Customer Reviews for

Tears of a Tiger

Average Rating 4.5
( 582 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(446)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

One Great Book

This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or...
This book has great detail and tells the story of a teenage boy who made one mistake, but it changed his life forever. Andy and his friends were drinking. Andy crashed his car and killed his best friend. He treats everyone different and no longer has a sense of humor or ever smiles. He keeps blaming himself for the death of his best friend even though it's not his fault. He can't live with the pain and the guilt, so he commits suicide.This book is sad and devastating but it is one of the greatest books I have ever read. The plot is very good and it covers everything that you would expect a teenage boy to do in this situation. This book is altogether great. It shows that people shouldn't take the easy way out of tough situations.

posted by 1039410 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

For the Love of Cthulhu, Who Reads These Books?

Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in...
Recently I was required to read this book (and I use the term "book" in the vaguest way possible) for a high school Senior writing class. The only logical explanation I can find from this is "what NOT to do in writing" It seems that by law, the only books we can read in school are boring, or horrible ones.
Tears of a Tiger is narrated through dialogue, letters, newspaper clippings, and essays. It revolves around a High school student named Andy whos best friend was killed in a car crash that was Andy's fault. Throughout the story Andy tries and constantly fails to deal with survivors guilt, wishing it was he who died instead of his friend.
The Story itself seems sloppy and sometimes incoherent. About 95% of the story is Dialogue, which is often confusing and unrealistic. It seems less like a style of writing, and more like a sad excuse for being unable to actually write anything else. Characters will rant on with nonsense or unrealistic descriptions, such as giving what is basically a two page oral report in response to a simple question. What's more, the dialogue is confusing, and it is at sometimes impossible to tell who is talking.
It's not all bad though. You really get to know the characters through what they say and write, though it's hard when you don't know who is saying what. the storyline, while personally uninteresting in this form would make an excellent novel if there were more than just dialogue.
anybody can think of dialogue, make up some fake news articles, and compile it, and if they did, writing wouldn't be an art, but a fad. While many people claimed that they "Could not put the book down", It took every ounce of my willpower to open the cover after the first time.
Overall, I could only recommend this to people who are so down with their own lives, that they need to see someone else's problems to feel good about themselves. Do not reread this. I wouldn't even recommend it to start with. Especially not for fun. Maybe to find yourself, but that could be seriously questioned. If you want to read about someone worse of than you, read Edgar Alan Poe, or The Dark Tower series. If you give this to your friends, they will never speak to you again, though there may be hired assassins after you.

posted by 153500 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    An interesting book, but not a must read

    The novel TEAR OF A TIGER was a page- turning and a well-written story of a teenage boy who suffers with depression after accidentally murdering his best friend and fellow teammate, Rob Washington, in a drunk driving accident.
    This book was a tad hard to understand because much slang is used and the book is quite stereotypical but is true to the real life tragedy of being responsible for another human accidental death and the classic teenage dilemma. I recommend this book for those with a certain taste in literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    I like this book a lot I've read it twice and I love the whole i

    I like this book a lot I've read it twice and I love the whole idea the way the author sets it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    it was okay. it had good teaching lessons.

    it was okay. it had good teaching lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great book!

    In one minute, your life can change forever. Andy Jackson was the driver of a fatal accident killing his longtime friend Robert Washington. The cause of this crash? Drinking and driving. Andy can’t stop blaming himself. He starts turning away from his friends, family, and even his girlfriend. This is a very good story taking you on a journey through the stages of grief. The lives of Andy and his friend are shown through a series of letters and homework. This is a great book and I think and I think it teaches you a good lesson, in one minute, your life can change forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly Recommend- but bring tissues.

