Customer Reviews for

The Taste of Night (Signs of the Zodiac Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What an AWESOME Series!

This is a great follow-up to Scent of Shadows (Signs of the Zodiac Series #1). In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, ...
This is a great follow-up to Scent of Shadows (Signs of the Zodiac Series #1). In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, and witches! I love the main character Joanna Archer. She is a strong, independent woman that doesn't mind getting her hands dirty, or taking care of her own problems. What I like about the series is that the storyline is unique, the characters each have their own strengths, and villains that you'll love to hate, like Regan! These books will have you laughing, loving, hating, and crying! I was very impressed by this series and have recommended it to all of my friends. I am axiously awaiting the next book in the series!

posted by melburg1 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sluggish pacing kills momentum!

I found the first book in the series to be very depressing, so it was nice to see Joanna Archer move forward a bit (but not by much), although it's still hard for me to overcome the fact that she had plastic surgery to take over her sister's persona. I really don't like...
I found the first book in the series to be very depressing, so it was nice to see Joanna Archer move forward a bit (but not by much), although it's still hard for me to overcome the fact that she had plastic surgery to take over her sister's persona. I really don't like that part of the story. Unfortunately, it was like wading through mud in the second installment. Very slow! Again, there's a lot of internal conflict Joanna tries to resolve, and the ending reminded me of the ending in the first book. I enjoy the author's imagery more often than not, and the quirky interactions with Cher and Cher's mother add some lightheartedness. The plot in The Taste of Night revolves heavily around Joaquin and a plague that is killing mortals and even agents of Light. After it's all said and done, I don't think I'll continue with the series. For some reason, I'm a little tired of all the repetitiveness, the Joanna/Olivia conflict, the Joanna/Ben conflict, Joanna and the Tulpa, agents of Shadow and Light, etc....

posted by NookFever on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What an AWESOME Series!

    This is a great follow-up to Scent of Shadows (Signs of the Zodiac Series #1). In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, and witches! I love the main character Joanna Archer. She is a strong, independent woman that doesn't mind getting her hands dirty, or taking care of her own problems. What I like about the series is that the storyline is unique, the characters each have their own strengths, and villains that you'll love to hate, like Regan! These books will have you laughing, loving, hating, and crying! I was very impressed by this series and have recommended it to all of my friends. I am axiously awaiting the next book in the series!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Second Book in the Series

    After reading the first book in the series, I went and downloaded the second to my Nook in and effort to read a series through to the end before starting a new one. I was not disappointed with this plan in the least. It was almost as if it was an extension of the first book, flowing right into it.

    As I expected, there was none of the slow intro that there is many times in the first book in a series. If you read the first book, you would already know about the paranormal world Jo lives in. This allows us as the reader to dive right into the story - and dive right in we do. The action picks up in the beginning giving us a depth in the Shadow Agents. In this book the action is there, the overhanging doom of the plague is there but it is flavored with an almost humanizing of the Shadow Agents.

    Don't get me wrong, they are still as nasty as Taco Bell at two in the morning, but you get an idea of why they are that nasty. You almost feel sorry for them. That is until one of them opens up their mouth and says something. Which is the feeling I get that the author is trying to show us - a bit of how Jo is seeing things.

    She is part Shadow and part Light. Her mother, the previous Archer for the Light had her while infiltrating the Shadow side with the Tulpa, Leader of the Shadows and a being created fully from thought and will. An evil agent on the Shadow side created him out of his imagination. And now this creature with near limitless power knows that Joanna Archer is his daughter.

    The idea of the "cursed battlefield" that is the Second Sign that the Zodiac troops are looking for is presented in a couple of different ways. The reason this appealed to me is that it left it up to me to interpret which one was really happening - if there was indeed only a single cursed battlefield.

    The one thing that I wanted to see more of in the first book I felt like I was given. More of a style of Krav Maga from Jo. Without spoiling too much, there is at least one major fight scene where I feel she was displaying more of the brutality of the fighting style working in conjunction with her superhuman powers. More inline with the initial fight she had with Ajax and the Shadow that killed her sister.

