Customer Reviews for

Tears of Tess (Monsters in the Dark, #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades

First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admit...
First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admitted she had NO experience whatsoever in the BDSM lifestyle and did all her research on the internet. Not to mention it was originally written as a Twilight Fan Fic. (This is true.. google it) She took characters and BARELY changed their personalities, names, and situation to write that so called 'book series'. Any author to use the phrase 'inner Goddess' over 80 times in just ONE book needs some serious editing and a reality check of women. Sorry, but it needed to be said. All 50 Shades did was open up a genre to women who never would have discovered the world of BDSM otherwise do to the hype of the series. Fact.. the BDSM genre has existed LONG before 50 Shades and will exist long after. Try reading The Story of O. Published in the 1950's and one of the most poignant works on the subject ever to be published. Don't reference a book series in a genre you obviously have no experience in yourself. I am active member in the BDSM community and have been reading this genre LONG before 50 Shades ever hit the shelves.

This book delves into a darker world of BDSM. It goes beyond desire and into need. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead 5 is simply this... the way Q behaves when Tess first arrives goes against the entire story of who he is later. The way he spoke to her and treated her doesn't reflect what the author intended him to be later. I even went back and reread the scenes of her arrival and still couldn't put it together as the behavior of someone who is 'saving' her. That said.. discovering Tess's darker desires and how well her needs served Q's made this book believable and the characters ignite. It's hard to find a match when you have desires such as these and the chemistry between Tess and Q was well put together, even though his behavior in the beginning mismatched what he really was. This book is well written, doesn't drag, and flows very well to make it a quick read while being compelling from the first chapter to the last. Can't wait for the next one!

posted by Avid-Reader-BR on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be publis

I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be published that pushes limits and breaks boundaries (Fifty Shades of Gray), and then hundreds of other books immediately follow that try to do the same thing but ultimately fall short. I think this was definitely ...
I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be published that pushes limits and breaks boundaries (Fifty Shades of Gray), and then hundreds of other books immediately follow that try to do the same thing but ultimately fall short. I think this was definitely a "bandwagon" book. The characters weren't very interesting, and I couldn't relate to any of them. Also, the writer has the frustrating habit of telling instead of just showing. You shouldn't have to constantly be told what kind of person Tess is, it should come across clearly enough in her actions. I know everyone is flawed, but this main character didn't seem to have ANY redeeming qualities whatsoever. It was a very disappointing read. Poor characters, poor sentence structure, poor book.

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades

    First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admitted she had NO experience whatsoever in the BDSM lifestyle and did all her research on the internet. Not to mention it was originally written as a Twilight Fan Fic. (This is true.. google it) She took characters and BARELY changed their personalities, names, and situation to write that so called 'book series'. Any author to use the phrase 'inner Goddess' over 80 times in just ONE book needs some serious editing and a reality check of women. Sorry, but it needed to be said. All 50 Shades did was open up a genre to women who never would have discovered the world of BDSM otherwise do to the hype of the series. Fact.. the BDSM genre has existed LONG before 50 Shades and will exist long after. Try reading The Story of O. Published in the 1950's and one of the most poignant works on the subject ever to be published. Don't reference a book series in a genre you obviously have no experience in yourself. I am active member in the BDSM community and have been reading this genre LONG before 50 Shades ever hit the shelves.

    This book delves into a darker world of BDSM. It goes beyond desire and into need. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead 5 is simply this... the way Q behaves when Tess first arrives goes against the entire story of who he is later. The way he spoke to her and treated her doesn't reflect what the author intended him to be later. I even went back and reread the scenes of her arrival and still couldn't put it together as the behavior of someone who is 'saving' her. That said.. discovering Tess's darker desires and how well her needs served Q's made this book believable and the characters ignite. It's hard to find a match when you have desires such as these and the chemistry between Tess and Q was well put together, even though his behavior in the beginning mismatched what he really was. This book is well written, doesn't drag, and flows very well to make it a quick read while being compelling from the first chapter to the last. Can't wait for the next one!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Tears of Tess is amazing! It really is outstanding. I have never

    Tears of Tess is amazing! It really is outstanding. I have never read something like this before.

