Customer Reviews for

Teach Like a Champion: 49 Techniques That Put Students on the Path to College

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Teaching Techniques

I am only half way through this book, Teach Like a Champion, and I can already tell it is going to have a HUGE positive impact on my public school teaching!! I am so glad Doug Lemov listened to Norman Atkins and published these techniques. I am going to tell anyone that...
I am only half way through this book, Teach Like a Champion, and I can already tell it is going to have a HUGE positive impact on my public school teaching!! I am so glad Doug Lemov listened to Norman Atkins and published these techniques. I am going to tell anyone that will listen that they need to read this book...NOW!! What I value the most are the video clips. Seeing it in action, the ability to replay it and seeing how the students respond are extremely valuable to me. Thank you, Mr. Lemov, for 5 years of investigation and dedication!

posted by nsudnick on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This is Education for the 21st Century?

At first glance, this book seems like a dream come true - how does one truly master the art and craft of teaching - these 49 techniques should put anyone on the fast track....but unfortunately, from what I saw on the DVD, and read in the text, these techniques harken ba...
At first glance, this book seems like a dream come true - how does one truly master the art and craft of teaching - these 49 techniques should put anyone on the fast track....but unfortunately, from what I saw on the DVD, and read in the text, these techniques harken back to the stone age of education - where pupils are NOT engaged in thinking for themselves, but rather, are part of the "drill and thrill" mentality.

I would be curious to see how the students identified perform on a longitudinal scale, when asked to engage in problem solving, or critical thinking.

posted by 3433585 on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    Powerful Teaching Techniques

    I am only half way through this book, Teach Like a Champion, and I can already tell it is going to have a HUGE positive impact on my public school teaching!! I am so glad Doug Lemov listened to Norman Atkins and published these techniques. I am going to tell anyone that will listen that they need to read this book...NOW!! What I value the most are the video clips. Seeing it in action, the ability to replay it and seeing how the students respond are extremely valuable to me. Thank you, Mr. Lemov, for 5 years of investigation and dedication!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    This is a great book!

    I'm only half way through, but I'm enjoying this book and find that it's very helpful. The DVD that shows each strategy in use is also wonderful. I'm pleased that I've already successfully incorporated many of the strategies in this book, prior to reading it. Nevertheless, it's a good affirmation and review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This books deals with the fundamentals of teaching. This book g

    This books deals with the fundamentals of teaching. This book gives 49 very specific and clear ways on using routines, procedures, and classroom management. These will not take long to learn and implement. I agreed with over 40 of his strategies. I have chosen to ignore the few I don't see implementing. How wonderful to have all these 40+specific ways to get students to better listen and engage in the classroom. I have found these "little" things make a big difference in my classroom in getting students to listen ad perform better.

    This book doesn't pretend to have highly engaging and exciting activities. There are plenty of other books for that, and I encourage all educators to find such books or resources. This book will help all educators from rookies to those experienced. With the challenging behavior we are seeing in the classroom, this will be an important book for those in grades 2-12. I wouldn't recommend it to grades K and 1.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great book but overrated

    I found most of the techniques to be intuitive and already things most teachers already do, but developing a common lingo is very useful across classrooms. The accompanying video is great but very basic common sense approaches to classroom management. A must read but it won't solve your problems.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Excellent information not taught in teacher training courses in college

    I just received my teaching certificate in New York and found this book to be full of very concrete, useful information that was not taught in any of my courses. I learned a lot and plan to include some of these techniques this fall when I start teaching. T feel there is a tremendous need for successful classroom management methods to be specifically taught to prospective teachers. I do wish there was more in this book related directly to high school students, but as the author's schools included younger students that appears to be the type of students directly discussed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    To person who wants to know symbols

    No spaces & hearts = &hearts & square = &square & star = &star & male = &male & female = &female & phone = &phone & clubs = &clubs & spades = &spades & ring = &ring & pi = &pi & #9822 =&#9822 & #9788= &#9788 & #9787= &#9787 &# 9786 = &#9786 &# 9828 = &#9828 &# 9757 =&#9757 &# 9818= &#9818 &# 9819=&#9819 &# 9835 = &#9835 &# 9675= &#9675 &# 9576 =&#9576

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2