    With more of a depth of feeling and caring for the characters, more of a Krav Maga feel to her fighting and everything from the first book that I loved, I am moving this one up a bit higher in the grading system. At least an A- and well worth the money and definitely worth the time to read. Book 3 is already sitting in my Nook waiting for me to open it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    second book in the series...

    second book in the series, very enjoyable.... if you liked the first book you wont be disappointed.... but read the first book before starting this one... or the story will be hard to follow.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I must confess that I first picked up Vicki Pettersson's book 'Scent of Shadows' it was because it was cheap, but I didn't expect anything. Now I am hooked. This last book kept me on edge from page one. Pettersson's writing it top notch with brilliant use of poetic as well as colloquial language in th enarrative voice, a great use of facial expression to say thing swithout spelling them out, and subtle and brilliant foreshadowing. She leaves clues that makes this book more mystery novel that I would have expected. I love the way that it is the human flaws of Joanna that drive the plot forward, and yet it is her doggedness, hope, love and anger that drive her forward to pass her obstacles.For a superhero, her tragic flaw is being human and acting and reacting like one, which makes her incredibly relatable. Each of the characters, event the minor ones, are carefully developed throughout the series, helping to complete the whole picture. Finally, I love that with each battle won, thee are always some loose ends, some sacrifices that must be made to stop the bigger evil. This means there is always a score to settle and the promise of more action in the future. I must confess that at first the circumstances and situations that Pettersson set up for Joanna made me angry. But like any good superhero/villain story, it is about the path chosen. Every great superhero has tragedy befall them upon realizing their powers, but whether they chose the noble or evil path makes the story. Pettersson's story is about realizing that when life gives you lemons, no matter how bitter or how many, it is the lemonade that you make from them that counts. A brilliant read that leaves you wanting more. That sums up this book as well as the first one. I can't wait for the next one coming out in May.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Wonderful Fun

    The book takes off from page one and does not stop. The idea is originial and the writing is great. The character of Joanna has flaws, which makes her much more accessible to us readers than other heroines that seem too perfect. I love that the main story arches through both books, yet each book in the series, so far, is telling a very specific portion of the story and there is a beginning and end. This series will be big, just give it time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A MUST read!

    Book 2 in the Zodiac series. It's just as good as the first. It's definitely worth the price of the book. I generally only purchase books I know I will read more than once. This book (and the first) are an investment!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Great New Author

    Great story that really moves! I read it in a weekend because I couldn't put it down!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    supernatural fantasy at its very best

    Joanna Archer was a mortal until her third life cycle and then she metamorphosed into a superhero, a member of Zodiac Troop 175 which consists of twelve members each a sign of the zodiac Joanna is the Archer. Her troopers don¿t entirely trust her for two reasons. The first she is the fulcrum and depending on which side she belongs to, the light or the shadow, that side will win. The second reason is she is the Kairos a being of dark and light and while she sides with the light, the shadow inherited by her father the Tulpa wants to lure her to be one of their own.-------------- When she runs into a Shadow being, she worries her that his group has a weapon that will destroy her troop and mortals as well. She kills him and Rachel a shadow initiate, ready to undergo her metamorphous soon doesn¿t try to stop her but kisses and warns her not to go to the troop¿s sanctuary. At a fireworks show, a plague is released in the Las Vegas area killing people in horrific numbers. Joanna has to find the antidote but to do that she will have to deal with her father who she has never seen and who has the ability to crush her.--------------- THE TASTE OF NIGHT is supernatural fantasy at its very best. Vicki Petterson knows how to create flawed characters that feel realistic, even the support cast of the light who make mistakes but keep their mission on track. The heroine has to deal with a dual heritage of Light and Shadow leading to nobody knowing how to relate with her because one such as her has never been born before.---------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sluggish pacing kills momentum!

    I found the first book in the series to be very depressing, so it was nice to see Joanna Archer move forward a bit (but not by much), although it's still hard for me to overcome the fact that she had plastic surgery to take over her sister's persona. I really don't like that part of the story. Unfortunately, it was like wading through mud in the second installment. Very slow! Again, there's a lot of internal conflict Joanna tries to resolve, and the ending reminded me of the ending in the first book. I enjoy the author's imagery more often than not, and the quirky interactions with Cher and Cher's mother add some lightheartedness. The plot in The Taste of Night revolves heavily around Joaquin and a plague that is killing mortals and even agents of Light. After it's all said and done, I don't think I'll continue with the series. For some reason, I'm a little tired of all the repetitiveness, the Joanna/Olivia conflict, the Joanna/Ben conflict, Joanna and the Tulpa, agents of Shadow and Light, etc....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Taste of Night (Signs of the Zodiac Series #2)