    When I started reading the book I already heard a lot about it and most of them loved it. There was such hype about it that I truly tried to read the book with a neutral mindset. And I did. And it still blew me away!

    I knew the story is about kidnapping and being sold as a sex slave. However, it was so different from what I expected. Pepper Winters told a totally different tale. It is all about what is behind.

    Tears of Tess is supposed to be dark romance. And I know some complained that it is not dark enough. I think it is definitely dark. Just not in a way someone might expect. That’s also what makes this book so great!

    Tears of Tess is all about finding who you are and not only accepting it but embracing yourself.

    I honestly can’t say much about the book. I actually expected to write a very long review about it, but there is no need. Tears of Tess fascinated me in its entirety. The whole concept of the book is amazing. That Pepper Winters is a talented author and that her style of writing is great is not unwelcome either ;)

    The way Pepper Winters expresses the emotions of the characters is great. A lot of the emotions are so extreme I guess the majority of us readers has never experienced them and also will never experience them in their life. However, she is able to make them so believable. I really suffered with Tess throughout the book but I also suffered with Q, which is kind of twisted. As a reader I experienced a roller coaster ride of emotions – love, hate, angst, rage, fear, and understanding. It all changed so fast the book constantly kept me on edge.

    Pepper Winters opened the door to a whole new area of romance novels with Tears of Tess. Fifty Shades of Grey brought BDSM to the masses. Well, Tears of Tess goes further.

    ARC provided for an honest review

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those stories that will grab you at the first and

    This is one of those stories that will grab you at the first and keep you there until then end. It will have you laughing and crying. There are parts of this story that are very dark and some parts that really got to me and was hard to read but I kept going and it ended perfectly. 
    Tess is unloved by her older parents, they think her brother is perfect and she was a mistake. She found love with Brax, or so she thought. With work and college, they didn't have a lot of alone time. So Brax surprises Tess with a secret vacation. They end up in Cancun Mexico, where you never drink the water (unless out of a bottle you open) and never be left alone for any amount of time. Tess tries to get Brax to get into a little more during sex but he is not interested in anything other than normal. While riding around on a scooter, they stop at a street side cafe, which looks like a tornado ran through it. There are no other customers and the place is nasty. After ordering their sodas and drinking then, Brax heads to the restroom and doesn't come back and Tess's worst nightmare comes true. She is stolen and put through hell. After a week with the traffickers, she is sold to Mr Mercer.
    All she has to do is keep fighting and survive and maybe she will be released. Q (Mr Mercer) turns out to not be what she thinks he is. 
    Tess will go through a lot to try and get back home but is that really what she wants? Loved Q's (Mr Mercer) point of view at the end. This is the first for me by Pepper Winters and I loved it. Looking forward to more from her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be publis

    I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be published that pushes limits and breaks boundaries (Fifty Shades of Gray), and then hundreds of other books immediately follow that try to do the same thing but ultimately fall short. I think this was definitely a "bandwagon" book. The characters weren't very interesting, and I couldn't relate to any of them. Also, the writer has the frustrating habit of telling instead of just showing. You shouldn't have to constantly be told what kind of person Tess is, it should come across clearly enough in her actions. I know everyone is flawed, but this main character didn't seem to have ANY redeeming qualities whatsoever. It was a very disappointing read. Poor characters, poor sentence structure, poor book.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    **ARC received in exchange for an honest review** I¿ll be compl

    **ARC received in exchange for an honest review**

    I’ll be completely honest and say I didn't expect much from this book when I first received it. HOW. WRONG. WAS. I?! OMG this book rocked me to my core and has made it as one of my top 5 books. I read between 7-10 books a week which means I have a LONG list of books for it to top and top them it did! I refused to put it down until I’d finished, even cooking with my nose attached to my Kindle! Well, they asked for food they never said they wanted it not burnt……………

