Customer Reviews for

Tarnished Gold

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    The best book i have ever read hands down no question about it

    I read this a few years ago and i clearly remember being so captivated by it that it still haunts me to this day. I remember everythung that happened down to the horrible man that is her father, the loving strong woman that's her mama, the scene that she lost her innocence forever, every moment of her being locked away, her losing the only good thing that could've ever made her happy again to a cold bitter woman with a equally horrible past, then falling in love with a man so captivting, i remember the secret love nest they had and a tragic ending that was sad, beautiful and magical all at once. Gabriel landry is a wonderful character raised by the strongest woman alive and this story even years later makes me tear up a bit. If i could rate this ten stars i would

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    It was the last in the series and while you already knew what would happen it was nice to get the full story and from this point of view. I couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Heartbreaking

    It was obvious as to what was going to happen to Gabriel if you read the first 4 novels. I was putting off finishing this book because I already knew her fate and didn't want to face it. It doesn't seem fair that such a sweet and loving person should have to go through so much turmoil as Gabriel did. I believe Pierre really loved her. She would have been a wonderful mother to Ruby & her twin, Gisselle. Maybe Gisselle would have turned out different. I loved this story and cried when it was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    What a series

    This is the one and only VC Andrews series I completed. From start to finish it's a real rollercoaster. Gabrielle Landry is the Mother of Ruby. She died before Ruby got a chance to meet her and find out her secrets. This book starts out with Gabrielle's sexual encounter with Octavious Tate, father of her son Paul. After that we are taken into a spiral as Gabrielle tries to regain the old life she had without the son she would never know. Just when all hope is lost she meets Mr. Dumas. He promises Gabrielle the world and she is sucked into his orbit. You might even say her death was for Mr. Dumas the love she could never have. At the end of this book I cried. I cried for everyone who was involved in this messy situation because it was fueled by one man's lust and another man's greed. So many lives were ruined. Tarnished Gold ties up all the loose ends for me when it comes to the Landry series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    ASOMETASTIC

    well this book was so awsome. i loved it. well people think that if they read it first they don't have to read the rest of the siereis but they are ooosooo wrong because the other ones have NOTHING to do with this book the only one that relats to it is like the begining of the first book Ruby and its my fav. sieries!!! i love V.C. Andrews!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    jessica, a 13-year-old reader

    I thought this was the best book and it was the first I read out of this series. I recommend it, because you don't have to read the rest of the Landry series to get it. The end was a little sad and disappointing, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    excellent book

    This book is the best that i have ever read, i cried at the end and i cant wait to read the rest of the Landry series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Great Book

    This book was beautifully written and keeps you wanting to read it till you're done. Unfortunatly for me this what the first book of the Landry Series that I read, so when I read all of the others I'll understand everything before I'm suppose to. Tarnished Gold is a book I would suggest to anyone who enjoys reading fiction, especially young women and teenaged girls like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Some actions leave tragic consequences

    THIS BOOK WAS INCREDIBLE I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN I COUNLD'NT WAIT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENED NEXT I FELT SO SORRY FOR THE LEAD CHARACTER THIS POOR GIRL COULD NOT GET AHEAD NO MATTER WHAT SHE TRIED IT WAS SUPERB AND ONE OF THE FINEST I'VE READ IN A LONG TIME V.C. ANDREWS FOREVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    ohmigod

    this is a great book. i think any body who has become pregnant by rape can relate to it and any who has truely been in love can realate to it. v.c. andrews is a great author and i will try to read all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    deep book

    i like this book because it can happen in reality and i felt that i was part of the story and feel what the character going though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    PAGE TURNER

    I agree one hundred percent!!! This is, by far, the greatest book in the Landry Series. I enjoyed every single word of the book. I wanted to cry when the book came to an end. V.C. Andrews really brings to life the protagnist, Gabriel. Though her difficult struggles we truely realize what the words, "true love", really mean. A HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    a vc sucess

    Tarnished gold is a very good book. A book that you'll read over and over. Tarinshed gold is about gabriele landry who is a beautiful young girl who has a gift with animals and one day as she sits on a rock mosiuer tate rapes her. Gladlys tate tells her she will pay her father money for him to keep it a sectret and the baby will grow up a tate, but gabriel will stay in gladlys playroom for 9 months till the baby comes . Gabriel soon makes friends with a herion and a deaf-mute henry. When gabreils baby comes gabriel is very sad for she can't have it. then she watches them and she saves the baby from a rattle snake. Gabriel soon meets piere, but he is married. She gets pregant and promises the baby to his wife daphine. Gabriel has twins and I won't say what happens. It is a book u gotta read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK

    this is a great book! i love it and it is very sad...but its GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    BEST OF LANDRY SERIES

    I could not put this book down when I started to read it. I loved it. It cleared up a lot of questions about the other books in the series. I would recommend reading this book before reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    A great book!!!

    I loved this V.C. Andrews book. It was so sad reading about all of Gabriel's hardships and dreams of romance. She suffered so much. I loved the characters in the book, they're so interesting. It was just an amazing book, despite it being so sad!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    A Book That Will Steal Hours of Your Time

    Tarnished Gold, the prequel to the captivating Landry series, sucked me into the world of Gabriel Landry. At Gabriel's high school graduation, her father terribly embarrasses her, leaving her feeling sad and alone. She spends her days in the bayou observing the beautiful nature and poling her pirogue. While sunbathing one day, a man approaches her and changes her life...forever. After the first 25 pages of this book, I literally could not put it down. I suggest reading the this prequel before reading the Landry series, because it clears up some confusion. I recommend this book for mature readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    ?????

    vc andrews needs to actually write a story that is not like every single one of her books. i have read about 3 of her stories (different series) and they are ALL THE SAME!!!! if you have read one book, you've read 'em all. they all are overly dramatic and are all about you know, families selling their children, secret adoption, rape, incest, ALWAYS. you already know whats going to happen. i only read these stories because its like watching a bad TV show. cheap entertainment. if anyone else feels this way, i would like to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2001

    Magnificent!!!!!!

    This is V.C. Andrews at her finest. In the beginning you think 'Poor Girl' about Gabriel, and 'Evil Witch' about Gladys. As the book progresses you fall in love with Pierre Dumas along with Gabriel. I cried in the end, because it was so sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    ummm......

    First of all, I absolutly loved the Landry series. It was the best.I read each book in the series in about two days. When I started to read Tarnished Gold I think I almost fell asleep. I expected more to happen than what really was. If you want to read this book, read the back cover of it. From my point of view the back cover is all you need to know to read this book. But read it for yourself you may think different than me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2