Customer Reviews for

Tear Soup: A Recipe for Healing after Loss

Average Rating 5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am the mother of a wonderful young man who died unexpectedly at 25yrs. old.What grief! A patient in our clinic brought this book for me to read. It is what you really go through. Everyone who has lost someone or knows someone who has should read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    This book is great for all ages even adults dealing with grief I

    This book is great for all ages even adults dealing with grief I keep some on hand to give to people I know who have suffered a loss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I love, love, love this book! As a former guidance counselor (r

    I love, love, love this book! As a former guidance counselor (retired) I wish I had had this during my many wonderful years with youth...motivation a group discussion & interpretation of the great ideas given. However, I tend to lean toward the opinion that this book is more for adults. OR for adults to read with their youngsters. Some of the analogy could be above even the middle school years (as indicated by the age range targetted). It's terrifically illustrated & beautifully stated. I ordered one for myself and for several friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Must check it out

    Wonderful book to give to someone who has suffered a loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Excellent book for all ages after the loss of a loved one!

    Excellent book for all ages after the loss of a loved one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    This book really helped me get through a big loss a few years ag

    This book really helped me get through a big loss a few years ago when I was 11 years old. It helped explain to me the grieving process and helped me relate what I was going through. And, not only was it good for me, but my mom too. It can touch many different people and help them through any loss they're going through. And now that I'm older and it's been a few years, I see now that what I was going through was completely normal. This book helped me so much, and I will always turn to it whenever I'm suffering any loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Great gift for those dealing with Loss

    I've always had trouble telling people that things would be ok after they suffered the loss of a loved one -- When my mother passed away around Thanksgiving my daughter and I were trying to find books that would help us learn to be ok with the loss. My mother LOVED to cook soup! It was her number ONE comfort meal -- so when we found this book we thought of her and when we read it together we CRIED and smiled and laughed and learned that we were going to be ok! We cry a little less each time we read it :-) We have shared it with 2 other families that were struggling with loosing a loved one rather suddenly -- this book became a favorite for their family and especially their children. -- Check it out -- TOTALLY worth it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Take the time to make your soup!

    My dear friend gave me this book when I lost my husband in 2003. It helped me understand in a very simple way just how many different ways people handle a loss and work through their grief. It also helped me understand the efforts people around me were making to comfort me; some people are there for the long haul, and others are over it long before you are, but just in knowing how others may react helped me not to be upset with the ones who moved on or to consider them unsympathetic.
    I have loaned it (because I want to keep a copy) to family, friends, and co-workers who have also suffered loss, and they too have found comfort in it's words. But I have found sometimes just purchasing and giving them their own copy is best.
    The text and pictures are appropriate for all ages, and the loss that the Grandy character works through is generic so that the audience can apply their own understanding of their situation to what she may be going through.
    If you or someone you know is grieving a loss (no matter how big or small), I cannot express how highly I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    It helps!

    After I was given a copy of this from my daughter-in-law following the death of my brother, I purchased 2 of these books to give to a friend and a family member who also suffered a recent loss. It is a great book and I would recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    A wonderful book for anyone who has ever lost anyone or anything

    This is a wonderful book for any child or adult who has ever lost anyone or experienced grief/loss in any way. The art work follows the story in a gentle way that guides the reader through the story in a gentle way. There is a compassion and understanding in the story that every person who has walked this road, young or old will understand. I have used this book with grief groups and they love it. Friends who have experienced loss will remind me of the book when someone else suffers a loss. It is a real gem of a book! It talks to the heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    Tear Soup: Is My Grief Counselor

    I bought a blank journal from Barnes and Noble the day before a friend gave this book to me I never used it for what I had originally bought it for because it turned out to be My Grief Journal. After reading Tear Soup, I realized I needed to journal what I yearned to say to those who are lost to me. No they are not dead, they choose to be estranged from me. I have reread Tear Soup and continued to journal my grief thoughts, feelings, and prayers. It has been comforting and therapuetic to have a place to say what I cannot to the living.

    I have bought a copy for three friends and my pastor. I recommend the book every chance I get to the suffering who come in my path. The resources in the back and website are fantastic.

    I purchased the DVD and plan to form a church small group to share Tear Soup's story, resources, and counsel.

    What a blessing this book is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Great for dealing with grief

    Having lost my husband to cancer, I read this book to my grandchildren so they might have a better understanding of my sadness. I would give this book to anyone who has lost something or someone, it makes sense of how we might deal with our sadness. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    great story but. . .

    My only hesitation about this book is that it is not concrete enough for children dealing with loss. It's a beautiful story and book but if you are looking for a book to help a child through their first loss and the child is young (mine is 4), this may be too metaphorical. I love it for myself and even considered giving it to a friend who lost a child. And, maybe in a few years, it will be helpful for him as well but at this point, I don't think he'll get it. He's so sensitive that I think it will just make him sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Tear Soup

    This is a very sensitive and helpful book for those who are grieving. It touches many different feelings and experiences of those who are going through loss. The loss may include death, divorce, etc. It is geared toward children, but the reader will also learn about the grieving process. It is very appropriate to give to families going through loss and will be read over and over with new insites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    The best I have ever read!

    I love this book. I have given it to many friends and relatives. For me, it is not just a book about grieving a death, but grieving any loss that may happen in one's life. I get my book out anytime I have a loss or I feel grief overcoming me. I love to just look at the illustrations, while I read the words. I feel this book helps more adults, than children; but that could be that I haven't had any children around me, who has had a loss. I would recommend this book to anyone who has experienced a loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Story We Will All Read One Day

    When I lost a very special student very suddenly, I could not move past the terrible pain I felt. A dear friend gave me this book and told me to read it when I was ready. Several monthe later, I opened the book and found that my pain was not unique and I was not suffering alone. Now I face the immenent death of my dear father. I have read this again in a hope to pepare myself for the pain that is yet to come. It's on my bookshelf for future pains and offers comfort every time I turn to it. Share it with a friend in saddness and loss. It will make you realize how good a friend you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Comforting & Thoughtful

    I received this book after my brother passed away. Reading it provided comfort and reassurance that mourning his loss was okay. I now give a copy of this book to my friends when they have lost a loved one. It is always received with much gratitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Fantastic Book

    This book was given to my niece when her father, my brother, died suddenly. The loss was devistating to the entire family and when I saw this book; I had to read it for myself...then I had to purchase it. Since that time I have shared the book with our counselor at school and other friends who have lost loved ones; been in accidents or suffered other catastrophies. It is a good book to help every age group with the grieving process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Excellent source for grief counseling

    As a certified grief counselor, I have read many books on mourning, grief, death and dying. The book "Tear Soup" and also its DVD are excellent sources for messages that we as counselors wish to share with our clients. It addresses the grief process head-on without being maudlin and then provides hope as one works through the grief process. It can be used for adults and children. I recently bought the book for a friend whose husband died recently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    an excellent grief resource

    I believe this was originally written for children who are grieving, but I have given this to many adult friends and relatives who have enjoyed it and found good counsel as well. The illustrations are marvelous, and additional resources at the end are very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3