Customer Reviews for

Tears of Tess

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades

First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admit...
First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admitted she had NO experience whatsoever in the BDSM lifestyle and did all her research on the internet. Not to mention it was originally written as a Twilight Fan Fic. (This is true.. google it) She took characters and BARELY changed their personalities, names, and situation to write that so called 'book series'. Any author to use the phrase 'inner Goddess' over 80 times in just ONE book needs some serious editing and a reality check of women. Sorry, but it needed to be said. All 50 Shades did was open up a genre to women who never would have discovered the world of BDSM otherwise do to the hype of the series. Fact.. the BDSM genre has existed LONG before 50 Shades and will exist long after. Try reading The Story of O. Published in the 1950's and one of the most poignant works on the subject ever to be published. Don't reference a book series in a genre you obviously have no experience in yourself. I am active member in the BDSM community and have been reading this genre LONG before 50 Shades ever hit the shelves.

This book delves into a darker world of BDSM. It goes beyond desire and into need. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead 5 is simply this... the way Q behaves when Tess first arrives goes against the entire story of who he is later. The way he spoke to her and treated her doesn't reflect what the author intended him to be later. I even went back and reread the scenes of her arrival and still couldn't put it together as the behavior of someone who is 'saving' her. That said.. discovering Tess's darker desires and how well her needs served Q's made this book believable and the characters ignite. It's hard to find a match when you have desires such as these and the chemistry between Tess and Q was well put together, even though his behavior in the beginning mismatched what he really was. This book is well written, doesn't drag, and flows very well to make it a quick read while being compelling from the first chapter to the last. Can't wait for the next one!

posted by Avid-Reader-BR on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be publis

I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be published that pushes limits and breaks boundaries (Fifty Shades of Gray), and then hundreds of other books immediately follow that try to do the same thing but ultimately fall short. I think this was definitely ...
I always think it's interesting how a certain book can be published that pushes limits and breaks boundaries (Fifty Shades of Gray), and then hundreds of other books immediately follow that try to do the same thing but ultimately fall short. I think this was definitely a "bandwagon" book. The characters weren't very interesting, and I couldn't relate to any of them. Also, the writer has the frustrating habit of telling instead of just showing. You shouldn't have to constantly be told what kind of person Tess is, it should come across clearly enough in her actions. I know everyone is flawed, but this main character didn't seem to have ANY redeeming qualities whatsoever. It was a very disappointing read. Poor characters, poor sentence structure, poor book.

posted by Anonymous on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades

    First of all, to the person who compared this book to 50 Shades of Gray.... You have absolutely lost any and ALL credibility as a reviewer. 50 Shades was the most poorly written book on the BDSM genre I have ever encountered. It was written by someone who publicly admitted she had NO experience whatsoever in the BDSM lifestyle and did all her research on the internet. Not to mention it was originally written as a Twilight Fan Fic. (This is true.. google it) She took characters and BARELY changed their personalities, names, and situation to write that so called 'book series'. Any author to use the phrase 'inner Goddess' over 80 times in just ONE book needs some serious editing and a reality check of women. Sorry, but it needed to be said. All 50 Shades did was open up a genre to women who never would have discovered the world of BDSM otherwise do to the hype of the series. Fact.. the BDSM genre has existed LONG before 50 Shades and will exist long after. Try reading The Story of O. Published in the 1950's and one of the most poignant works on the subject ever to be published. Don't reference a book series in a genre you obviously have no experience in yourself. I am active member in the BDSM community and have been reading this genre LONG before 50 Shades ever hit the shelves.

    This book delves into a darker world of BDSM. It goes beyond desire and into need. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead 5 is simply this... the way Q behaves when Tess first arrives goes against the entire story of who he is later. The way he spoke to her and treated her doesn't reflect what the author intended him to be later. I even went back and reread the scenes of her arrival and still couldn't put it together as the behavior of someone who is 'saving' her. That said.. discovering Tess's darker desires and how well her needs served Q's made this book believable and the characters ignite. It's hard to find a match when you have desires such as these and the chemistry between Tess and Q was well put together, even though his behavior in the beginning mismatched what he really was. This book is well written, doesn't drag, and flows very well to make it a quick read while being compelling from the first chapter to the last. Can't wait for the next one!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those stories that will grab you at the first and

