BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Taste of Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The BEST cooking magazine ever, finally available paper-free!!

Taste of Home is one of my favorite magazines. I was so happy to see it available as a nookbook! Now I can get my favorite magazine and not feel like I'm building up a paper collection. The pictures look just as stunning as ever, and it's great to be able to "bookmark" ...
Taste of Home is one of my favorite magazines. I was so happy to see it available as a nookbook! Now I can get my favorite magazine and not feel like I'm building up a paper collection. The pictures look just as stunning as ever, and it's great to be able to "bookmark" pages that I want to go back to. (I made a recipe from it last night and got raves!!)

posted by MarthaV on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Not what it used to be..

Ive been a reader of this magazine for many years, so I was quite happy to find it among the downloadable magazines for my new Nook Color. Since I havent picked up a new copy in the store in quite awhile, I was quite surprised and disappointed with the new format. The ...
Ive been a reader of this magazine for many years, so I was quite happy to find it among the downloadable magazines for my new Nook Color. Since I havent picked up a new copy in the store in quite awhile, I was quite surprised and disappointed with the new format. The usual pages and pages of pictures and recipes have now been replaced by articles and lots of advertising, with scattered recipes here and there. While this may appeal to some, it's just not what Im looking for in a cooking magazine.

posted by 8136700 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Not what it used to be..

    Ive been a reader of this magazine for many years, so I was quite happy to find it among the downloadable magazines for my new Nook Color. Since I havent picked up a new copy in the store in quite awhile, I was quite surprised and disappointed with the new format. The usual pages and pages of pictures and recipes have now been replaced by articles and lots of advertising, with scattered recipes here and there. While this may appeal to some, it's just not what Im looking for in a cooking magazine.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed - empty drivel

    I was a subscriber of the paper version for years. I loved it's straight-forward approach, i.e. no advertising, lots of recipes with pictures, and everyday pantry items. Under new management, all this was lost. Now I find articles of drivel, and a few recipes thrown in so it can be called a cooking magazine. I subscribed to the e-version to see if any improvements had been made since I canceled my subscription a couple of years ago. I am sad to say, it has gotten worse. It is reported to be the most read cooking magazine in the world, but I have serious doubts if it will remain so, unless some major changes are made.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Used to be a lot better!

    This used to be a great magazine. However, something has changed, and it isn't for the good! We used to be subscribers many years ago. I do not ever remember Reader's Digest being the owners of this publication, so maybe that is what changed some time in the last decade (last time I was a subscriber was perhaps in 2002).

    The magazine still has wonderful photos. However, it is also now LOADED with advertising. It used to be just the recipes, some articles and no ads. It is now so glutted with ads that it was not even pleasant to read. In addition, I found the zoom was extremely limited. I could not zoom in on a particular recipe enough for me to read it. What good does that do?!

    I cancelled my subscription, and can only suggest that others be sure to try one issue first and see if they like the very-different Taste of Home.

    Shame on them for all the ads - if you want to do so many ads, then make it dirt cheap. Otherwise, you're just as well off looking up recipes on FREE websites.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    It used to be a good magazine

    I used to love this magazine. I was a subscriber for a few years and then didn't renew it. I decided to check out the emagazine and noticed it had way too many ads iin it now. So if I need a recipe I will just look it up at the taste of home website.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Not really worth it

    I do not really think it is worth buying for me at least. I loved taste of home for many years when it was all recipes. It is mostly articles and ads and few recipes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    so so

    This magaxine did not interest me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2