    A lot of authors have tried to pull off dark contemporary romance and have not quite managed it. Pepper Winters has blown it all out of the water with the story of Q & Tess. I instantly fell in love with both characters. Not sure if I was supposed to but I did. What I love the most about this book is that even though the book is told in Tess’s POV only, you can feel the connection between all of the characters through Tess’s mind. The depth, the passion, the fear it is all there for you to feel as you read. I don’t think I’ve been so completely consumed by a dark contemporary romance like this in a long while. I favour this type of romance, I like the angst, and I like the psychological thrill that comes with reading this type of book but only when it written right, only when the author writes a book as emotionally charged as this one. I think I could spend a good while singing the praises of this book and still be able to rabbit on about it.

    The scenes were well written and flowed from one to another naturally. There are difficult situations written about in this book and I feel that they were done as tastefully as they could have been.

    Tess’s strength of character and refusal to give up in the face of being kidnapped is breath taking. Q’s tortured soul and refusal to become what he craves is heart rendering.

    This book is just…………….. more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tears of Tess is a hauntingly and seductively dark novel. It is

    Tears of Tess is a hauntingly and seductively dark novel. It is utterly unapologetic in its portrayal of human trafficking and sadomasochism. Yet, as deep and uncomfortable as the book went I couldn't help but be entranced. Pepper Winters took matters that are commonly shied away from and unearthed them in all their horrid glory. This book has zero fluff, and 100% real problems wrapped in an erotic and captivating tale of two people fighting their basic needs and clumsily feeling their way through a new and terrifying relationship. 

    "I finally found a place where my twistedness belonged."
    ~Tess

    When Tess Snow is kidnapped and sold through a human trafficking ring in Mexico, her world is shattered. What she wasn't expecting was for her new master to awaken the dark erotic urges she has always yearned for. Q Mercer is unforgiving, and quite frankly, a bastard. Or that's at least how Tess sees him. She is led to believe that she is just one of many and even though her body is saying yes, her head is still screaming no. She can't make the two see eye to eye where Q is concerned. All she can believe is what she sees, but her heart knows better. She has found a lost soul, much like hers. Q demands Tess' complete obedience, and power over her body, mind and soul. And just as Tess is fighting to make sense of her needs, so is Q. Before she can accept her new future, an opportunity to escape arises and her flight instinct kicks in causing her to jeopardize everyone and everything she will come to love and need. 

    "Q took everything from me, but he didn't so much as steal it, as I gave it willingly. By allowing him to rule, he gave me something tangible. He allowed me to be me. To be real."
    ~Tess

    I may be looking back at this book with rose-colored glasses, so let me set one thing straight. This is not your common BDSM romance novel. Tears of Tess delves into very distressing and grievous content. There is rape, debasement, reluctance, and physical abuse. Yet there is also, not so much redemption but, revelation of secrets and truths, and a connection that is hard to deny that will have you falling in love with these characters. But yes, it is unconformable to read in several parts. So, why did I read it? Because it is brilliantly written and in short a beautiful, yet terrifying book. It was outside my norm of books that I read but, I couldn't be happier that I made that step. Truthfully, this is not for the faint of heart but, also you have to have an extremely open mind while reading this book. It's not a world that most of us are used to, or the type of relationship most of us have been exposed to. You have to understand that while you may not agree with the characters' actions, it is their life and they never asked for nor needed your approval. We are all made differently, with different wants and needs. Tess and Q are two individuals who find their better halves in one another. They can understand and need not explain nor apologize for who they are. That is the true beauty of this book. 

