Customer Reviews for

Taran Wanderer (Chronicles of Prydain Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Growing pains...

    Probably one of the most surprising stories I've ever followed, 'Taran Wanderer' shifts from the epic battles in Books 1-3 and 5 to another old way of story telling, the epic journey. With the presence of Eilonwy only in mind, Taran journeys with the faithful Gurgi alone to find his parents, hoping he is of noble birth so he can win the right of the Princess Eilonwy's hand. A touching story of the different classes and views of the world, 'Taran Wanderer' really stuns you. Instead of being drawn out and irrelevant to the overall series, it really becomes one of the most amazing pieces of the tale. This book is not about heroism or destiny or even love, but about self-actualization and finding yourself amongst a world so vast and full of evil and good 'mixed' (as Alexander would say). They call 'Harry Potter' a coming of age story but to me it seems a more literal sense (He goes from 12 to 13 to 14, etc). This story is a true, raw coming of age story in which Taran grows not in years but in experience, perspective and, most of all, heart.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Taran- Impatient, Strong-willed, and...Caring?

    Taran Wanderer is seriously and honestly one of my favorite books ever. I honestly missed Eilonwy but her name was written all over it. I liked Taran Wanderer because it's where Taran did the most changing the most growing up and the most 'questing' (Is that a word?)I think it really shows Taran's sensitive side but also his strong side. I can't wait till I buy it! MR.ALEXANDER YOU ROCK YOU ARE MY VERY VERY VERY VERY FAVORITE AUTHOR!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Taran Wanderer by Lloyd Alexander Taran bowed courteously. &ldqu

    Taran Wanderer by Lloyd Alexander
    Taran bowed courteously. “My name – my name is Taran.”
    “No more than that?” said Llonio… “Shall I call you Taran Son of Nobody? Taran of Nowhere? Since you’re alive and breathing, obviously you’re the son of two parents. And you’ve surely ridden here from somewhere else.”
    “Call me, then, a wanderer,” Taran replied.
    This is the fourth book in the Prydain Chronicles. Taran, the main character has always been the humble assistant pig-keeper who constantly wins the hearts of the good people of Prydain. Taran’s lineage is uknown and he’s taken in by a wise sorcerer. He goes through countless adventures with a consistent group. Eilonwy, the beautiful, golden-haired princess, Fflewddur Fflam a king who wishes he was a bard, Doli, a grumpy dwarf, and a furry creature named Gurgi. As the reader goes through these experiences with the characters they truly develop a relationship. They find themselves secretly hoping Taran a mere pig-keeper marry Eilonwy the loyal princess. In order for Taran to make this possible he needs to know of his birth parents. He begins the trek with faithful Gurgi. Never has a book been so exciting yet heart-wrenching. Alexander draws his readers in with simple, but incredible characters and wisdom applicable to every-day life. I found myself wanting to adopt characteristics likes his humble hero Taran. There is a not a book in the world I would find of worth without some type of spark that inspires the reader, and this book did just that. Taran had numerous opportunities in his wanderings to do the easy thing, but no matter what the circumstances, he fought to always do the right thing. As Taran is met with adversity seemingly everywhere he goes, he never ceases to find ways to help others along his way. Of all the books so far, the depth this book reached was beyond anything I’ve ever experienced. It could be a rival of the hobbit and trust me, that’s my favorite book. Alexander constantly hits home with his storyline in that we are all wanderers trying to understand our lineage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Another great book in this set. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    The Best of the Best

    This is my favorite of the series. I always thought it should have gotten the Newbery. In Taran Wanderer, Taran comes of age, passing through a series of choices in his quest for identity. He emerges a man, with some hard lessons learned along the way (and a lot of humor!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Awesome!

    Lloyd Alexander has quickly become one of my favorite authors. My brother really enjoyed the series and caught me up in his excitement. Mr. Alexander is truely one of the greats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Absolutely Genius!

    I was devasted one day when i started reading the series and i found a gap! Taran Wanderer was missing from my library. But then i read it! It was an enchanting tale and it has a surprise ending. I missed Eilonwy, she was my favorite character, but this is a tale that is a must read. It's a tale that will pull at your heartstrings...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Amazing

    Even though I missed Eilonwy, this book was incredible. It had a great plot that kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn't put it down. Read this book, you WILL love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Classic builds to wonderful!

    Lloyd Alexandr's Prydain Chronicles continue to delight and definitely stand as a clasic among classics like JK Rowling's Harry Potter, Robert Stanek's The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches, and CS Lewis' Narnia. In Taran Wanderer, our assistant pig-keeper who wants to be a hero, Taran, goes off in search of information on his parents, hoping to gain the favor of fair Eilonwy, the princess with the red-gold hair. Taran begins his search when the enchantresses of Marshes of Morva send him to consult the Mirror of Llunet to find his answers. The book, Taran Wanderer, stands the test of time well, even against newcomers like Robert Stanek (The Kingdoms & The Elves Of The Reaches, Keeper Martin's Tale, ...) and JK Rowling (Harry Potter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1