Customer Reviews for

Team Rodent: How Disney Devours the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

What Disney Hides

First of all, i just have to say WOW! This book really opened my eyes. The Author, Carl Hiaasen, explains how dirty Disney really is. Disney is too trusted by too many people. They don't even realize what really happens behind the curtains, sometimes even literally. Dis...
First of all, i just have to say WOW! This book really opened my eyes. The Author, Carl Hiaasen, explains how dirty Disney really is. Disney is too trusted by too many people. They don't even realize what really happens behind the curtains, sometimes even literally. Disney has such an influence on people that they go to extreme measures to not lose the trust of their customers and consumers. In other words, Disney will do anything to make money and keep making money. After having read this book, you will not look at Disney the same anymore.

posted by JBSofRAL on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Mickeymouse239

I hate this book even though I never read it! I love Disney and Walt Disney is my role model, this is so stupid, so many people love Disney!!!!!!!!!!! I would have given this zero stars if I could. This book in my opioion is a bunch of junk

posted by 10574951 on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    What Disney Hides

    First of all, i just have to say WOW! This book really opened my eyes. The Author, Carl Hiaasen, explains how dirty Disney really is. Disney is too trusted by too many people. They don't even realize what really happens behind the curtains, sometimes even literally. Disney has such an influence on people that they go to extreme measures to not lose the trust of their customers and consumers. In other words, Disney will do anything to make money and keep making money. After having read this book, you will not look at Disney the same anymore.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Lifts the festering scab that is Disney!

    Great! Carl Hiaasen said what all Florida natives wanted to say. A great read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Mickeymouse239

    I hate this book even though I never read it! I love Disney and Walt Disney is my role model, this is so stupid, so many people love Disney!!!!!!!!!!! I would have given this zero stars if I could. This book in my opioion is a bunch of junk

    7 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Snooze

    Another disney hating liberal book.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    Mice aren't nice

    LOVED IT! It's a scary read however. Mr. Hiaasen is an excellent writer in his day job so I figured this would be good and it is. I'm not one of the few who hasn't been touched by the mouse machine.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    New thoughts on Disney

    I thought this book was very interesting. It was nothing like I have ever read before. I went to Disneyland over christmas break and all I could think about was this book. I have always loved Disney but I couldn't help but think how corupt it is. I kept telling my parents stories i read from this book but they didn't want to hear it. I'm sure like most people, my parents didn't want their happy thoughts about Disney tarnished. -KO in McIntyre 4

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    Personal insight at its best!

    This book includes many personal observations from the author. I found it to be very intriguing and insightful. Many Disney enthusiasts might be offended, however everyone is entitled to their opinion. I'd recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a witty rendition of corporate hegemony. Five stars for a sarcastic kick in the pants to the 'mouse'.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Lykki

    I read a reveiw from editorial reveiws that said disney used "farmland" for the park. Actually, stupid, they used unowned unused swampland. SWAMPLAND, NOT FARMLAND do your research.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Not much of anything.

    This book is a long rant from someone who hates disney. I kept waiting for a valid reason, but one did not emerge. This 65 page rant was very boring. I wish i hadn't read it. -i should add i am also a native floridian and usually like hiaasen novels. Too bad.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    A 'fun read'

    Hiaasen writes well - and in a style which is serious in content, yet not so serious as to be dogmatic. I found myself laughing at his wit - while at the same time becoming more aware than ever of Disney's compulsion for absolute control. I highly recommend 'Team Rodent: How Disney Devours the World' - it is indeed a 'fun read'.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Boring and incredibly cynical...

    And that's just the sample. I wouldn't waste my money on this..I'd rather give it to Disney! Zero stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Bb

    Gsse

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While I appreciate that there must be many Disney haters like Ca

    While I appreciate that there must be many Disney haters like Carl across Florida, and agree that this book makes many insightful observations, Mr. Hiaasen  misses the mark on balance entirely. This book seems more like the work of a disgruntled neighbor complaining to the zoning board than an actual objective analysis of the Disney power and influence. Yes some parts were witty but for the most part it's just another rant by a curmudgeon that clearly doesn't feel the magic.Not to mention some inaccuracies for effect, so not keeping it real. I feel badly for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    ddf

    xxf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Awsome

    Awsome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2