Customer Reviews for

Taylor Hicks

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Something to get you rockin

    Gritty, soulful, tender, hyper, foot tapping are all words I would use to describe Taylor Hick's new CD. I bring him to the gym with me while I run on the treadmill. He can really get my energy up with his lively music and I just love his voice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Promising first major label debut

    Even though this CD was somewhat rushed, I give Taylor Hicks 5 stars for his powerful vocals that convey so much emotion and are refreshingly unique in today's mainstream music scene. This CD offers a great overview of the versatility for which Taylor was already known for during American Idol as well as in his pre-idol performances. This man can definitely sing anything, but the true beauty of his voice and talent shines through in the soulful ballads of which the Right Place is a prime example on this collection. The Deal and Soul Thing are other beautiful examples of Taylor's true talent and give us a glimpse of what he may have in store for us in the future. Having given these highlights, I must say that there is not a song on this CD that does not captivate me at one time or another. There is something to listen to no matter what mood I am in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Taylor is tops

    This album's Title Taylor Hicks. What can you say you get what you see that's whoooo he is. It has great moving songs. My daughter and I love to dance and sing along. I would enjoy buying other CD's by Taylor Hicks!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Taylor Hicks

    This cd only improves as you listen to it, and it starts out wonderfully. Kudos to Taylor Hicks. And congrats to the listeners as we are all blessed by his talent. "Blue eyed soul" had been gone far too long...it is a great day for music lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great album to put on repeat

    Taylor Hicks has stayed true to his soul and put out an album that you could listen to all day. The songs are well-written, heartfelt, and performed with all the soul that won Taylor the American Idol title. A unique and talented performer, Hicks has given us an album that is a real treat for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IT'S LIKE GOING BACK HOME

    What a feeling this cd gives me every song is wonderful. I expected it to be good but not this great. Taylor is his own person with his own sound. Welcome aboard Taylor your in for a long ride. I am 65 and it gives me memories from every decade. I have it turned up on my car cd player,my sun roof open and rocking to the music. It is funny when someone passes and sees it is an older person. I am now not only joining AARP I am joining the Soul Patrol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    I can't get these songs out of my head. I've been waiting ever since Taylor won in May for this album and I'm not disappointed. It's nice to have songs that you can sing along with and dance to. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys R&B music with some disco and rock thrown in for good measure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This cd has a little bit of everything for everyone

    This is one of the few cds I can listen to from start to finish without skipping past a song or two. It's very upbeat-it's get up on your feet and have a good time kind of music. There's a few love ballads on here and a jazzy number too. My favorite is the soulful "The Right Thing" it gives me goose bumps. "Soul Thing" is classic Taylor! I can hear this cd played on pop radio-country-adult comtemporary and easy listening radio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a TERRIFIC debut!

    I loved Taylor on American Idol and voted for him every week but I was worried that American Idol would try to change him when he was ready to make a post-American Idol album. It was better than my expectations. Every song is wonderful. Especially "The Right Place" and "Just to Feel that Way". Even if you never watched American Idol you should check this album out. I like this album even better than Kelly Clarkson's albums. Do not listen to those who trash Taylor because they just either hate American Idol in general or just mad that their favorite didn't win. They are just losers who have no life and have nothing better to do than come on here and trash him, and many base thier dislike for Taylor on nothing. 5/5 GREAT ALBUM!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it Love it LOOOOOVE it!!!!

    This album is one of my favorite! His voice just hypnotizes me when i listen to him sing. Some of these songs sound kinda like Rod Stewart songs. I love him too. I love every song on this cd and the way he sings it. Sexy...sexy voice!!! He is so gorgeous and i hope to buy many more of his albums! GO SOUL PATROL!!!! WOOOO We love ya in Mississippi!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great First Effort

    I was extremely impressed with this debut CD from Taylor. Except for one track (Dream Myself Awake), the songs are lively, danceable and soulful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    soul patrolled

    Loved it! Loved it !Loved it! Worth the wait for any soul patroller but cant wait to see him perform live with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool Quality Music

    This CD is amazing. Great song selection and variety. Taylor Hickas proves again why he won the title American idol 2006. He is bringing back some calssy sounds. Love it and cannot stop listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    This is a super CD, I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    50+ Grandma Digs Hicks!

    Reminds me of the music of my youth (Motown). Music that affected me so much that I would stop the car and dance in the streets when the "soul sound" made it impossible not to do so!! My favorite song on the CD is "the Right Place". It shows off Taylor's blue-eyed soul and sexy growl the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He made it worth waiting for,,,,

    I have been waiting on this to come out since American Idol and it was worth the wait to me. My favorites on this would have to be "The Maze","Wherever I Lay my Hat" and "The Right Place". It has a relaxing sound that keeps me going through the whole CD. I will definitely be waiting on the next CD to come out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must Have CD - Taylor Hicks

    Wonderful CD, beatifully sung, nothing less than expected from Taylor Hicks. Soothing, soulful and catchy songs. Great listening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TAYLOR-MADE FOR SUCCESS!

    I could not have been more impressed...I've heard all the Idol albums and his is the best by far...Runaround is genius...followed closely by my other two favorites The Maze and Give Me Tonight. I have not taken the CD out of my player since I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST BUY

    I listened to this CD on AOL before I brought this CD and I'm glad I did! I've been listening to it every day ever since I brought it and I still love it!!! I've read many of the reviews about this CD from experts and all people alike. As always, there are some bad and good reviews but somehow many of them pick their favorite songs on the CD. Their choices are different from person to person depending on the type of music they like. I can tell that Taylor Hicks is a great artist in the sense that he is able to offer different types of music that all types of music lovers can appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Album!

    There isn't a track on this album that doesn't have a redeeming quality! They're all different, but each is a gem. Taylor's vocals are impressive throughout. You won't be disappointed in "Taylor Hicks!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3