    In this book, the second book of the Zodiac series, the book opens about 6 months down the road from where the first book left off, Joanna/Olivia is at a charity auction where she is one of many dates being auctioned off. When she goes to meet the man that bid the highest for her, he calls her Archer and tells her, he know exactly who she really is. She follows him, and another Blonde woman that was bidding on her and is almost killed as the man is a Shadow agent and the woman is a Shadow initate. Instead the Blond woman shoots out the shoulders and the knees of the shadow man and hands Joanna/Olivia the conduit that belongs to the Shadow agent and Joanna kills him. Joanna makes her first mistake in not killing the shadow woman, her name is Regan and she knows Joanna's true identify. Joanna makes a lot of mistakes in this book and she paids dearly for her mistakes. She finds herself, becoming truly fond of her sister Olivia's best friend Cher and doesn't have to fake liking her. She still has a one track mind on hunting down the shadow agent that raped her, this also messes with her head and puts her and others in danger. A deadly virus is unleased in Las Vegas and it also infects the agents of the light. Joanna's Father is the one that unleashed the virus. Joaquin is the shadow agent that raped and beat Joanna when she was 15 and left her for dead when she was 15, he did it at the command of her Father, the Tupla, that is before the Tupla knew that Joanna was his Daughter. The Tupla hates Joanna's Mother (Zoe) we have yet to meet Joanna's Mother in this series. Joanna meets Regan and falls right into her trap, will Joanna, be able to redeem herself with the other agents of the light or with Warren, their leader? I think it is a sign of a good book when you get emotionally involved with the characters, once I pick up one of these Zodiac books, I just have to keep reading it until I finish the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loving this series

    Joanna Archer's story is one of a superhero in the making. This heroine is finding that being a superhero has not made her life, already filled with a tragic past, any easier. In this second book of the series, she finds herself struggling to adjust and find her place in her new reality, unable to let go of her past, her love, and herself. Vicki Petterson's Joanna Archer is the Luke Skywalker of Las Vegas. A young woman coming into powers she never dreamt of, and coping with the duality behind those powers. Joanna is proof that superheroes are human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Taste of Night (Signs of the Zodiac Series #2)

    I started this book and I couldn't put it down. I had to keep reading it, a lot happens in this first book. Joanna was raped at 15 and beaten and left for dead. Now on the eve of her 25th birthday, she finds out that she is not her Father's true Daughter, goes out on a blind date and gets attacked by a weird creepy guy that tries to kill her and meets back up with her teenage boyfriend, Ben. They go out to dinner and she leaves him to go and meet her sister Olivia afterwards and they get attacked in her sisters penthouse and her sister is murdered. Joanna learns she is the Archer, the first sign of the Zodiac and is made over to look like her sister Oliva and has to bury her sister Oliva who was made over to look like her. Joanna/Oliva finds out that she is part light, part shadow and has a hard time being accepted by all the other light agents. This book is one roller coaster ride, but it is one fun ride. What happened to the daughter that Joanna gave birth to when she was 16? Is she also an agent of the Light/Shadow since Joanna discovers that she was raped by a Shadow Agent. I loved this book, a great start to a new series and I already have The Taste of Night, the second sign of the Zodiac. I am looking forward to reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Not a stellar follow up

    The first book was interesting enough to merit checking out the second in the series, but I felt let down. The results of this second attempt were comic book grade action and a plot that couldn't keep my attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    running out of My fave authors so I read this one

    I've read both books now and I think she really has something going here. When I started out reading Laurell K Hamilton she made mistakes too so I'm hoping Vicki works them out. I think she needs a better editor to help her work out the plot twists that just don't hold water and big holes that are left unfilled. The bottom line is that the story lines and ideas are really good and she's done a good job of endearing Me to the characters which is really the most important thing of all because that's what will keep me coming back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    perfect book

    the book had so action. its like you was right there with her.the chartars seemed so alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Sci Fi with a sense of humor.

    I've enjoyed this series, and hope there are more to come. The plot twists sometimes make no sense to me, and sometimes things seem a bit too cartoony for my taste, but the world she's created is intriguing and messy enough to avoid cliche so I'm definitely hooked. If you're not a fan of graphic novels, superheroes, or sci-fi in general, you're probably better off reading something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Its good

    A little drawn out but a good read this has 400 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Different, good read

    Gave you something to think about. Will buy and read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Great Little series..

    love these books.. different then I usually read but page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    gets darker and nastier as it goes.

    this series gets darker and nastier with each book. I am sorry i ordered it, and would like to figure out how to take it off my nook...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12