She then decided she was beginning to sound and act like a kit in her stubbornness, so she shrugged him off. "Don't worry. I can walk there." She told him, but he still looked doubtful. Lightningdust quickly padded through the forest, not looking back at him. Once they reached camp, she hung her head, grooming her paw every once in a while so the awkwardness she felt was not visible to the other cats. She quickly chose a thin vole from the freshkill pile and leaned over it to eat. Suddenly, Darkeagle came from behind. "Be careful. Voles have lots of little bones!" Lightningdust realized several cats were looking at her, and she flushed in embarrasment. Why did he have to do that? She wondered painfully. She knew why, but didn't he understand? She was not an apprentice....In the name of StarClan, she was a grown warrior!! "Thats alright." She said coldly. To prove her point, she bent down and took a mouthful of vole, tearing its small pelt to eat the meat inside. It was not particularly juicy or delicious, but it was food and it served a purpose - it kept her alive during the long leaf-bare moons. She finished eating it, even chewing at the pelt to get off the flesh stuck to it. Lightningdust then got up, and realized that Darkeagle was not watching her, but talking to a cat named Violetdance. She realized this was her chance to escape and she ran as fast as she could to the forest. ((AUTHORS NOTE: Please post your comments here. If i get at least three nice comments, I will continue the fanfic. Next chapter will be at the next result tommorow. See you guys soon and i really hope you enjoyed reading the fanfic chapter as much as i did writing it! Cannot wait to continue lightnings adventures and thank you for your support. )) Next chapter - Tommorrow. --- (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    This book was on Oprah's book club....

    This is one of my fav's, well i say that about everyone right???

    Ria lived on Tara Road in Dublin with her dashing husband, Danny, and their two children. She fully believed she was happily married, right up until the day Danny told her he was leaving her to be with his young, pregnant girlfriend.....thats all im saying....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Intend to read all Maeve Binchy Books!!!!!

    I read this book every available minute. I loved the story line and the characters were so well describe, I could visually see them. I intend to lend this to my 21 year old grandaughter and know she will love it. A book for all ages. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    THERE IS A SEQUEL TO THIS WONDERFUL BOOK!

    This book is worth every minute of your time. It's definitely a page-turner. The character development is by far the best. For those of you disappointed that there is not a Tara Road 2 ... there is! It's called 'Ouentins.' Quentins is an excellent sequel to Tara Road. Enjoy both!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    absolutely heartwarming!

    tara road was my first maeve binchy book. i borrowed it from a friend- trying to convince me what a fabulous book this was, blah blah blah. i was intimidated by the many pages. and after i read it for a while- i was sickened by the perfect life ria suddenly seemed to have. i complained to my friend how horrid this book was, but she was still convinced that this was the greatest book she ever read and told me to read further. so i did, and i absolutely fell in love with it. tara road is one of those books that (as cliche as this sounds) you cannot put down! it brough warmth into my heart and i loved how the characters were like the people i knew in real life. mrs binchy has certainly become one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Excellect

    Tara Road is the story of everyones' life. All of us know the characters in this book. Mave Binchy can tell a tale about all of us without knowing any of us. What a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6