    Tears of a Tiger is about how Andy Jackson copes with the death of his friend, Robbie Washington, with whom is dead ultimately because Andy chose to drink and drive. Andy can’t stop blaming himself, and eventually isolates himself from his family and friends. His life falls in ruins as he tries to hold on to the most precious thing of all- his ability to look to the future. This is an amazing story visiting the five stages of grief with Andy and the students of Hazelwood High as they try to move forward. Although it’s a great book, I suggest a box of tissues along with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    a good read short but sad.

    i thought it was a good book but it is a sad one. have a good weekend. going to start another book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tears of A tiger

    what would you do if you were blame for your friends death? This is a very dramatic book about death.The main characters are Andy, Gerald, Rob, Kesisha, BJ, Tyrone, Rhonda, Monty, and Dr.Carrothers.In this book the main setting is Hazelwood High School. The book is about a group of friends who are, by their own actions. They drink and drive and their friend gets killed. One of the friends, the driver, is killed by this action. Andy and his friends were unable to rescue their friend, Rob from the accident. "We were all screaming because we could see Rob's feet sticking through the windsheild." "We couldn't get him out!" The last thing I heard Rob say was,"Andy! Andy! Help me-Help me- Oh God, please don't let me die like this! Andy!" The book tells his struggle with the loss of his best friend and deal with his friends and family after such a tragedy.Throughout the book he is very depressed and has a hard time putting the accident behind him. The book was very interesting.The part i dint like was when Andy kills himself. The author manages to bring emotion into the story.would only happen to kids of middle and high school age. All in all,is pretty good, but is a little sad.I would give this book a 9.This is the kind of book i could read over and over and over and never get tired of reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but a letdown after Forged By Fire.

    Tears of a Tiger is about a tragedy that hits Hazelwood High School. There was a car accident that killed one of Hazelwood's star basketball players, Robert Washington. The whole school was devastated, but the most devastated was Andy Jackson, the driver of the car and Robert's best friend. The whole story is about Andy's, as well as the whole school's struggles. The book is composed of conversations between students as well as families, teachers, and counselors. It is also composed of diary entries, letters to friends, homework assignments about love and friendship, and even prayers. Andy is trying to get over the accident but it's all he can think about and dream about. Andy's girlfriend Keisha is trying to help him, but it seems like its no use. Andy also is seeing a psychiatrist, but after a while he is "stable" so he doesn't have to come back unless he needs to talk. Andy didn't realize he really needed to talk until it was too late. I liked this book, for the most part. I thought since this was a continuation from "Forged by Fire" that I would really enjoy this book. But I think this fell a little flat. I still recommend that you read this book, but it may be harder to get interested in that "Forged by Fire".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    reading 'tears of a tiger' was one of the most autentic books that i have read

    the book is about a teenager whos life change in a cold night,because of driving during the influence of alcohol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Why does everything have to be so sad

    this book was written well. but i did not like how the whole book was so sad. this book carries a good morral. but if you arent carful of the message you might give some people the wrong ideas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    TEarS of tiger

    I thought the book was alright but it was a little to sad for me and it made me kinda depressed . because the kids in the book were around the same age as me.I thought it was a bad decesion for andy to kill himself at the end of the book because it just made things worse for his friend and family. I think that this book could nhave been writtin better and had a different ending that would help kids in andy shoes by deviseng way to not want to commit suicied when your really deppresed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Sad, but...

    Tears of a Tiger /is/ a sad book with a suprising ending. Yet, the begining was rather boring and I had to force myself to continue reading it (it was for school) and it was hard at first for me to see who was talking (-It was written like this.) I recomend this book for people who are pretty patient with reading about people's long and slow talks with others and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Big Time Drama

    A great book dealing with deaths in a community and how the strive to get through the hard time. The basketball team and the school has to deal with the accident, read how they get through this tuff time.. Read this action packed book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Was it realy that good of a book?

    Definitley not one of my favorite books. The book is too slow. Just isn't interesting, except for the moral which everyone should think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Luckyest girl

    this book was agreat one it gives you thrill,hope,and lahphter. it's abot a girl who is in maze of confusemant on which boy she wants the baseball player or the interesting journalisim guy? which one wiil it be who knows so read the book and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2