Customer Reviews for

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

The proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Precious Ramotswe, is in mourning over her big-time old tiny white van. Her beloved van is making terrible noises and is probably headed for the junk yard. The idea of parting from the van that has been an important ...
The proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Precious Ramotswe, is in mourning over her big-time old tiny white van. Her beloved van is making terrible noises and is probably headed for the junk yard. The idea of parting from the van that has been an important part of her life for so long is breaking Mma Ramotswe's heart.
Precious and Grace are hired by Mr. Leungo Molofololo, the owner of a losing football team, to find out why his formerly successful Kalahari Swoopers are suddenly doing so badly.
Ramotswe treats everyone with respect, kindness, and sensitivity, believing that "until you hear the whole story, until you dig deeper, and listen, you know only a tiny part of the goodness of the human heart." This is only one example of a book full of values that encourage "good" in people. This is one of the best "pick-me-up" books, or any of Smith's books, that you can read. GENTLE. HEARTFELT. HUMOROUS. COZY. WARM. A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

Other treats for the heart....

posted by 1DANA3 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite in this series

What I love about all the books in this series is that they are simple, clean, contain no sex or violence, and absolutely make me feel as if I am IN the village in Africa. The language sounds how I would imagine it would sound, and the people act in the way that I expe...
What I love about all the books in this series is that they are simple, clean, contain no sex or violence, and absolutely make me feel as if I am IN the village in Africa. The language sounds how I would imagine it would sound, and the people act in the way that I expect they would. Even if that's not accurate, it seems real. They are wonderful characters. I just didn't find this ONE particular book to be as much fun as others in the series. Overall I would recommend them for light entertainment.

posted by CUParent on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

    The proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Precious Ramotswe, is in mourning over her big-time old tiny white van. Her beloved van is making terrible noises and is probably headed for the junk yard. The idea of parting from the van that has been an important part of her life for so long is breaking Mma Ramotswe's heart.
    Precious and Grace are hired by Mr. Leungo Molofololo, the owner of a losing football team, to find out why his formerly successful Kalahari Swoopers are suddenly doing so badly.
    Ramotswe treats everyone with respect, kindness, and sensitivity, believing that "until you hear the whole story, until you dig deeper, and listen, you know only a tiny part of the goodness of the human heart." This is only one example of a book full of values that encourage "good" in people. This is one of the best "pick-me-up" books, or any of Smith's books, that you can read. GENTLE. HEARTFELT. HUMOROUS. COZY. WARM. A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

    Other treats for the heart....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Precious Ramotswe Delights Again

    There is nothing else like the day a new book in the Number 1 Ladies'Detective series comes out. The plot only matters peripherally to me. What matters is being able to spend time with the most loveable and delightful people I have met in decades. All of the main characters
    will live in your heart as well as in Botswana (which comes alive in Smith's wonderful words). These are books perfect for a time when the reader needs lightness, smiles, and to have one's faith in humanity gently restored. The whole series is not to be missed. It a special treat to splurge for the CDs and hear the story brought to life with all names and places correctly pronounced. This one had me smiling on a long drive from Detroit to Cape Cod.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Sharing Tea with the Traditionally Built

    The No. 1 Ladies Detective series never disappoints. With Mma. Ramotswe, the challenges of life are calmly and creatively met. Among all of Alexander McCall Smith's series and books, his Botswana books are the most endearing due to its language, pace and sense of place in the simpleness of Botswana and her endearing people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I enjoyed the book

    I have read, in order, all of the Ladies Detective Club books. Alexander McCall Smith is a cleaver writer and keeps the stores flowing and interesting. The books are good to read on a rainy day and in between something more serious. I am always wondering what will happen next to Mma Ramotswe and Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Very engaging & thought provoking

    I have enjoyed this series & usually find gems in Mma Ramotswe's thoughts; this one was no exception. I find myself slowing down in my busy day to day life when I'm reading this series & look forward to each new book. I will say the "mysteries" the ladies solve aren't all that difficult, but they are not as central to the plot of the book as the lives of the characters. I throughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    The wonder continues

    Alexander McCall Smith again brings Precious to life for us. A wonderful, quiet, and gentle read for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    This is a great book to relax with - it will take you to another, more simple world with charming characters. It's been great fun to be along for the ride as the characters have developed throughout the series. Just when you think you know someone, a subtle twist in personality takes me by surprise. I have read all of McCall Smith's books - love this book and this series but love the Scotland based series even more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    the number one ladies detective meets another challenge.