    "Did I create her, or was she always this twisted?"
    ~Q

    Even putting aside the subject matter and you still have an author who is a master of words and storytelling. Yes, there were times I had to set aside the book and take a breather. It's just too intense in parts not to. And even though my heart was breaking for Tess throughout most of the book, she fought. I think that's why I was able to keep reading. If Tess had broken, I don't think I could have kept on. But her perseverance and Q's struggle and explanation of the monster inside him lured me into a sense of comfort that these two had found their perfect matches. I simply, cannot wait to delve into Quintessentially Q and will definitely be making room for Ms. Winters on my auto-buy list. If you're a reader with an open mind, and a love for the underdog couple this series will blow you away. And if you're not, that's okay too but, I would suggest you give it a try, you might surprise yourself :)

    Happy Reading!
    *Review copy provided by the author/publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Problems with my Nook copy... at least two different parts of th

    Problems with my Nook copy... at least two different parts of the book where the text is all blocked out & unreadable. I'm enjoying the book but I would like to read the WHOLE book. It's so frustrating. Any idea who to call to get a clean copy?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a really great read for me! It is a little dark and disturbing but I enjoy dark and disturbing :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    How do I describe something that is so phenomenal, earth shatter

    How do I describe something that is so phenomenal, earth shattering  incredible...uh...Something that just sucks you in and devours you to pieces? This will definitely be my hardest review to put into words. I will try my very best to describe how much I love Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters. I have read it twice and I'm still having trouble on coming up with an awesome review without giving anything away.:)




    Mrs. Pepper Winters New adult dark romance novel is something to be talked about and definitely a must read. This was easily my top pick reads of 2013. Pepper Winters unique writing style is outstanding. I was immediately swallowed in from the very first pages. She made me live every experiences and emotion in Tears of Tess may it of been angst, desire, passion, thrilling or love, I felt it all. My heart raced at every angst moment. I held my breath with all the desire and passion that took place . My emotions were on overload and I loved every psychological moment. There was never a dull moment but you will without question come across non stop action. Tess and Q will captured your heart. Especially Q and his dark demons. 




    "A human is adaptable. A human heart is not."
    Tess Snow is our heroine and she’s abducted while on a romantic getaway in Mexico with her boyfriend, Brax Cliffingstone. The battle that she goes thru is insane. From Kidnapping to brutal beatings to non consensual sex. It is something someone should never have to encounter in their life.To anyone else your will to survive would mostly likely break but not Tess. It only makes her stronger and leads her to discover who she truly is and what she really wants. 
    " I am nobody's possession."
    Q Merce is heart wrenching beautiful, Wealthy, Raw, Powerful and so much more. One minute you are all over him and the next you want to wrap your hands around his sexy throat and squeeze until he is begging YOU for mercy. Q has his own dark demons he has to deal with, but so would you if you had the kind of parents he had.  Especially his father that enslaved woman and did to them as he pleased.
    "Monster's find each other in the dark."




    Q and Tess together are raw emotional heart stopping hot! lol! When they come together you can feel their sexaul tention. I loved every detail and moment that they encounter together."I hadn't gone Stockholmy- I hated him, knew what he did was wrong, but my body..., my body didn't care."  The more Tess spends with Q, the more she wants to understand him. His demeanor and past only makes Tess want to understand him and get to know him even more.
    "I'm not afraid of hurting you. I'm afraid of how far I'm willing to go."
     But Q tries to stay away and tries to battle his rages that’s inside him. He knows that Tess is different and he can’t help but wants to break her will. But he keeps fighting his urge constantly. As they learn new things from each other day in and day out. But they still hide secrets from each other and from that only bad things can come of it. 
    "I believed fully I was made for him and he was made for me. Two halves of the same messedupness. Two souls from the same twisted desires, unable to fully be free until we found each other."
    But when their desires wins  it’s downright hotness. From spanking, whipping, and restrain to passionate vanilla sex. You will find yourself holding your breath as its emotional touching and deliciously raw.




