Customer Reviews for

Tears of Pearl (Lady Emily Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love Lady Emily and this is the best of the series

I'll admit that I'm already an avid fan of the Lady Emily mysteries, but I confess I wasn't sure what to expect with this one. I don't know anything about the Ottoman Empire, and I wasn't sure I wanted to learn. But this book sucked me right in with it's intriguing prem...
I'll admit that I'm already an avid fan of the Lady Emily mysteries, but I confess I wasn't sure what to expect with this one. I don't know anything about the Ottoman Empire, and I wasn't sure I wanted to learn. But this book sucked me right in with it's intriguing premise.

Tasha Alexander has a way of painting pictures with words and this book was just like the others. Soon I felt like I had been swept up into a world harem intrigue.

She visited Istanbul to do research for this story and it is evident in the detailed way that she depicts the city, in addition to the incredible amount of authentic historical research that she pours into the writing of each and every book.

I was immediately impressed by the way that Ms. Alexander always wants to push herself to the next level in her writing. Though this book did not have the courtship between Emily and Colin to drive the story, the romance became even more intriguing as they dove into sleuthing and married life.

Lady Emily is a strong woman and the chemistry between her and Colin is hot, hot, HOT.

I'm the sort of reader who can't stand reading a book that's not well written, and so I always count on Tasha Alexander to provide a read that is fun, intelligent, romantic and fast-paced. And this book was no exception.

I can't wait until the next book comes out!!!

posted by ElizabethLetts on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

With Heavy Sighs And Rolling Eyes

I found myself repeatedly sighing out loud and rolling my eyes at the ridiculous, unlikely, unbelievable and melodramatic events and dialogue throughout this mediocre murder mystery.

I know Tasha Alexander can do better. She created wonderful characters in Lady Emil...
I found myself repeatedly sighing out loud and rolling my eyes at the ridiculous, unlikely, unbelievable and melodramatic events and dialogue throughout this mediocre murder mystery.

I know Tasha Alexander can do better. She created wonderful characters in Lady Emily and Colin Hargreaves in 'And Only to Deceive' and she continued to develop their relationship in 'A Poisoned Season'. I thought both books were wonderful and I would recommend either of them to any one who enjoys good historical fiction or likes mysteries.

Unfortunately 'Tears of Pearl' has little or no character development, a poor mystery at it's core, unrealistic dialogue and a completely unbelievable string of events. There is an overwhelming amount of trembling and tingling being described but sadly there wasn't any chemistry between the characters. The constant double entendres exchanged between Emily and Colin seemed forced and far too contemporary.

The reader does learn some new things about Lady Emily's youth but they feel as if they are facts given to fill in the blanks, some of which were repeated a bit too often for my tastes. Alexander also includes letters in the book that add nothing to the story. She did this with 'Fatal Waltz' as well.

The only thing I liked about this book was when Lady Emily recalled events that happened in the first two books.

I thought the mystery was lack-luster the events ridiculous and the author turned what had been very likable characters into caricatures. This, the double entendres and unbelievable dialogue has made me swear off any more Tasha Alexander novels until she returns to the quality of writing that she produced in her first two novels.

I never would have finished this if I hadn't been obligated to review it. Had I paid for this book I would have been very angry to have wasted my money on this.

I would recommend some similar but very well done historical mysteries; Deanna Raybourn's 'Silent' series and Kate Ross' 'Julian Kestral' mysteries. And Ashley Gardner has a nice series set in a little bit earlier time period, the 'Gabriel Lacy' series.

posted by 1889303 on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    With Heavy Sighs And Rolling Eyes

    I found myself repeatedly sighing out loud and rolling my eyes at the ridiculous, unlikely, unbelievable and melodramatic events and dialogue throughout this mediocre murder mystery.

    I know Tasha Alexander can do better. She created wonderful characters in Lady Emily and Colin Hargreaves in 'And Only to Deceive' and she continued to develop their relationship in 'A Poisoned Season'. I thought both books were wonderful and I would recommend either of them to any one who enjoys good historical fiction or likes mysteries.

