Customer Reviews for

Tart (Delicious Novel Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tart

Lauren Dane is a great author and I've enjoyed this series; however, I was a bit disappointed. I thought that Jules came across as a too good to be true giver, almost like like a martyr, which is not a strong personality trait.

Also unless you enjoy gay sex between me...
Lauren Dane is a great author and I've enjoyed this series; however, I was a bit disappointed. I thought that Jules came across as a too good to be true giver, almost like like a martyr, which is not a strong personality trait.

Also unless you enjoy gay sex between men and think it is hot, then it might not be your cup of tea.

posted by ZevonManic on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I must say that the book was wonderfully written, but overall, t

I must say that the book was wonderfully written, but overall, the book was a serious let down for me. I waited a long time for Tart to come out, and after reading Sway, I was expecting so much more. Honestly, I was not pleased with the direction of the story. Juliet...
I must say that the book was wonderfully written, but overall, the book was a serious let down for me. I waited a long time for Tart to come out, and after reading Sway, I was expecting so much more. Honestly, I was not pleased with the direction of the story. Juliet Lamprey did not come across as a very likeable character to me. I really got tired of everyone saying how much Jules does for people without getting anything in return, and how she gets stepped on all the time. Everything, including Gillian's wedding was about what Jules did and how much Jules had to sacrifice. I also was not that keen on the threesome relationship. I really didn't see the sense in it. It just seemed greedy and that there really was no reason for the threesome relationship.

posted by MMRNY on December 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Tart

    Lauren Dane is a great author and I've enjoyed this series; however, I was a bit disappointed. I thought that Jules came across as a too good to be true giver, almost like like a martyr, which is not a strong personality trait.

    Also unless you enjoy gay sex between men and think it is hot, then it might not be your cup of tea.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Loved it

    ## I had been waiting for this book because even though it's a new series for Ms. Dane, it's a spin-off from her Brown siblings series. If you haven't read the Brown Siblings series yet, you really, really should. Book 1,2 & 4 are fabulous! HOLY COW those were good. And this book continues where 4 left off. I didn't like 'Tart' quite as much as I thought I would. I guess I didn't feel the connection between the h/h/h. The words were pretty but I didn't feel it. Not my very favorite, but still worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off, I have to say that Tart was a fabulously well-written

    First off, I have to say that Tart was a fabulously well-written ménage story and one of the best I have read to-date.

    Juliet Lamprey has been in love with Calvin Whaley for as long as she can remember. Her best friend's brother, he has been around through it all but besides their one kiss as teenagers Cal has never picked up on the hints Jules has been throwing his way. Despite what Jules thinks though, Cal has loved her just as long. He is fearful to ruin their long friendship though if a relationship doesn't work between them. It takes their childhood friend, Gideon Carter, coming back to town and setting up shop in Jules life for Cal to throw chance to the wind and fight for his place besides Jules before he loses her to another.

    I loved how the main focus of the story in Tart was on the emotional relationship between the three as oppose to the sexual relationship. Don't get me wrong, there was some hot three-way action going on but it was portrayed as more sensual then graphic, which really worked for the triad. Jules, Cal and Gideon had some obstacles to get over; negativity from family, the mechanics of a three-way relationship, trust...but thankfully they have a wonderful support system in their friends and other family members. And throughout it all, Lauren Dane kept it real. I had no trouble believing that this relationship could happen in real life to any one of my friends. I really enjoyed watching it unfold and the dynamics between the triad develop. And the dynamics of the relationship was a major lure for me. Lauren Dane I think gave the story a unique twist with not making it a typical M/F/M, yes the three were together sexually but each of the men took turns with Jules or each other, there were plenty of M/F scenes alone and surprisingly only one M/M scene. It was all very tastefully written.

    Adrian and Gillian, from the Brown Siblings series, were big players in Tart, as well as Adrian's sister, Erin. I haven't read the Brown Siblings yet, though the series is on my wish-list, and instead of feeling lost during their part of the story I was intrigued to find out more! All in all, Tart was a wonderful story set in a quaint small-town, packed with emotion and fantastic characters. I am looking forward to Mary's story next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bumpy yet Very Sexy and Unconventional Erotic Romance!

    “I have . . . so much going on. Speaking of that, since I’m being honest and all, I’m in a relationship. It’s not conventional, but I’m happy and it’s good.” “You’re a lesbian?” -Juliet and her mother First, I have to share how much I love erotic romances with ménage à trois. I think they are smokin’ hot . . . in paranormal romances! In a contemporary romance, it’s the type of relationship that seems riddled with future obstacles, making it difficult for me to see my characters ride happily into the sunset. There are so many factors such as, children, cultural norms, and family reaction, which seem ingredients for alienation and strife, unless the characters live in a remote community. After reading Tart, such a relationship does not seem mere entertainment for erotic romance readers. Gideon, Jules, and Cal altered the way I view triadic relationships in real life. Their emotions, dialogue, challenges, and actions spoke eloquently to me. “Why can’t I be enough? I’m ashamed that they treat me this way. I’m ashamed that I take it. I’m ashamed of whatever it is that makes them reject me. It’s not something I want to share. Which isn’t about you, it’s about me.” -Juliet The dialogue is meaningful, especially Jules’ and Gideon’s honest admissions. Their vulnerabilities are exposed, along with their strengths. Unfortunately, the narrative didn’t have an easy start. Inner dialogue is weighed with exposition. (Information would have been better delivered through alternate means.) The situation leading to this triad is the lowest point in this erotic romance. It’s a shame since Cal, Jules, and Gideon seem the most authentic threesome relationship I have ever read. What begins as two men sharing the woman they love evolves into something all-encompassing. The main characters form a connected exclusive partnership with one another. Their love scenes are very steamy! Cal and Gideon have their toe-curling moments, too! The dysfunctional Lamprey family adds a dose of reality to the story. Their dysfunction is very common: divorce, neglectful parents, and the new step-family. Juliet displays convincing growth as she confronts long avoided and hurtful issues. Tart is the first full story in the Delicious series. It’s preceded by the novella “Sway,” which featured Jules’ friend Daisy and her über dominant love interest, Levi. Daisy and Levi are peripheral characters and do not distract, so a reader may read this as a standalone in the Delicious series. This book does interweave characters from Lauren Dane’s Brown Sibling series, which I have not read. The information dumps distract from the story’s flow. Brown Sibling fans may be happy with the updates, as a wedding (Adrian and Gillian from Never Enough) occupies much of Jules’ time, and all the Browns are present. While I struggled with the beginning, I finished this book a very happy reader. Cal, Jules, and Gideon left a strong impression on me and I look forward to glimpses into their life as the series continues. I’m anxious for Lush, the next Delicious novel, featuring Mary Whaley, Cal’s sister, and the rocker she meets at the wedding in Tart. (Digital RC courtesy of Penguin Group Inc. via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I thought it was a great book if you like erotica

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    good read

    Lauren Dane write another delicously hot book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Love this spinoff series and how it connects with the other! Rea

    Love this spinoff series and how it connects with the other! Really enjoyed Jules and Gideon...didn't love the addition of Cal at first, but ended up in love with their dynamics together (much like Erin, Todd, and Ben). Looking forward to Mary's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Another winner from Lauren Dane

    Great characters. Great story. I really enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Surprisingly good read.......took me by surprise

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1