Customer Reviews for

The Taste of Night (Signs of the Zodiac Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What an AWESOME Series!

This is a great follow-up to Scent of Shadows (Signs of the Zodiac Series #1). In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, ...
This is a great follow-up to Scent of Shadows (Signs of the Zodiac Series #1). In fact, I suggest that you purchase all three books currently in the series at once! It was a refreshing change of pace to read a paranormal book that didn't contain vampires, werewolves, and witches! I love the main character Joanna Archer. She is a strong, independent woman that doesn't mind getting her hands dirty, or taking care of her own problems. What I like about the series is that the storyline is unique, the characters each have their own strengths, and villains that you'll love to hate, like Regan! These books will have you laughing, loving, hating, and crying! I was very impressed by this series and have recommended it to all of my friends. I am axiously awaiting the next book in the series!

posted by melburg1 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sluggish pacing kills momentum!

I found the first book in the series to be very depressing, so it was nice to see Joanna Archer move forward a bit (but not by much), although it's still hard for me to overcome the fact that she had plastic surgery to take over her sister's persona. I really don't like...
I found the first book in the series to be very depressing, so it was nice to see Joanna Archer move forward a bit (but not by much), although it's still hard for me to overcome the fact that she had plastic surgery to take over her sister's persona. I really don't like that part of the story. Unfortunately, it was like wading through mud in the second installment. Very slow! Again, there's a lot of internal conflict Joanna tries to resolve, and the ending reminded me of the ending in the first book. I enjoy the author's imagery more often than not, and the quirky interactions with Cher and Cher's mother add some lightheartedness. The plot in The Taste of Night revolves heavily around Joaquin and a plague that is killing mortals and even agents of Light. After it's all said and done, I don't think I'll continue with the series. For some reason, I'm a little tired of all the repetitiveness, the Joanna/Olivia conflict, the Joanna/Ben conflict, Joanna and the Tulpa, agents of Shadow and Light, etc....

posted by NookFever on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loving this series

    Joanna Archer's story is one of a superhero in the making. This heroine is finding that being a superhero has not made her life, already filled with a tragic past, any easier. In this second book of the series, she finds herself struggling to adjust and find her place in her new reality, unable to let go of her past, her love, and herself. Vicki Petterson's Joanna Archer is the Luke Skywalker of Las Vegas. A young woman coming into powers she never dreamt of, and coping with the duality behind those powers. Joanna is proof that superheroes are human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Taste of Night (Signs of the Zodiac Series #2)

    I started this book and I couldn't put it down. I had to keep reading it, a lot happens in this first book. Joanna was raped at 15 and beaten and left for dead. Now on the eve of her 25th birthday, she finds out that she is not her Father's true Daughter, goes out on a blind date and gets attacked by a weird creepy guy that tries to kill her and meets back up with her teenage boyfriend, Ben. They go out to dinner and she leaves him to go and meet her sister Olivia afterwards and they get attacked in her sisters penthouse and her sister is murdered. Joanna learns she is the Archer, the first sign of the Zodiac and is made over to look like her sister Oliva and has to bury her sister Oliva who was made over to look like her. Joanna/Oliva finds out that she is part light, part shadow and has a hard time being accepted by all the other light agents. This book is one roller coaster ride, but it is one fun ride. What happened to the daughter that Joanna gave birth to when she was 16? Is she also an agent of the Light/Shadow since Joanna discovers that she was raped by a Shadow Agent. I loved this book, a great start to a new series and I already have The Taste of Night, the second sign of the Zodiac. I am looking forward to reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    running out of My fave authors so I read this one

    I've read both books now and I think she really has something going here. When I started out reading Laurell K Hamilton she made mistakes too so I'm hoping Vicki works them out. I think she needs a better editor to help her work out the plot twists that just don't hold water and big holes that are left unfilled. The bottom line is that the story lines and ideas are really good and she's done a good job of endearing Me to the characters which is really the most important thing of all because that's what will keep me coming back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    perfect book

    the book had so action. its like you was right there with her.the chartars seemed so alive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Sci Fi with a sense of humor.

    I've enjoyed this series, and hope there are more to come. The plot twists sometimes make no sense to me, and sometimes things seem a bit too cartoony for my taste, but the world she's created is intriguing and messy enough to avoid cliche so I'm definitely hooked. If you're not a fan of graphic novels, superheroes, or sci-fi in general, you're probably better off reading something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Its good

    A little drawn out but a good read this has 400 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Somewhat Disappointing Development

    I bought The Taste of Night in hopes that the potential that was in the first book would blossom a bit and turn this series into a good, if not great, series. Sadly, I was a bit disappointed. Vicki Pettersson seems to do just enough to keep the story interesting but not enough to make me want to buy any more of this series. It is truly a shame that this second book was so disappointing because I found the concept behind the series to be interesting and some of the detail writing to be fairly good. There are a few too many flaws in the character writing, however, including but not limited to the fact that for someone who is a student of Krav Maga, Joanna seems to find herself losing most of her fights. Luck, help, and/or the bad guys own machinations always seem to pull her through her little battles and by the end of this second volume of the series, it is already getting a bit annoying. If you read the first book and want to know what happens in the rest of the story, I recommend you do what I will for volumes 3-5: visit your local library! I rated it 4 stars, but that was only because there wasn't a 3.5 and I didn't feel it deserved a 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4