    Unfortunately 'Tears of Pearl' has little or no character development, a poor mystery at it's core, unrealistic dialogue and a completely unbelievable string of events. There is an overwhelming amount of trembling and tingling being described but sadly there wasn't any chemistry between the characters. The constant double entendres exchanged between Emily and Colin seemed forced and far too contemporary.

    The reader does learn some new things about Lady Emily's youth but they feel as if they are facts given to fill in the blanks, some of which were repeated a bit too often for my tastes. Alexander also includes letters in the book that add nothing to the story. She did this with 'Fatal Waltz' as well.

    The only thing I liked about this book was when Lady Emily recalled events that happened in the first two books.

    I thought the mystery was lack-luster the events ridiculous and the author turned what had been very likable characters into caricatures. This, the double entendres and unbelievable dialogue has made me swear off any more Tasha Alexander novels until she returns to the quality of writing that she produced in her first two novels.

    I never would have finished this if I hadn't been obligated to review it. Had I paid for this book I would have been very angry to have wasted my money on this.

    I would recommend some similar but very well done historical mysteries; Deanna Raybourn's 'Silent' series and Kate Ross' 'Julian Kestral' mysteries. And Ashley Gardner has a nice series set in a little bit earlier time period, the 'Gabriel Lacy' series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Waste of time and money

    Having enjoyed Alexander's first two books but being less than thrilled by the third, I was hesitant about purchasing the latest in the Lady Emily series. I caved in, though, but I was terribly disappointed (understatement) in Tears Of Pearl. Whether or not the author has done huge amounts of research, it matters little when the plot was thin, there were too many coincidences to mention and the characters were barely recognizable from Alexander's first two books. Okay, so the plot and mystery/suspense of this author's first books weren't all that savvy to begin with, but at least those were enjoyable books, with an enjoyable cast of characters whom you cared about.
    _______________
    In Tears Of Pearl, main character Emily has quite a narrow view of the Ottoman culture and its women, which spoils the book even more. She is not open-minded to anything or anyone at all...unless it concerns herself, which says enough about this character.
    ________________
    Tears Of Pearl is a so-called "novel of suspense", but the 'suspense' part of this book is playing hide-and-seek. A true mystery, that.
    ________________
    See my recommendations of murder/mystery and suspense series which does a much better job overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Not her best

    At first, I couldn't figure out why I was having such a difficult time getting through this book. Then it came to me, it wasn't well written. I loved the first two in the series, the third was still good, but not a good as the others. However, this one was just plain boring. So unfortunate. Lady Emily seems to have lost her edge. And I felt as if I was in a classroom being lectured on the Ottoman Empire. I hate to say it, but this was not worth the money or time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    I love Lady Emily and this is the best of the series

    I'll admit that I'm already an avid fan of the Lady Emily mysteries, but I confess I wasn't sure what to expect with this one. I don't know anything about the Ottoman Empire, and I wasn't sure I wanted to learn. But this book sucked me right in with it's intriguing premise.

    Tasha Alexander has a way of painting pictures with words and this book was just like the others. Soon I felt like I had been swept up into a world harem intrigue.

    She visited Istanbul to do research for this story and it is evident in the detailed way that she depicts the city, in addition to the incredible amount of authentic historical research that she pours into the writing of each and every book.

    I was immediately impressed by the way that Ms. Alexander always wants to push herself to the next level in her writing. Though this book did not have the courtship between Emily and Colin to drive the story, the romance became even more intriguing as they dove into sleuthing and married life.

    Lady Emily is a strong woman and the chemistry between her and Colin is hot, hot, HOT.

    I'm the sort of reader who can't stand reading a book that's not well written, and so I always count on Tasha Alexander to provide a read that is fun, intelligent, romantic and fast-paced. And this book was no exception.

