BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tattler's Branch

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Good Book! Tattler's Branch is the second book in the series an

    Good Book!

    Tattler's Branch is the second book in the series and while it can be read alone there are certain parts that are confusing if you have not read the first book.  Tattler's Branch tells the story of Lily, the female doctor in town, Armina, Lily's friend and the wife of her nurse and Mazy, Lily's younger sister sent to live with her for the summer.  While out picking berries Armina witnesses a terrible crime and discovers a baby but when she herself is discovered she remembers nothing of the day.  Lily finds a home for the baby to receive special care but meanwhile the baby's father is searching for his daughter and decides to take matters into his own hands.  I enjoyed the second book and now want to go back and read the first book to learn more about Lily and her husband Tern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The story takes place in a Kentucky mining town during the early

    The story takes place in a Kentucky mining town during the early twentieth century. A woman doctor is key to the mystery, adventure, and suspense of this delightful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    Wonderful, Involving, and Period-Appropriate. Jan Watson writes

    Wonderful, Involving, and Period-Appropriate. Jan Watson writes such lovely characters, and such real-seeming scenes that I feel as if I'm right there among them. Some of the characters had surprising backstory, and the plot had a few twists. I wanted to hold my breath at times, waiting to see what was next. The story hints at events in previous books, but it isn't distracting and it is well explained so that this book is complete in itself, and it has a satisfying conclusion. I really like this clean, engaging story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Snake

    *he licked her ear*"it was lovely."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Splashtail

    Nuzzled up against him, her light tabby fur mingling with his.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    Last year, I really enjoyed reading Skip Rock Shallows, the preq

    Last year, I really enjoyed reading Skip Rock Shallows, the prequel to this book. While each of these two books easily stands on its own, I enjoyed reading about the same characters again and finding out what happened to them. The main character is Lilly, a woman doctor. The book takes place during the 19th century and it is so interesting to read about 19th century ideas concerning medicine, treatments, and opinions on diseases like Down Syndrome and epilepsy--both of which are tackled in this book. The author has definitely done her homework; not only is the story entertaining, but the history included is enough to teach me a thing or two and to whet my appetite for further research. I really enjoy Jan Watson's books and definitely recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Tattler¿s Branch continues the story of Doctor Lilly Corbett, no

    Tattler’s Branch continues the story of Doctor Lilly Corbett, now Still. The book follows Skip Rock Shallows. I love Lilly because she is such a strong woman to be living in the early twentieth century. The book has good and enjoyable mystery and suspense. The ending was not near what I had predicted. 
    Great book! I hope to see another story that will continue with Lilly and her family in the future.
    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    We return to Skip Rock in the early 1900's, where we find Lily C

    We return to Skip Rock in the early 1900's, where we find Lily Corbett Still has grown up, married Tern, and is practicing medicine in her small town. Although she is brilliant, she sometimes possesses more passion and good intentions than sense! And so, she eventually finds herself entangled in a mystery that includes a bad guy, a baby, and mental illness. I especially enjoyed the strong characters and medical references of the time - thanks to the author for her research!


    Jan Watson is a wonderful storyteller, and I am so glad she decided to continue Lily's story. I also appreciate that although she has numerous other books that include these characters, they all can essentially be stand alone titles. However, if you have yet to read any I would recommend starting at the beginning, because it will give you a greater perspective and depth! They are all still great on their own - you decide. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    This is a fascinating story about a woman doctor in a small moun

    This is a fascinating story about a woman doctor in a small mountain community in the early 1910 era. An abandoned baby, the clinic broken into, and the doctor kidnapped when she tried to uncover the truth all conspired to make a fascinating mystery about an earlier time when life wasn’t as easy as we have it today. The ending has an amazing twist that is totally unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Jan Watson's Tattler's Branch Lilly Corbett Still loves her life

    Jan Watson's Tattler's Branch Lilly Corbett Still loves her life in the mountains of Kentucky. She's the local doctor, and enjoys ministering to the people in the area. She's married and her husband is away, but she has her friend, Armina, for support.

    The unexpected happens, and Armina is bedridden and an abandoned baby shows up on her door. She decides to find out the truth, and begins to seek it. As danger mounts, she struggles to maintain her focus on what's right and true.

    The novel is a touching and poignant story about a young woman. Lilly is an endearing character and takes good care of the baby and the residents of her small town. Anyone looking for an exciting mystery should select this to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    "Tattler's Branch" is set in 1911 in the mountains of

    "Tattler's Branch" is set in 1911 in the mountains of Kentucky. I enjoyed being transported back in time
    while I read this book. I had to "Google" a couple of terms, but I really enjoyed reading "Tattler's Branch".  
     It was a different type of book for me since it isn't a romance, but a mystery.

    Tattler's Branch is actually the 7th in a series of books by Jan Watson.  I haven't read any of the other
    books, but Tattler's Branch stands alone well.   I thought the characters were well introduced and they
    had "flash backs" to help fill you in on the details that happened in the previous books. So if I were to
     read the earlier books after I read "Tattler's Branch", I would know some of the story plot points since
     they are "given away" in this one.
     I thought the book flowed really well.  It wasn't one that I read in a marathon session, but I found that
     it still had a nice pace to it and I did occasionally read longer than I had planned because I didn't want
     to put it down!
     I found it interesting to know more details about the abandoned baby than Lilly did and what was going
    on "behind the scenes".

    There are also "Discussion Questions" in the back of the book if you want to use it for a book club or
    reading group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Waxing and Firefly

    Bbl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Flarefur

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Creamstar

    Foreststar hello. I can see nobody has been here for a while. But if you like come join merryclan edaj all results. I have an empt clan also all pos. Are open. I feel you though. I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    ????

    Icy blue eyes watched from the shadows nervously, looking around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Dreamecho

    She pads in and looks around "May I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Hello.

    A bright orange shecat with blazing green eyes walked in. She looked around cautiously. She swished her long tail behind her and stepped foward. "Hi im emeraldeyes. Can i join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Tallshadow

    All may join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Forestar

    Not like youve never failed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2