    Pepper Winter is definitely an author to watch out for. Her ability to write is unique and beautiful. There is nothing about this story that I did not like It was truly a captivating story. I highly recommended this fiction novel to anyone who wants to read a top rated book of the year. Tears of Tess was brilliant and what made it even more awesome was the Prologue. That alone had me skip a beat it was deliciously well written as I’m anxiously awaiting for Quintessentially Q (Tears of Tess #2) I rate this book 58 (5) Stars 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I think this book was a nice page turner. It certainly kept me i

    I think this book was a nice page turner. It certainly kept me interested and involved. However, I feel the quality of writing could've used some improvement. The writing felt very choppy and adolescent, which is strange because this book deals with incredibly adult themes. I think this would've benefited greatly from another proofread.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    MORE BOOK REVIEWS: 500daysofbooks.co.vu I honestly couldn't ev

    MORE BOOK REVIEWS:
    500daysofbooks.co.vu

    I honestly couldn't even finish this book. I understand this a dark romance book, I've had my fair share of them. However, for some reason it just didn't interest me. I tried giving it a shot, but I stopped halfway through and haven't bothered to finish it since. Since, the book has a sequel I most likely won't be reading that either. *sigh*

    I found myself cringing at some parts and couldn't even believe the situations that were happening to Tess. And then you have her mystery owner 'Q'. I honestly don't get him. Is he the good guy or the bad guy he has everyone believing. I know what you're thinking, why not finish reading the book to found out? But honestly, I'm just not that interested. At least I can say I tried giving it a shot.

    Now don't hate me. I know some people who've fallen in love with this story. But, these are just my opinions. I am not by any means saying this book was awful, I just didn't like it. Since the book has an average rating of 4.5, I say go read it and check it out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    4.5 stars Wow. Definitely a first of its kind for me. It is def

    4.5 stars

    Wow. Definitely a first of its kind for me. It is definitely a dark story, fraught with kidnapping, sex trade, emotional torment, and abuse. It has parts that are disturbing to read, and parts that were a delight. This is definitely not a story for the faint of heart. It is raw and horrific and heartbreakingly beautiful that it can't be read in one sitting because of the emotional turmoil. Not only does it explore the darkest side of human depravity but also the tender (but brutal) side of human strength and emotion. 

    Q is a man that is already broken and knows it. He understands his sickness is within himself and can't be healed and yet he still manages to show a side that is so achingly human and needy that it's almost sad. 

    And Tess, with so much done to her in so little time, how could one ever expect her to have a will to go on? But she does, and also learns that her own dark needs are a part of her, of who she is and what she should do to become a sexually-gratified woman. 

    Do not read this book if you can't deal with the darkness and BDSM. In no way is it comparable to 50 shades. This book surpasses 50 shades by far in many ways: the writing, the characters, the emotional baggage, and the heartache. It is not erotica. It is deep and dark and sensual on an entirely different level. Thrilling, heartbreaking, emotional, and gritty. An absolute feast for the senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Dark

    Wow... good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    Oh man this book really captured me, such great writing!

    Oh man this book really captured me, such great writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    I have never read a book quite like this, but once I started I c

    I have never read a book quite like this, but once I started I couldn't put it down and it made me feel things and took me places no other ever has! It is beautiful and painful and devastatingly beautiful I think you need "intestinal fortitude" to get through some of it, but it's so worth the emotional upheaval you go through because it is so well written and so worth reading! If you're on the fence like I was, get it! You wont regret it and you'll be buying book two even before you're finished with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it. This book was recommended to me from a website, so I

    I loved it. This book was recommended to me from a website, so I thought why not give it a chance. I just ordered the next book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Pepper Winters is a phenomenal writer and Tears of Tess was amaz

    Pepper Winters is a phenomenal writer and Tears of Tess was amazing. This is the first BDSM book that I have actually enjoyed, I wasn't a fan of 50 Shades of Gray and I don't like when people compare the two. Tears of Tess was by far the better one hands down. Can't wait to read the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4 "Monsters Find Each Other In the Dark" Stars! I w

    4 "Monsters Find Each Other In the Dark" Stars!



