Customer Reviews for

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

The proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Precious Ramotswe, is in mourning over her big-time old tiny white van. Her beloved van is making terrible noises and is probably headed for the junk yard. The idea of parting from the van that has been an important ...
The proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Precious Ramotswe, is in mourning over her big-time old tiny white van. Her beloved van is making terrible noises and is probably headed for the junk yard. The idea of parting from the van that has been an important part of her life for so long is breaking Mma Ramotswe's heart.
Precious and Grace are hired by Mr. Leungo Molofololo, the owner of a losing football team, to find out why his formerly successful Kalahari Swoopers are suddenly doing so badly.
Ramotswe treats everyone with respect, kindness, and sensitivity, believing that "until you hear the whole story, until you dig deeper, and listen, you know only a tiny part of the goodness of the human heart." This is only one example of a book full of values that encourage "good" in people. This is one of the best "pick-me-up" books, or any of Smith's books, that you can read. GENTLE. HEARTFELT. HUMOROUS. COZY. WARM. A TREAT FOR THE HEART!

Other treats for the heart....

posted by 1DANA3 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite in this series

What I love about all the books in this series is that they are simple, clean, contain no sex or violence, and absolutely make me feel as if I am IN the village in Africa. The language sounds how I would imagine it would sound, and the people act in the way that I expe...
What I love about all the books in this series is that they are simple, clean, contain no sex or violence, and absolutely make me feel as if I am IN the village in Africa. The language sounds how I would imagine it would sound, and the people act in the way that I expect they would. Even if that's not accurate, it seems real. They are wonderful characters. I just didn't find this ONE particular book to be as much fun as others in the series. Overall I would recommend them for light entertainment.

posted by CUParent on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Very engaging & thought provoking

    I have enjoyed this series & usually find gems in Mma Ramotswe's thoughts; this one was no exception. I find myself slowing down in my busy day to day life when I'm reading this series & look forward to each new book. I will say the "mysteries" the ladies solve aren't all that difficult, but they are not as central to the plot of the book as the lives of the characters. I throughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    McCall Smith Delivers again

    Another delightful addition to The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple and sweet

    The topics are rather mundane, but the author's way of approaching them is quite touching. This was one of the first times I detected any actual affection between Precious and her husband. A little more romance would be welcome. The reader is really excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Time For Tea

    I loved Tea Time for the Traditionally Bulit. The characters are great and I can't wait to see what will happen to them next. This book had good moral mysteries. This is a great rainy day book. I can't wait to read the next one in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    One of my favorites!

    I love the characters in this series. They are like friends. Life as it happens even if it is a slow process to find a solution. I am thrilled that it is now a series on HBO! Thanks, Alexander McCall Smith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the wait - Mma Precious Ramotswe pulls us back into her magical world

    Synopsis:
    The latest and tenth installment in the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith, we find the owner and proprietor of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Mma Precious Ramotswe is approached by the proprietor of a local football team to help him discover the reason behind the team's losing streak. Though unfamiliar with the rules and world of football, Mma. Ramotswe and her prickly assistant Mma Grace Makutsi enlist the help of Mma. Ramotswe's football loving and very observant adopted son, Puso. With their gentle prodding, interviewing and powers of deduction, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is tracks down the cause of the problem.
    All the while, Mma Ramotswe is heartsick with a problem of her own. While she is happily married to Mr. J.L.B. Maketoni, one of Botswana's most talented mechanics, she is dismayed to discover that her much-loved and battered white van is finally giving out. Mma Ramotswe is loyal and recalls all the adventures with her white van. She is not ready to retire the van. She calls upon the help of Fanwell, Mr. Maketoni's second assistant, to see if the white van can be brought back to life.
    Mma. Ramotswe's assistant, Grace Makutsi is herself distracted by trouble brewing with her fiance, the owner of the Double Comfort Furniture Shop, wealthy and hardworking Mr. Phuti Radiphuti. Mr. Phuti has hired her nemesis from the Botswana Secretarial College, Violet Sephotho, as a new saleslady in his shop. Though Mr. Phuti is oblivious, Mma. Makutsi suspects that the beautiful and scheming Violet is plotting to steal him away. Mma. Makutsi searches for a way to remove the danger without alerting Mr. Phuti.
    Review:
    Tea Time for the Traditionally Built does not disappoint! As the latest in the series, we are happy to find Mma. Precious Ramotswe with her gentle and kind ways unchanged. She still pays respect to the traditional ways. She generously offers help and comfort to those who need it. As she gets to know Fanwell and his circumstances, you are glad to become better acquainted with the characters in her life. The constant sense of pride in Botswana and her love for her father are woven into the narrative but the book never dips to the maudlin, folksy or cute. This book is a very enjoyable way to pass a few hours!
    I highly recommend it for fans of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, people fond of detective cozies, and someone looking for a heartwarming glimpse into another culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    A good read with tea

    Sweet story as usual in this series - formulaic, but fun
    All turns out well in the end - good escapist summer reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tea Time For the Traditionally Built

    As usual Alexander Mc Call Smith has written a charming, and gentle detective story about the lovely country of Botswana and the delightful, overweight (traditionally built) Mma Precious Ramotswe.
    Having lived in Zimbabwe where Mr. Mc Call Smith was born and went to
    school I can identify with his characters and the life in Africa, drawn without the harsh, stark stero type people associate with Africa .
    He has a quite humour and acute observational powers.
    This latest book in the No 1 Detective Agency series about Mma Ramotswe's tiny white van, her mechanic husband and her trusty secretary Mma Makutsi's is a delight and worthy of collecting along with the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2