    This is one of those stories that will grab you at the first and keep you there until then end. It will have you laughing and crying. There are parts of this story that are very dark and some parts that really got to me and was hard to read but I kept going and it ended perfectly. 
    Tess is unloved by her older parents, they think her brother is perfect and she was a mistake. She found love with Brax, or so she thought. With work and college, they didn't have a lot of alone time. So Brax surprises Tess with a secret vacation. They end up in Cancun Mexico, where you never drink the water (unless out of a bottle you open) and never be left alone for any amount of time. Tess tries to get Brax to get into a little more during sex but he is not interested in anything other than normal. While riding around on a scooter, they stop at a street side cafe, which looks like a tornado ran through it. There are no other customers and the place is nasty. After ordering their sodas and drinking then, Brax heads to the restroom and doesn't come back and Tess's worst nightmare comes true. She is stolen and put through hell. After a week with the traffickers, she is sold to Mr Mercer.
    All she has to do is keep fighting and survive and maybe she will be released. Q (Mr Mercer) turns out to not be what she thinks he is. 
    Tess will go through a lot to try and get back home but is that really what she wants? Loved Q's (Mr Mercer) point of view at the end. This is the first for me by Pepper Winters and I loved it. Looking forward to more from her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    This was such a fantastic read. Tess is kidnapped to be sold int

    This was such a fantastic read. Tess is kidnapped to be sold into slavery while on vacation with her boyfriend in Mexico. The detail provided leading up to the kidnapping as well as the events that took place before she was sold were described in such detail, it was like I was there. I expected Q to be a completely different breed of evil amimal than he turned out to be. While this is a dark read (and there were plenty of dark scenes) the book was able to show the tremendous growth and self discovery Tess went through during the process. There was a scene that made me cringe and nearly cry, but that's a testament to the realism of Pepper's writing. We're all wired differently and am so grateful that Tess and Q found each other. The emotions don't initially make sense, but everything becomes crystal clear the more ou read. I look forward to reading the rest of the series and would recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    First of all, this is completely different from Fifty Shades of

    First of all, this is completely different from Fifty Shades of Grey. I know Fifty Shades of Grey was about Christian being a sadist and 
    somewhat  Q is like that but other than that it is completely different along with the plot. I really enjoyed this novel although I find that they're 
    seems to not have that much details on the character. Like for example I know that Q is supposedly very handsome but I just don't see that 
    image of him. I don't know maybe its just me, but other than that this book is amazing, well if you like the bondage stuff. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    4.5 stars Wow. Definitely a first of its kind for me. It is def

    4.5 stars

    Wow. Definitely a first of its kind for me. It is definitely a dark story, fraught with kidnapping, sex trade, emotional torment, and abuse. It has parts that are disturbing to read, and parts that were a delight. This is definitely not a story for the faint of heart. It is raw and horrific and heartbreakingly beautiful that it can't be read in one sitting because of the emotional turmoil. Not only does it explore the darkest side of human depravity but also the tender (but brutal) side of human strength and emotion. 

    Q is a man that is already broken and knows it. He understands his sickness is within himself and can't be healed and yet he still manages to show a side that is so achingly human and needy that it's almost sad. 

    And Tess, with so much done to her in so little time, how could one ever expect her to have a will to go on? But she does, and also learns that her own dark needs are a part of her, of who she is and what she should do to become a sexually-gratified woman. 

    Do not read this book if you can't deal with the darkness and BDSM. In no way is it comparable to 50 shades. This book surpasses 50 shades by far in many ways: the writing, the characters, the emotional baggage, and the heartache. It is not erotica. It is deep and dark and sensual on an entirely different level. Thrilling, heartbreaking, emotional, and gritty. An absolute feast for the senses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Dark

    Wow... good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Pepper Winters is a phenomenal writer and Tears of Tess was amaz

    Pepper Winters is a phenomenal writer and Tears of Tess was amazing. This is the first BDSM book that I have actually enjoyed, I wasn't a fan of 50 Shades of Gray and I don't like when people compare the two. Tears of Tess was by far the better one hands down. Can't wait to read the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4 "Monsters Find Each Other In the Dark" Stars! I w

    4 "Monsters Find Each Other In the Dark" Stars!



