Customer Reviews for

A Taste of Desire

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

riotous Victorian romance

In 1876 Lady Amelia Bertram's frantic father frets over her shenanigans that he always ends up cleaning up for her. After each incident including several elopements, he vows never again, but ends up cleaning up her mess. Worried what trouble his headstrong daughter wi...
In 1876 Lady Amelia Bertram's frantic father frets over her shenanigans that he always ends up cleaning up for her. After each incident including several elopements, he vows never again, but ends up cleaning up her mess. Worried what trouble his headstrong daughter will dive head first into while he is across the great pond conducting business, Bertram needs someone to control his devilish offspring though he never succeeded at that endeavor.

Ata a gala, Amelia loudly derides the reputed sexual skills of Lord Thomas Armstrong. At the same time, Bertram asks a favor of Armstrong to watch over his daughter while he is in America. Armstrong reluctantly agrees to serve as surrogate guardian because he owes his mentor a lot; beside he wants to tame the shrew. In front of his family, her servants, his mistress, her former "fiancé" and a cast of quadrillion, the gender war begins in earnest.

Although none of the support cast seems more than a stereotype and the lead couple not much more fleshed out, fans will enjoy this riotous Victorian romance. The witty battle of the sexes is amusing as each of the combatants vow to teach their adversary a lesson in humility; neither was prepared for the taming of their heart.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

I enjoyed this book. And looked for others by the same author.

posted by janeyiv on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    riotous Victorian romance

    In 1876 Lady Amelia Bertram's frantic father frets over her shenanigans that he always ends up cleaning up for her. After each incident including several elopements, he vows never again, but ends up cleaning up her mess. Worried what trouble his headstrong daughter will dive head first into while he is across the great pond conducting business, Bertram needs someone to control his devilish offspring though he never succeeded at that endeavor.

    Ata a gala, Amelia loudly derides the reputed sexual skills of Lord Thomas Armstrong. At the same time, Bertram asks a favor of Armstrong to watch over his daughter while he is in America. Armstrong reluctantly agrees to serve as surrogate guardian because he owes his mentor a lot; beside he wants to tame the shrew. In front of his family, her servants, his mistress, her former "fiancé" and a cast of quadrillion, the gender war begins in earnest.

    Although none of the support cast seems more than a stereotype and the lead couple not much more fleshed out, fans will enjoy this riotous Victorian romance. The witty battle of the sexes is amusing as each of the combatants vow to teach their adversary a lesson in humility; neither was prepared for the taming of their heart.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    from beginning to end with smiles, laughter & tears.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Riveting

    I enjoyed this story! Lady Amelia is fiesty. I had a hard time putting this down. Thrilling to see the relationship between Amelia and Thomas unfold! I was excited to find that there was a separate novel about Thomas's sister, Missy, and James Rutherford.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Great Follow Up

    I enjoyed the first book Sinful Surrender and wondered how the relationship with Thomas and Amelia would play out. I was not disappointed. Their battle contained all the sparks and passion from their first meeting. I liked that Ms. Kendall didn't make the father out to be as bad as I originally thought he might be. Looking forward to the next book. Carol

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book. And looked for others by the same author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    great book

    I've read two out of three of her books and love them all I'm reading the third one now

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Overall this is a good book. I like my books with happy endings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Enjoyed the story.

    I enjoyed the book and I liked the story. My only complaint would be that I thought the characters got way too mean and nasty towards each other. I understand the pull of love/hate romance, but sometimes it just seemed that they were too mean to each other and I questioned why would she want to be treated like that. Other than that, I did enjoy the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Amazing addicting awesome

    I haven,t read a book this good in a long time. Mrs. Kendall reminds me of Johanna Lindsey so much. She created a sexual tensin that never let up and I could never put the book down. I can't wait to see what else she has to offer. This is a must buy....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    love and desire rules.

    I enjoy these old english settings and the purity of that life style.
    Happy endings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Ok

    This book was not as good as the other two, Heir of Deception was an exxcellent read from beginning to end. I think this book was boring until the last 100 pages, then the excitement picked up a little had a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    ANOTHER GREAT READ!

    Really good book. One I am sure I will read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Love it.

    I know it was quite uncharateristic for a gentleman to be this mean to a lady, as what the reviews are complaining. But if one goes back to the story, the Thomas character recalled even before when they were first introduced the Amelia character has already been utterly mean to him. So I see the logic in it. Overall the story was full of delicious conflicts and satisfying resolutions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Dumb dumb dumb

    I mean really? All he did was insult through out the whole book and she took it an melt in his arm every time he touched her. So lame. I like my herione with a little more back bone. Jesus are we women really that weak? Give me break...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Love it!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Couldn't get into the characters

    Never really warmed up to the heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Great Read! I didn't think the character's were that mean to ea

    Great Read! I didn't think the character's were that mean to each other, when you realize where Amelia was coming from. The love scenes I would rate medium and appropriately placed. I love all the secondary character's and can't wait for Alex story, which is already out on Nook. I have read them in order, Sinful Surrender, this one - Taste of Desire, next is 2.5 and then Alex story, which is An Heir of Deception. Would recommend this book. ljb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    GERAT Great

    This is a great fun fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    This was not awesome like Sinful Surrender, but an excellent read nonetheless!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15