    I went into this book expecting to be caught up in a dark and disturbing story, but I really didn't find it to be either. Nothing about it really shocked me. Am I tainted from Captive in the Dark?
    Tess finds herself in a loving relationship, but the sex just isn't enough for her. She tries to get her boyfriend, Brax, to satisfy her dark and twisted side but fails and decides instead to ignore her needs and suffer in silence to make him happy. Brax surprises her with a trip to Mexico and during that trip she is taken. Captured by sex traffickers. She vows to fight and not let them break her, even if it means getting the crap beat out of her. After a week in captivity she is taken to an undisclosed location to meet her new master. In steps Q, he's French, sexy and rich. It becomes a battle of wills between the two, and Tess struggles within herself because she feels her body is being traitorous. Q has awakened a desire in her that her boyfriend was never able to. She is finally free to be herself.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. To me the last 35% was the best part, especially the epilogue in Q's POV. However, I felt that there were certain situations and reactions that just weren't believable and that's what prevented me from giving this book a 5 star review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Couldn't put it down! Wow - wildly dark and raw, taking BSDM to

    Couldn't put it down! Wow - wildly dark and raw, taking BSDM to its next level, intense, emotional and so much more than erotica. A great underlying storyline, complex characters. Not a cliffhanger, but definitely has me anxious to get the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    I have no idea how to begin; I am sitting here staring at my com

    I have no idea how to begin; I am sitting here staring at my computer screen, trying to come up with the words for this review.  I love to read. I can handle pretty much any book with any concept: abuse, rape, M/M, ménage. You name it, I have read it. I particularly like dark reads every now and then. I have two favorites from authors CJ Roberts and Aleatha Romig that are extremely popular. I love books that have ultimate mind melts. (I want to say a different word--rhymes with duck, suck...words like that--but Amazon has a problem with foul language, so please as you’re reading this feel free to insert the correct word.) 
    I think it might have been hours before I actually took a breath while reading Tears of Tess. I loved the book and I hate that I love the book; it’s not really a story or character that you should love but I do. It is dark and twisted beyond words and I ate up every second of it. I could not put it down; I was entranced the entire time and as hard as some of the scenes are to read I could not look away and many times I really wanted to look away. This book may be the one that has broken me, some of it was too much for me to handle. It tore me to shreds inside. Now you are probably asking why it did this to me. I do not have a great answer for that except to say maybe it is that I just do not understand. I have never read a book with BDSM quality to it that goes to this extreme.  I would imagine that there are people that delve into this extreme and “to each his own”, I say. I do not want to confuse people, yes this book contains BDSM and some of it is consensual or verges on consensual. Other parts are not and what is done to women that have been sold is torture and rape.
    That right there shows what an amazing author Pepper Winters is--true, raw, natural talent. The author writes Tess as a fighter; she is a survivor and fought and coped in whatever way she needed to in order to survive. Q is her new Master. She was given to him as a gift and watching her fight him and be drawn to him at the same time should not even make sense. You wanted her to get away from him, but you wanted them together at the same time. I hated myself for feeling that way. Q is a mystery though and one I did not figure out until the end when Tess figures it all out.  The revelation blew my mind! I always figure it out and this time I was so entranced, the answers passed me by. Q is definitely not what he seems.
    The magnitude of this relationship once the cards are laid out on the table is brutally honest and brutally beautiful in a way that seems wrong but is right for them.  I am asking myself if I fell for Q in the book. By the end I did fall for him, but I also see him as he sees himself--a monster and in turn I would then have to say that Tess is a monster too. Maybe I am wrong for believing they are monsters since I truly can’t understand where they are coming from; I can’t grasp the things that they want and so desperately need from each other. Maybe it is not fair of me to say, all I know it is how the book made me feel. I am just trying to be honest with the readers as well as myself. The most honest I can be to my readers here is that this book frightened me. I am scared to read book 2 Quintessentially Q but I will and I it is going to happen soon. I also know that there is a third book and I will read that too. I have really opened myself raw to anyone that reads this review, probably opened myself up more than I ever have before. I feel very emotional letting these feelings out for all of you to read. 
    I stand in ovation to Pepper Winters for her creativity and for being able to make me feel so intensely about a book. I know it is for entertainment purposes but it is her skill as a storyteller that brought the story to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4