    " Teatime for the Traditonally Built" is an enjoyable read. The uncommon good sense and humor is interspersed with the everyday lives and
    colors of Botswana. The mystery is worked out by good research and knowledge of human nature.
    An old rival of Mma Makutsi is countered in a suprizing way and a closer look at one of Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni's apprentices yields some unusual insights.
    The reader can relax with this interesting story and visit the beauty and local flavor of the Botswana countryside. You can sit and have your favorite cup of tea with Precious Ramotswe and enjoy meeting with old and new friends and challenges.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    McCall Smith Delivers again

    Another delightful addition to The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite in this series

    What I love about all the books in this series is that they are simple, clean, contain no sex or violence, and absolutely make me feel as if I am IN the village in Africa. The language sounds how I would imagine it would sound, and the people act in the way that I expect they would. Even if that's not accurate, it seems real. They are wonderful characters. I just didn't find this ONE particular book to be as much fun as others in the series. Overall I would recommend them for light entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple and sweet

    The topics are rather mundane, but the author's way of approaching them is quite touching. This was one of the first times I detected any actual affection between Precious and her husband. A little more romance would be welcome. The reader is really excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Time For Tea

    I loved Tea Time for the Traditionally Bulit. The characters are great and I can't wait to see what will happen to them next. This book had good moral mysteries. This is a great rainy day book. I can't wait to read the next one in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Smith does it again!

    I've read all the books in this series and love them all. This one may be my favorite however. The characters are more fully developed and there is a spark of humor that makes for delightful reading. The setting in an African culture is a welcome change of pace. Good reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    What can I say!!

    Without a doubt the best series I have read to date. I just love the simplicity of Precious Ramotswe's love of life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great addition!

    I have really enjoyed listening to the whole series on CD. This new one does not disappoint. Don't expect a fast-paced, exciting plot. This book is filled with quirky observations, friendship, loyalty, and appreciation of day-to-day living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    Tea Time For Many

    This book like the previous nine may well charm many into sharing tea time with its main characters, following them about as they untangle mysteries and confront all sorts of problems, personal and otherwise. Tea time is so cleverly woven into these books. It becomes a time to settle down with the characters as they catch their breath and rethink the mysteries that we're reading and wondering about. Tea time is sometimes a period of solitude for the main character as her solitary thoughts are shared with us, as she views her garden or watches the sun rise or set over her beloved Africa. Tea Time for the Traditionally Built was for me a time that I enjoyed very much just as I have enjoyed the tea times and African adventures of the previous 9 books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    One of my favorites!

    I love the characters in this series. They are like friends. Life as it happens even if it is a slow process to find a solution. I am thrilled that it is now a series on HBO! Thanks, Alexander McCall Smith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Just your cup of tea

    This is a perfect addition to Alexander McCall Smith's series about quite an unusual detective, Mma. Ramotswe. In rural African Botswana, she does not solve a typical who-done-it with one major crime and clues to gather for a final solution. Instead, she sips her red bush tea, while applying her peculiar Botswana wisdom and values to what her observant eyes and acute senses pick up as she goes about her daily errands. She solves mysteries which may seem insignificant, but have a profound effect on the lives--and futures--of friends and strangers alike. The characters are delightful--with humor, drama, romance, even tragedy in their lives. In this episode, Mma. Ramotswe struggles with the modern view of traditionally built women as she helps clear confusion and restore tranquility to the lives of clients who apply to the #1 Ladies Detective Agency for help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the wait - Mma Precious Ramotswe pulls us back into her magical world

    Synopsis:
    The latest and tenth installment in the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith, we find the owner and proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Mma Precious Ramotswe is approached by the proprietor of a local football team to help him discover the reason behind the team's losing streak. Though unfamiliar with the rules and world of football, Mma. Ramotswe and her prickly assistant Mma Grace Makutsi enlist the help of Mma. Ramotswe's football loving and very observant adopted son, Puso. With their gentle prodding, interviewing and powers of deduction, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is tracks down the cause of the problem.
    All the while, Mma Ramotswe is heartsick with a problem of her own. While she is happily married to Mr. J.L.B. Maketoni, one of Botswana's most talented mechanics, she is dismayed to discover that her much-loved and battered white van is finally giving out. Mma Ramotswe is loyal and recalls all the adventures with her white van. She is not ready to retire the van. She calls upon the help of Fanwell, Mr. Maketoni's second assistant, to see if the white van can be brought back to life.
    Mma. Ramotswe's assistant, Grace Makutsi is herself distracted by trouble brewing with her fiance, the owner of the Double Comfort Furniture Shop, wealthy and hardworking Mr. Phuti Radiphuti. Mr. Phuti has hired her nemesis from the Botswana Secretarial College, Violet Sephotho, as a new saleslady in his shop. Though Mr. Phuti is oblivious, Mma. Makutsi suspects that the beautiful and scheming Violet is plotting to steal him away. Mma. Makutsi searches for a way to remove the danger without alerting Mr. Phuti.
    Review:
    Tea Time for the Traditionally Built does not disappoint! As the latest in the series, we are happy to find Mma. Precious Ramotswe with her gentle and kind ways unchanged. She still pays respect to the traditional ways. She generously offers help and comfort to those who need it. As she gets to know Fanwell and his circumstances, you are glad to become better acquainted with the characters in her life. The constant sense of pride in Botswana and her love for her father are woven into the narrative but the book never dips to the maudlin, folksy or cute. This book is a very enjoyable way to pass a few hours!
    I highly recommend it for fans of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, people fond of detective cozies, and someone looking for a heartwarming glimpse into another culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Good reading

    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series is wonderful. I really enjoy the description of the characters and of Africa. It paints a picture that you can escape in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6