    I went into this book expecting to be caught up in a dark and disturbing story, but I really didn't find it to be either. Nothing about it really shocked me. Am I tainted from Captive in the Dark?
    Tess finds herself in a loving relationship, but the sex just isn't enough for her. She tries to get her boyfriend, Brax, to satisfy her dark and twisted side but fails and decides instead to ignore her needs and suffer in silence to make him happy. Brax surprises her with a trip to Mexico and during that trip she is taken. Captured by sex traffickers. She vows to fight and not let them break her, even if it means getting the crap beat out of her. After a week in captivity she is taken to an undisclosed location to meet her new master. In steps Q, he's French, sexy and rich. It becomes a battle of wills between the two, and Tess struggles within herself because she feels her body is being traitorous. Q has awakened a desire in her that her boyfriend was never able to. She is finally free to be herself.
    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. To me the last 35% was the best part, especially the epilogue in Q's POV. However, I felt that there were certain situations and reactions that just weren't believable and that's what prevented me from giving this book a 5 star review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Love

    It

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    !

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Deep dark and great

    Enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Welcome Back !!!!!

    Absolutely love this series! Thank you for another good book.. not one of the best of the series but it did give me my New Species fix .. the plot is alittle repetitve and lovemaking scenes were mild but I loved that it was more detailed on species life and the heroine's character wasn't the same kick ass smart mouthed character that's been used before. Cannot wait for the next book! Would love it to be about a female next time like Breeze! She deserves her own story.. or flame's story.. Darkness too! Would love to see what kind of female it would take to put his heart together.. perhaps a sweet dark female.. Cannot wait!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Very good.

    Even though this was a dark story the chemistry and story line kept me from wanting to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Unreadable sections

    My nook copy had several pages blacked out. Could still figure out what was going on, but still frustrating

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good story

    I would say a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    I disagree with several of the reviews. The book was not poorly written, the main characters are well devloped, both have redeeming qualities, and I cared for both. There is much ugliness in the book but Q has a soul and so does Tess (interesting choice for the heroine's name). They have an unconventional love life and sexual need but they are consensual adults who are dark. I think she will cure some of his need to inflict pain. Once Tess and Q meet the book moves quickly and it is non stop reading until the end.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good

    Some parts were confusing in the beginning but it tied up pretty well at the end.overall i liked it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    TEARS OF TESS 4.5 STARS ** Received an ARC from the author i

    TEARS OF TESS 4.5 STARS




    ** Received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review**




    Where to start! This is not a happy go lucky hearts and flowers story. This book was pain, physical and emotional, gripping and well told. The story was true to the characters throughout. You feel their pain, fear, angst and lust. For a debut novel, Pepper Winters knocked it out of the park.




    Tess Snow is a 20 yr old girl in a loving and safe relationship with Brax Cliffingstone, her boyfriend of 2 years. She is just about to finish up at University and as gift Brax has planned a vacation getaway for them. 




    But when paradise turns into hell, Tess must find her inner strength and hold tight. The realization that you are alone in your plight and that you may need to submit to survive can be paralyzing. Although only a temporary destination, a horrify experience none the less. Stripped bare, man-handled and branded all before the three little words that changed everything… I WAS SOLD!




    “ I am nobody’s possession.” ~ Tess




    He shook his head smiling, “Ah, but you’re wrong. You 
    already are. Sold. Contracted. The deed is done.”




    Tess has spirit. A desire to survive and bides her time, looking at every opportunity that presents itself as a chance to run….to be free.




    Arriving at her new destination, the beginning of her new existence and her new name “Esclave”. Meet “Q”, her Master. Going against all of the things screaming in her head she is drawn to his commanding presence. She refuses him the one thing he wants most….her name.




    Now, although we have been introduced to “Q” there is mystery surrounding his persona. We do not get to see into the mind of “Q”. We see only what he allows us to see, to experience the journey as he tests Tess’ very being while unraveling her soul.




    Now “Q” and Tess together….holy hotness!!! Some of their encounters were beyond steamy and downright raw primal sex! You can tell that he is a conflicted man with his own demons. He is trying to keep them locked up but he fears that he is losing control when it comes to Tess.




    “Monster’s find each other in the dark.” ~ “Q” 




    I was conflicted with my feelings and opinions of “Q”. They ranged from bastard to protector, from degrading to consoling and from tormenter to tormented. I also struggled at times with Tess’ reactions to situations. I am not sure that others would have been so strong in their resolve. It sometimes felt like she truly hadn’t accepted the brutality of her reality. 




    That being said, upon finishing the story I have come to see the light in their darkness. Their version of happiness is one of pain and endless pleasure. The epilogue for the book is told in “Q’s” POV and provides insight to his upbringing and his demons. I know that after reading this book I will be looking forward to more from the mind of Pepper Winters. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2