Customer Reviews for

Tasting Fear

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Although a bit over the top, these three interwoven romantic suspense thrillers are fast-paced and filled with action

"Outside the Limit". The coroner ruled that Lucia died from natural causes; having suffered a heart attack. Her three adult adopted daughters know otherwise. The intruder who broke into Lucia's home watched her die; that thug could have saved her life with a 911 call...
"Outside the Limit". The coroner ruled that Lucia died from natural causes; having suffered a heart attack. Her three adult adopted daughters know otherwise. The intruder who broke into Lucia's home watched her die; that thug could have saved her life with a 911 call. Nancy, Nell and Vivi vow to bring the killer to justice and to recover stolen priceless Renaissance art that the D'Onofrio siblings believe is the motive. Nancy arrives at her adopted mom's house only to meet a stranger inside. Contractor Liam finds himself needing to keep Nancy safe; while she finds herself feeling safe with him and willing to tell him what she knows though she also believes it could prove costly to her and her sisters.

"Ask for More". Nell knows who best can assist the sisters; her boss Duncan, who she is attracted to, is an expert on the deadly cyberspace underworld from his former government operative days. She asks for his help in finding clues to the missing masterpiece and he agrees to assist her as he is as attracted to her as she is to him.

"Ready or Not". Vivi has ferocious government operative Jack who seeks justice at the limits of the law to look after her. Even he is shocked how much the wild Vivi turns him on and keeps him somewhat calm.

Although a bit over the top, these three interwoven romantic suspense thrillers are fast-paced and filled with action as murders occur driving each couple closer to one another. Fans will enjoy this exciting tale of three sisters in the anger stage of grief seeking vengeance and recovery (of the lost masterpiece) but finding love with hunks who want to keep them safe from nasty killers.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Underwhelmed

Okay Shannon...what is your deal lately??? Seriously. Cutting this book into three parts and making them into little mini rushed romances was annoying. What happened to the good ole days of "Behind Closed Doors" and the like. Do you wanna become a Harlequin novelist wit...
Okay Shannon...what is your deal lately??? Seriously. Cutting this book into three parts and making them into little mini rushed romances was annoying. What happened to the good ole days of "Behind Closed Doors" and the like. Do you wanna become a Harlequin novelist with some crazy psychos mixed in???

I did not like Nancy's story at all. She seemed like a snotty bag and he seemed like a wash rag. My fav story was Nell and Duncan. Vivi's story started out promising but nose dived. Sorry but not one to brag about.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Underwhelmed

    Okay Shannon...what is your deal lately??? Seriously. Cutting this book into three parts and making them into little mini rushed romances was annoying. What happened to the good ole days of "Behind Closed Doors" and the like. Do you wanna become a Harlequin novelist with some crazy psychos mixed in???

    I did not like Nancy's story at all. She seemed like a snotty bag and he seemed like a wash rag. My fav story was Nell and Duncan. Vivi's story started out promising but nose dived. Sorry but not one to brag about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Although a bit over the top, these three interwoven romantic suspense thrillers are fast-paced and filled with action

    "Outside the Limit". The coroner ruled that Lucia died from natural causes; having suffered a heart attack. Her three adult adopted daughters know otherwise. The intruder who broke into Lucia's home watched her die; that thug could have saved her life with a 911 call. Nancy, Nell and Vivi vow to bring the killer to justice and to recover stolen priceless Renaissance art that the D'Onofrio siblings believe is the motive. Nancy arrives at her adopted mom's house only to meet a stranger inside. Contractor Liam finds himself needing to keep Nancy safe; while she finds herself feeling safe with him and willing to tell him what she knows though she also believes it could prove costly to her and her sisters.

    "Ask for More". Nell knows who best can assist the sisters; her boss Duncan, who she is attracted to, is an expert on the deadly cyberspace underworld from his former government operative days. She asks for his help in finding clues to the missing masterpiece and he agrees to assist her as he is as attracted to her as she is to him.

    "Ready or Not". Vivi has ferocious government operative Jack who seeks justice at the limits of the law to look after her. Even he is shocked how much the wild Vivi turns him on and keeps him somewhat calm.

    Although a bit over the top, these three interwoven romantic suspense thrillers are fast-paced and filled with action as murders occur driving each couple closer to one another. Fans will enjoy this exciting tale of three sisters in the anger stage of grief seeking vengeance and recovery (of the lost masterpiece) but finding love with hunks who want to keep them safe from nasty killers.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BLOOD WILL TELL

    Nancy . . . Nell . . . Vivi . . . Three sisters who know there is no force on earth greater than love . . . unless it is the desire for vengeance. When their adored foster mother is murdered, the D'Onofrio women come together to hunt for her murderer-and track down a family legacy gone missing; rare, priceless art from the Renaissance, a treasure worth killing for. The law can only do so much and the three sisters are on their own-until three mysterious men get involved . . .

