Customer Reviews for

Taste of Blackberries

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I remember reading this book in the third grade and nearly 20 ye

    I remember reading this book in the third grade and nearly 20 years later, I still get choked up thinking of this story. It must have been very well written to have left such an impression on me! I'd like to read this book again as I plan on introducing it to my own children someday. Highly recommend for third - sixth grade children. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This excellent book by Doris Buchanan Smith is approaching its 4

    This excellent book by Doris Buchanan Smith is approaching its 40th anniversary - and a million copies sold! Have you read A Taste of Blackberries? I'm the author's son, Randy, and having read it many times over, I can promise it is as fresh and relevant today as it was forty years ago. But not everyone responds the same way to this insightful book! As mom would say, "it's a free country." The subject is weighty for some young readers, and parents and teachers are cautioned to read the book before giving it to your child. That said, you need look no further for a rich and unforgettable reading experience. Howard Randall Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    A Taste of Blacberries

    I'm in fourth grade and read this book with my third grade teacher. It's sad but it teaches you a lesson about friendship. One of my friends cried really hard when Jamie died. I wish Jamie hadn't died, I wish he had lived. Bees can really sometimes annoy me. I'm not a honey eater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Taste of Blackberries

    I was a little girl when I read this book. Actually I was recovering from a bad elbow break and couldnt do anything but read(which I still love to do). I just want to thank the author for making that period in time for me better and I recommend it to children of all ages. Both my children have read it and some of my friends children too... GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Acclaim for A Taste of Blackberries

    I read A Taste of Blackberries when I was in fourth grade. I am now thirty nine years old, and I teach high school English. Blackberries is so poignantly written concerning the death of a young friend that it serves as a comfort for the child, a jumping point to dicuss a personal tragedy with your children and a texbook example of just how to deal with life and death experiences with youth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Taste of Blackberries

    This book is good for all ages. I'm in 6th grade and I loved it. Jamie is the main character and he is a joker. He loves to trick his friends. He does a lot of things that you would never dream of doing: he hitchhikes rides, stels things, and a lot more dangeres things. I think the Taste of Blackbarries is a great book. You will have to read The Taste of Blackbarries to find out more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    breathtaking

    I think it was a good book. It was good because it shows how good of friends they were. And what they did together. It was sad because his best friend, name Jamie,died. It was also a good book because the author gave a lot of detail I liked what they did before Jamie died. Jamie's friend did not let Jamie go. That is why I recommend A Taste of Blackberries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    touching

    The Taste of Blackberries book is good because it reminds me of the real world where no one lives for ever and reality can be cruel somtimes and its no fun to be alone .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Taste of Blackberries

    I think that the book is a great one. It will make you seem like you are in the book. I'm in 6th grade and I loved it. It's one that will make all ages connect, understand, and love the book of Taste of Blackberries. That's why I recommend the Taste of Blackberries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Touching

    This book is about a boy who comes to grips with the tragedy of losing his best friend. This is a very touching book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Timeless!

    I read this when I was a small child,I am 41 yrs old and think about this book often. It is a timeless book that children will love and also has a lesson in it. It may be a good book for children to read that has had a friend die. I am going to be getting this book for my daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Very good

    I read this book as a class assigment in fifth grade and at the time didn't like it. I recently loss someone I loved and this book gives such great insight into what it's like and how to cope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    this book is cooly

    i'min 5th grade and just finished it and i thought it was a touching story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    I still remember...

    I too read this book over twenty years ago and now I have the joy of experiencing it with my daughter as she reads it for the first time. It provides a valuable lesson for readers of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Touching Story For All Ages

    What a fabulous tale, as sweet as blackberries! I read this book more than twenty years ago, and the lessons still ring true. Now I want to pass it on to my nieces and nephews. Congratulations Doris Buchanan Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Taste of Blackberries

    I read this book in Elementary school and I never forgot it. I am 37 years old! My little boy is about to read it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Taste of Blackberries

    I read this book in elementary school and I am 37 years old and still remember it.My little boy is about to read it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Taste of Blackberries

    I liked the book when the speaker and Jamie were in the blackberies patch picking blackberies. The characters are Jamie and the speaker . The setting takes place in fall and in the day and night. The story was interesting because it was a good book and it was nice to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    If you ever have the time to sit down and read i think you should try to read A taste of blackberries

    One thing I do not like about this story is we did not know Jamies friends' name. The main characters are Jamie and the speaker.It took place in a small town.I think the interesting person is Mrs. Mullins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Very good book.

    My teacher read this book to our class when I was in 3rd grade. I have recently purchased it to read to my children. This was a fun book, but sad too. My teacher kept us interested while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2