Customer Reviews for

Tea for Two

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes protecting your heart...could break it.

    Life, after losing a spouse to death or divorce, can leave an unrealized impact. Often a fierce determination to "go it alone" surfaces and the wall of self protection is raised. This is the case for Zak Cooper, a farmer with two teenagers to raise. He seeks advice from counselor Tina Milano who he meets through Milly, a mutual friend. Trish does an excellent job of bringing these two in contact with nicely flowing short chapters. Realistic action, in the small community, interlinks the unexpected. Great characters, with many facets, enjoy the thrill of achieving the "impossible" and beating the odds. Tea for Two will renew your hope, open your heart, and lift your spirit!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book from Trish!

    Just when I think that Trish Perry has written the perfect book, that she cannot top herself, she brings out another book in the Tea with Millicent series. I love Milly, I feel like she is every sweet older lady you will ever meet all wrapped up in one, and topped off with a darling British accent. This is how I personally picture her.

    Tea for Two is a wonderful story of a single father struggling to raise teenagers who are feeling a bit independent and a bit rebellious. He realizes after a trip to the police station to pick up his son, and a scare with his daughter lying about where she was spending the night, that he needs help. Even professional help, and that is where Milly steps in. One of her regular customers is a counselor and she is sure that she can help Zack, and not only that Milly is sure that Zack could use some of this counselor's attention also.

    A fast paced story of how two people highly attracted to one another interact in a professional, or a trying to keep it all professional setting. I laughed at many spots in this story, because I could just picture this story and the antics that Zack went through to keep his kids from knowing that they were being counseled, when the whole time the kids were wanting their dad counseled.

    Trish does not disappoint, you will love this wonderful story! And oh my the recipes at the back look delicious, Milly and her baking makes you hungry! 243 pages US $9.99 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    This cleverly written novel by Trish Perry, "Had me at the first page!" What a treat! No pun intended, but the yummy recipes from Millicent's Tea Shop, are provided at the end of this refreshing novel. "Tea for Two" has many, "mouth dropping, ah ha moments." This book although fictional, has a storyline that is real and raw about the issues of raising children in today's society. It takes home the revelation that with a little faith and hope from friends, all things are possible. With characters like Bucky Reynolds and Stacy, we are reminded that patience and tolerance can be challenging! Give yourself a treat, and read this entertaining, uplifting, romantic novel. And when you are finished, try some of the delicious recipes in the back. They are yummy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    A Tea Treat

    Teens in trouble and it could get worse. What's a devoted single dad supposed to do? Delightful tea shop proprietor, Milly, has more than a twinkle in her eye and tea in her pot when she makes a subtle suggestion to handsome Zack Cooper. Would he consider approaching counselor, Tina Milano, for some help? Tina's been single for years and has no plans for any change in her status when she takes on this new challenge. She is a professional, but with this endearing family and its fascinating ups and downs, she's learning it isn't easy to remain personally uninvolved. Will she truly be able to make a difference in the lives of the Cooper family? What a tightrope Tina walks when she forms a delicate alliance with Zack to counsel his children. Faith, skill, humor, and compassion work well, but things get interesting with the attentions of old and new suitors and the advice of well-meaning friends--even clients. Tina finds she has her hands full and her heart changing. Delectable read with some clever, unexpected twists and surprises along the way. I thoroughly enjoyed Tea for Two, the second novel in Trish Perry's delightful Tea with Millicent series. Her novels make me want to curl up, take my time, and relish them from beginning to end. Trish's characters have real depth, and the town of Middleburg simply rolls out its sidewalks for you with shops, offices, farms, and endearing residents. High recommendation from me, with five stars for Trish's new novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can life's problems simply be solved over a cup of tea?

    What do you do when your wife leaves you and the kids? How do you make it as a single parent? How do you deal with your teenage kids, Dylan 17 and Sherry 15? Where does your faith get you when your kids refuse to attend church?

    Those are just a sample of questions facing Zack now a single father. His wife, or should we say ex-wife Maya just up and decided one day that she didn't want a family or Zack for that matter. As his kids have grown they are becoming more difficult to manage. First with an emergency call to Zack to come pick his son Dylan up from the police station. He's been picked up for being with two boys that have all skipped school and gone shop lifting. Even though Dylan didn't steal anything, he isn't aware just where he will be headed if he keeps on that path.

    His second issue follows on the heels of grounding Dylan for a month, when he receives a phone call from a mom that Sherry is supposed to spending the night at, only Sherry isn't there. Apparently the two girls have told the parents the opposite story about staying the night at one another's house to stay out at a party all night. Now not sure where to turn with both of his kids, Zack turns to Milly.

    Milly, is a British woman who runs Milly's tea shop and is also a customer of Zack's to whom he supplies fresh grown produce for. She seems to have a way of helping him sift through life's difficulties with a strong shoulder and a willing ear. Her recommendation is to offer the counseling services of Tina, who spends one day a week at her tea shop working with some women searching for their own version of help over tea.

    Knowing his kids may not take to the counseling session, Milly makes arrangements to Tina to pretend that her and Zack already know one another as friends to just casually observe the children and offer Zack advice on his options before anything more serious can happen? Will Tina be able to help Zack or is God working behind the scenes in more mysterious ways?

    To find out read the latest novel by Trish Perry, Tea for Two! I received this charming book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and was hooked from the first page. Being a story I could easily relate to and being a lover of quaint tea shops, this one was perfect for a chilly day of warmth you can feel from the honesty emanating from the characters of Zack and Tina. You can feel their personal struggles with being responsible for leading children in growing up as adults in a challenging world. My favorite part is how God makes His way known in the many "chance" encounters that happen between Zack and Tina. This one will warm your heart and soul and rates 5 out of 5 stars.

    This book is available as a paperback or for you eReader as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    sweet romance

    Charming characters in a lovely place. Good insights into ways to heal emotionally. Book club discussions would be enjoyable and also maybe a little controversial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Trish Perry books rock!

    I love Trish Perry's books. She has a lighthearted style of storytelling that makes a reader feel like she knows the characters and is invested in their outcome. I particularly liked this book because of the sparks between the main characters, and because I really do love the setting. I enjoy the mix of humor and heart in all of Perry's books, but this one really stood out for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1