    Startled to find a brawny stranger at her mother's house, Nancy is even more surprised at the heat of passion that flares between them. Liam is intense and instantly protective. But is it wise to trust him with every secret? Her sister Nell has turned to Duncan, her new boss, for help. He's an expert on the dark underworld of cyberspace, where other clues may lurk. And Duncan is so sexy its scary. All Nell ahs to do is say the hardest word of all: yes. But what about the youngest of the D'Onofrios, the wild and wilful Vivi? She's on the verge of falling in love with Jack, who's all about fierce vigilance . . .

    The sisters embrace the ultimate in passion as danger stalks them all. Unknown and unseen, the killer is very, very near . . .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Ghbncnfhgj xv fjrydhyurycbh

    Fjyudhdhcnrurfhrufjuruurruvnryyidhcbcb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First off, I have to say I am a huge fan of Shannon McKenna. Her

    First off, I have to say I am a huge fan of Shannon McKenna. Her writing was incredible, stories face paced, intriging with great characters and fantastic storylines. This book was different. It was three storylines with the same plot. The women have problems with relationships and sex. Having said this, I still enjoyed the book, but just not as much as her previous ones.

    Rating: 3

    Reviewed by: KellyR,My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This is a great series.

    Well written, suspenseful, with people who are at least semi-believable. And the love stories are hot and romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    To much and Lacking

    To much cursing, to much sex to enjoy the story. Not a good read for a person who likes a more wholesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Not the greatest book I've read. The D’Onofrio sisters w

    Not the greatest book I've read.


    The D’Onofrio sisters were adopted by Lucia D’Onofrio when they were young teens in foster care, but they are as close as blood sisters. When their mother is murdered in a burglary, the house is vandalized after the funeral and a scrap of letter is found and a jeweler’s family connected to Lucia’s last gifts to her daughters are murdered the sisters get a bad feeling. A really bad feeling that more is going on and they could be the next targets.

    This story is told in three parts with each sister getting her own story complete with her own danger and her very own knight in shining armor. It was a bit too convenient that these guys showed up at just the right time when the poor idiot women needed them.

    Ok. The only thing that kept me reading was the mystery of the homicidal serial killer, his employer and what they were looking for that they were going to such lengths and expense to find. The mystery wasn’t a bad one, but the serial killer was an inept idiot. Though in his own thoughts he did say that while he was a professional (I had my doubts) everything about this job had gone wrong from the very beginning. Ok, I can believe that he was probably usually good at his job and this one was one of those jobs where Murphy’s Law takes over. It happens. He was just a bit too bumbling idiot for me though.

    The first story with Nancy and Liam did nothing for me but make me alternate between rolling my eyes and grinding my teeth. Nancy was a wimp of the first order and Liam was one of the biggest jerks I’ve come across in a long time. Didn’t like either of them. At all.

    The second story with Nell and Duncan was my favorite. I actually liked them even though Nell made me mad with all her carelessness when she knew someone was after her.

    The last story with Vivi and Jack was better than the first, but not by much. I liked Vivi, but Jack was also a jerk. Though it turns out he had his reasons and it’s not always easy to let go of our childhood experiences.

    So, I hung in there for the mystery and to see the bad guys get what’s coming to them, but it’s not a book I’ll ever reread. Well, ok, I might reread Nell and Duncan’s part, since I liked them and it was a hot story, but not the rest of it.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    tasting fear

    its ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Great

    Shannon Mckenna is just one of those authors where you cant put down her novels and when your finished, you want to gobble up another one. It was definetly worth the purchase, though some of the story lines could have been a little more creative and longer. but all an all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Interesting concept.

    I have read many Sharron McKenna novels but found this one unique - three sisters with individual love stories that coalesce in the final pages of the book. The individual characters are truly 'individuals' with their own foibles that somehow are brought together in a reasonably realistic manner. A duo of very nasty villains provide the catalyst that brings all three couples together in a finale that seems a little too abrupt but still remains entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS WAS ANOTHER GOOD BOOK FROM SHANNON MCKENNA. ALWAYS A FAN. KEEP THEM COMMING.

    The three sisters were all great characters all stuborn and determined and unique in their own way. Nancy is a lover of music and of Liam. Nell is a lover of poetry and literature, and Duncan. Vivi is a lover of art and Jack. The love scenes are not total scorchers in this book but not bad either. John and Haute were not impressive as bad guys, unless constant irritation and bad breath count, but it kept the momentum of the book going, and gave it the proper amount of thrilleresque quality. The simalarities in the three sisters stories were just that too simalar, as they each got caught by the bad guys and the big bad boyfriend came along and saved the girl, but the characters were interesting enough to keep your interest. I wanted more of the after story the happliy ever after, and you are left with a feeling of "and then what?" Overall I enjoyed the book and will read it many more times, as I do all of my Shannon McKenna books. She has a great writing style, and a flare for drama, and in alot of her books a great sense of humor and wit. Hot Night is still my favorite. The McLoud brothers series is also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    More like Nora than Shannon...

    As an avid Shannon McKenna fan, I was disapointed in this book. I felt like I was reading Nora Roberts, rather than Shannon McKenna. Perhaps she is trying to go a little more "Main Stream". Not a bad book, just wasn't what I was hoping for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Tasting fear was incredible. Shannon McKenna gives steamy sex scenes as well as a good dose of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2