Customer Reviews for

The Tea Rose

Average Rating 4.5
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost as good as the Outlander series

    I've been looking for another 'historical romance' series since finishing the 'Outlander' saga of Jamie and Claire Fraser--which is, in my humble opinion, the best romance saga of all time! But I digress--This wonderful book was recommended to me by a fellow 'Outlander lover' as almost as good as the 'O' series; and she was RIGHT! I loved the characters, the pathos, the descriptive language, the rich development of characters, and the nail-biting murder mystery of the victims of Jack the Ripper. All in all, I'd recommend this book to anyone ruined as I was for any other books except those written by the fabulous Diana Gabaldon. Jennifer Donnelly's writing is almost as wonderful as Herself's prose. I'm just starting 'The Winter Rose'--and can't wait for 'The Wild Rose' which is supposed to be coming out sometime in the next year. If you like historical romance that doesn't devolve into a 'bodice ripper' but has a wonderful love story woven throughout, you will love this book!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    I loved reading The Tea Rose. I could not put it down. The author keeps it exciting and fast paced. It has a little of everything in it. It was romantic,sensual, thrilling, intense and truimphet. I just finished the book and now I am reading The Winter Rose.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Writer!!!!

    Jennifer Donnelly has the ability to pull the reader in as she spins her story. You feel the hope, despair, loneliness, happiness and love as the characters unfold. Don't let the size of this book stop you from reading the wonderful words Donnelly has written-you won't be sorry!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Mesmerizing! , speechless..never the less: outstanding.

    I don't even know where to begin, I have two chapters left till I finish the book. I am 17 years old and I just can't come to my senses on how amazing this book is. I couldn't put it down and not wonder what would come next. It brought me to tears too many times happy ones, sad ones, angry ones etc. I found my self laughing a lot and I would read as I walked home! Fiona, a wonderful, strong, beautiful, honest girl who suffers a lot and yet keeps her life going. Amazing love story. Tastefully done. Justice served, this book has it all! Marvelous! I can't wait to read everything else Ms. Donnelly has written. PLEASE PLEASE DON'T HESITATE IN READING THIS BOOK. I ASSURE YOU, YOU WONT REGRET IT!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Simple stunning and heart stirring!!!!!!!!!! I couldn't put this book down!!

    The author takes us back in history inviting us to walk the streets of London in the "not to good times" and take a strong character such as Fiona and allow her to blossom from a young girl to a woman with fiery drive and compassion to those that she loved and lost; this is a time in the new world when it was totally unheard of for women to be successful in the world of business. I couldn't put this book down and what a book for television or movies!!!!!!!!!! Jennifer Donnelly.....what a great job and all of your hard work is worth it! Keep 'em coming! This book is #1 on MY list!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Definitely my cup of Tea

    Must read. This book has all the drama of real life. A very clean and decent read on how one bad decision will impact the rest of your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    The best ri The best rose

    Wonderful story, the best of the series.

    Unsicomoro

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    A VERY Rare Treat!!!!!!

    I absolutely LOVE books by Catherine Cookson. But, since she is virtually impossible to find, it is WONDERFUL to find someone who writes similarly to her. I love stories about the servant classes of Victorian England but I LOATHE the "bodice ripper" type of book. So, it is very hard for me to find a book that I like as well as I like this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    a rare read

    It is rare for me to get into a book so much where I begin to wonder of the characters and plot twists when I have to pry myself away from the story. Jennifer Donnelly's writing entranced me from the very beginning and kept my constant attention throughout. I find that I am often bored in books and it can be a struggle to get through a story, but this book was a constant page turner. A very rare book indeed packed with memorable characters filled with hardship and courage to get themselves back up on their feet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Breathtaking story!

    This book lets you know jusy how easy it is for your entire life to change in a fraction of a second! It shows you should never take advantage of what is good in your life you should always savor every waking moment! This book made me laugh, cry, gasp, hold my breath, everything you cam think of it did. Its a heartwrenching story that will stay with me for a long time to come! Great, expressive, amazing read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I had read "A Northern Light" and had to read another one of Jennifer Donnelly's book, bought "The Tea Rose", could not put it down, I stayed up untill 3am last night to finish it. This will definitely go on one of my favorites list. If you love romance, murder, suspence, and the bad guy getting what he deserves then you will really enjoy this book. Don't miss out GET IT. And just incase in happens I did not put + or % signs in this, I hope B&N get that fixed very soon. Oh will be buying "The Winter Rose".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Spectacular Read!

    I got this book on a whim. I had a gift card, and was trying to fill it up. I stumbled on this because one the staff recommended it. It was one of the best book I have ever bought. So far, I have recommended it to four people and they loved it as well. The characters are so real that you feel you know them and care for them as the story progresses. At times, I felt like I was in the story. It struck so many emotions in me, I felt for the characters. It has everything a good book needs, romance, murder, mystery, comedy. It is just a spectacular read. I could not put it down and that is a test of a truly, good book: When you try and put it down chapter after chapter but you keep reading. 5 stars, 2 thumbs up. Amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    I am pretty picky when it comes to books and this one was fantastic! I enjoyed everything about it, the characters were great and the love story was wonderful... I enjoyed it immensely! I'm onto to The Winter Rose now~ It was a very well written book and fast paced! I didn't get bored once. Definitely read it, it's a book I think any woman would love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Fun Read

    I loved this series. It's the classic old time adventure, with Love, scandal, and revenge. This is one of those rare books that really sucked me in, a real page turner. I enjoyed this series so much I bought it in paper back to give to my aunt, who also enjoyed it. If you enjoy historical fiction, women empowerment, and adventure this is the series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Amazing story or tragedy and triumph!

    This book is filled with so much raw emotion, desperation, love & excitement. You never want to put the book down because you genuinely want to find out what happens next and you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    There are very few books that stay with you long after you've re

    There are very few books that stay with you long after you've read the very last page. It has been about a year since I've read The Tea Rose and I still feel bound to the characters in the book. I find myself thinking about Fiona and her courageous struggle throughout the book. I think about Joe and his fierce love for Fiona despite his mistakes. I even think about the villain of the story and his unflinching insanity. I have since lent the book to a friend and I honestly can't wait to get it back from her so that I can read it again. A great book. My favorite of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Very intriguing story. Plenty of plot to drive the story with pl

    Very intriguing story. Plenty of plot to drive the story with plenty of romance to keep you invested in the story. A few very frustrating moments especially towards the end.
    Overall, I'll probably end up re-reading because it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Cannot wait to read the 2nd and 3rd of the trilogy. But my question is, why isn't book 2 (Winter Rose) available on the Nook?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Wonderful story - characters well developed through out the tril

    Wonderful story - characters well developed through out the trilogy.  You can really empathize with them.  Settings very realisitc - you feel you are there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Such an Amazing book! Size can be daunting, but once you get int

    Such an Amazing book! Size can be daunting, but once you get into the meat and potatoes the pages fly by. You instantly fall in love with the characters and the setting. Please, make your life better and read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11