    I can't wait until the next book comes out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    I have really tried to like this series, but honestly I should h

    I have really tried to like this series, but honestly I should have stopped reading after the first book. I continued the series only because the second book was so good. Lady Emily is just not a likeable character and Colin Hargreaves is not believable in that no one would put up with a spouse who is so selfish. The plot of the mystery is convoluted and the murderer is so obvious its laughable. Margaret comes across as a spoiled brat, not an enlightened woman. There was no development of Emily or Colin's character as they transition into man and wife, and his agreement to whatever stupid idea Emily has makes him seem very weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Loved it!

    The Lady Emily series just gets better and better. Colin Hargreaves and Lady Emily are on their honeymoon in Constantnople, and of course end upinthe middle of murder and intrigue. The book was exciting and the mystery was good, if somewhat improbable. But it kept me reading, wanting to know who the villian was. Onto thenext book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Reading through the series

    Very well written. The author cares deeply for not only the characters but the surroundings of the story. Each book takes privileged, young, Lady Emily to another Victorian aged european capital, walking the streets of beautiful Paris to interview interesting characters to solve a murder. The story uncovers the keen interests of that time in the art world from ancient Greek sculpture to her personal encounters with painters of the era like Monet. Do not worry that it sounds too involved in the art world as Lady E. is not the least interested in much of that in the beginning. She accepts a marriage proposal purely to get her away from living with her overbearing mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Nadia

    Superb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Wonderful historical fiction! Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Victorian series of mystery, intrique and romance.

    Lady Emily is a thoroughly modern 19th century lady....and then of course there is the dashing Colin Hargreaves. I love that Emily is an intelligent heroine that loves Art and Literature and would rather live alone than submit to a man that doesn't respect her mind and independence, esp. considering it's 1890 London. All the characters, and there are many, are delightful and interesting and work together to round out Emily's life in London Society and beyond. In Tears of Pearl, along with the usual mystery, her marriage to Colin introduces her to international intrique that takes them to the palaces of Constantinople. Colin and Emily are very romantic and easily distracted, but it is not overdone; although, since we read about Emily and Philip's wedding night, I was hoping to read about Emily and Colin's, I doubt it was quite so 'proper'. I always enjoy a book that gives something extra, in this case, the letters that keep Emily in touch with her family and friends. In addition to the history, mystery and intrique, we get to enjoy the literature and romance novels (that the gentlemen don't approve of, but seem to enjoy) of this period. Thoroughly enjoyable, looking forward to Book 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    That Emily Never Changes

    I have loved this series of Tasha Alexander which have an amazing, lovable, hard headed Emily Ashton/Hargreaves. This 4th installment took me awhile to get into but once the investigation started rolling my interest was alit. Emily and her new hubby the wonderful Colin have set on a journey to Constantinople to enjoy their honeymoon only to be enveloped in a mystery as soon as they set on the train. In order to help an Englishman whose daughter is murdered both Mr. and Mrs. Hargreaves begin work on the case, that's right Emily's actually working for the crown in this one. Their new exotic surroundings, especially the Harem are very interesting. Trying to discover the ending has twists and turns that have you guessing as to the culprits until the very end. I enjoyed it thoroughly and found myself getting quite emotional with some of the situations between these wonderfully created characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Alexander Continues to Intrigue Readers with Tales of Lady Emily

    This book was another wonderful installment to the Lady Emily series. Just when I thought Tasha Alexander couldn't top her last novel, she surprised me with this exciting journey to the East. The setting takes us out of Western culture and introduces many new and interesting characters. This is a must-read for all Lady Emily fans and anyone who loves historical fiction with a bit of mystery and suspense worked in as well. I hope Alexander keeps more stories coming about this fascinating leading lady!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    A book set in a real Palace in Istanbul!

    I enjoyed this book alot, and since I have traveled to Turkey in the past,and I can pichure the palace here where most of the story took place, which is in the lavish Topkopi Palace in Istanbul. This is a real palace of the Ottoman Sultans.It is a page turner to the end! DK from Nebraska.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3